Friday, December 30, 2011

Possessions by Ray Fawkes Graphic Novels Series Review

Possessions Book One: Unclean Getaway

Meet Gurgazon the Unclean, the cuddliest little pit demon ever trapped in the Llewellyn-Vane House for Captured Spirits and Ghostly Curiosities! This pit demon may look just like a cute little 5-year-old girl, but it isn't interested in playing checkers with other ghosts. The Gurgazon is determined to escape! Will the house contain it? Or will the world of peace and friendly bunnies come to an end as the Gurgazon exacts its revenge?

Format: Original Graphic Novel, 6x9" - Trade Paperback
Content Rating: Y (Youth)
Street Date: Apr 21, 2010

ISBN: 978-1-934964-36-1

Possessions Volume 2: The Ghost Table

Ms. Llewellyn-Vane is throwing a party and all the spectres are invited! Her House for Captured Spirits and Ghostly Curiosities is host to a rival collector's gang of ghoulish guests, and Gurgazon's the main attraction. But is the pit demon seriously expected to refrain from eating the visitors? DINNER!

Format: Original Graphic Novel, Digest
Content Rating: Y (Youth)
Street Date: Mar 16, 2011

ISBN: 1934964611


Enough is enough. Gurgazon the Pit Demon has been welcomed, nurtured, fed, and complimented. Gurgazon can tolerate no more! The time has come, once and for all, for escape! The Lewellyn-Vane house has been mapped. The plans are laid out. The ghosts are ready. The only thing that still stands in their way is... The butler. But is Gurgazon prepared for him this time? Can he really be defeated? POSSESSIONS BOOK 3: THE BETTER HOUSE TRAP is the third in the YALSA award-winning slapstick series by Ray Fawkes, coming from Oni Press in March 2012!

Format: Original Graphic Novel, Digest
Content Rating: Y (Youth)
Available: Feb 29, 2012
ISBN: 978-1-934964-76-7


 About a month ago I was contacted to do reviews for a bunch of graphic novels from Oni Press. my husband and i love graphic novels so i jumped on the chance. This is just 3 of the graphic novels I have received and read . The other graphic novels will be read and reviewed next week.

Even though these graphic novels are rated Youth I actually found them pretty good. It has funny parts and I guess it could be a little scary for some younger readers but I have always been into stuff that are a little scary (even when I was younger).  I enjoyed this one and every book so far told a bit of how the other spirits ended up imprisoned at Ms. Llewellyn-Vane's house.

Ray Fawkes has done a very good job writing this one and I just might look for more books from this series in the future.

If you have a tween/teen who loves graphic novels they might enjoy this one.

I give this series 4 out of 5.

*I have received  free copies of these graphic novels for my honest review.*  

Saturday, December 24, 2011

Country Dance 2 Wii game review

Twice as much BOOT scootin’ fun! All NEW music, All NEW moves and this time, you get to SING ALONG!! Country Dance has set the bar for all dance games with over 18 CMA award winning artists – and now that list has grown to 30+ songs featuring today’s hottest artists and their NEW HIT SONGS! Country Dance 2 features over 30 of today’s hottest country tracks from chart-topping artists like George Strait, Blake Shelton, Carrie Underwood, Miranda Lambert, Easton Corbin, Billy Currington, Eric Church, Little Big Town, Montgomery Gentry, and many, many more.

•Dance and sing along to your favorite songs from country’s biggest artists with 4 super-cool game modes!
•Supports up to four players at once through all new duet dancing option, featuring unique choreography for each player during the same song.
•30 of today’s hottest country tracks from chart-topping artists

  • Ashton Shepherd – “Look It Up”
  • Billy Currington – “People Are Crazy”
  • Blake Shelton – “Honey Bee”
  • Brad Paisley – “Old Alabama”
  • Carrie Underwood – “All American Girl”
  • Chad Brownlee – “Carried Away”
  • Chris Heers – “Dirt Rich”
  • Dierks Bentley – “Sideways”
  • Easton Corbin – “Roll With It”
  • Eric Church – “Hell On The Heart”
  • Frankie Ballard – “A Buncha Girls”
  • George Strait – “Here For A Good Time”
  • Gwyneth Paltrow – “Shake That Thing”
  • Hayley McLean – “Good Time Bone”
  • Hunter Hayes – “Storm Warning”
  • Jake Owen – “Barefoot Blue Jean Night”
  • Jason Aldean – “My Kinda Party”
  • Joanna Smith – “Gettin’ Married”
  • Josh Kelley – “Georgia Clay”
  • Josh Thompson – “Won’t Be Lonely Long”
  • Katie Armiger – “Best Song Ever”
  • Keith Urban – “Better Life”
  • Kellie Pickler – “Tough”
  • Lady Antebellum – “Lookin For a Good Time”
  • Little Big Town – “Little White Church”
  • Luke Bryan – “Country Girl”
  • Miranda Lambert – “Gunpowder & Lead”
  • Montgomery Gentry – “What Do Ya Think About That”
  • Rodney Atkins – “Take A Back Road”
  • The JaneDear Girls – “Wildflower”
  • The Last Ride- “Take You Down”

Country Dance 2 for Wii is out in stores now .

Country Dance 2 is available  exclusively for Wii™ for the suggested retail price of $39.99, and is rated “E10+” by the ESRB. Like us on Facebook at Follow us on Twitter @Country_Dance.  For more information about Country Dance 2 or the Country Dance franchise, please visit:


I am not a big country music fan but once in a while I listen to country music and I do have a few singers and bands that I really enjoy listening to. I am not really into dancing but I  love the Just Dance games so I decided to try out this game and review it on Geeky Girl Reviews.

 This game is fun and like any other dancing games out there there are easy dancing and harder dances so as you get a little bit of a challenge when you play this.   Personally I am horrible at dancing but I sometimes like it (in the comfort of my own home) because it relieves stress plus of course it is a fun way to burn calories.  Anyways even though I am not a huge country music fan there were a few songs on there that I know and this game is quite fun for the family. 

I think you might enjoy this game if you are a fan of country music and you love dancing games.

Wednesday, December 21, 2011

Enthralled by Kim Drollinger eBook review

Annette has had nightmares for as long as she can remember. However, it was not until a strange encounter that Annette realizes her dreams have a deeper meaning than she could have imagined. In her search for answers, Annette is drawn into a world of dangerous creatures that human kind forgot exists. Once drawn in, Annette can never return to the life she knew. 


I enjoyed this book. Very well written and definitely keeps you reading . Even if you are not really into supernatural books but might enjoy it.  This is an other author I will have on must read again list and will be looking forward to reading more books by Kim Drollinger.

If you would like to purchase this book you can  do so at

I give this 5 out of 5

*I have received a free copy of this ebook for my honest review.*   

Thursday, December 15, 2011

The Baby Trap by Sibel Hodge eBook review

Based on her own experiences with infertility and two attempts at IVF, Sibel Hodge’s latest novel The Baby Trap will have you laughing and crying at the ups and downs of modern baby-making…

When Gina turns thirty-three her body clock unexpectedly begins clanging in her ear with annoying persistence. The only problem is, having a baby isn’t as easy as she thought. Whether she’s feng shui-ing the house to death with fertility symbols, throwing out her husband’s tight boxers in favour of baggies, swapping wine and chocolate for green tea and yams, popping fertility drugs like M&M’s, or having sex so precision-timed it makes international warfare manoeuvres look unorganized, her life is turned upside down. And when nothing seems to be working, her quest for the B-word turns into an obsession.

Can Gina stay sane, get pregnant, and keep her marriage together? Or will her baby trail become a baby trap?

I have read a bunch of eBooks written by  Sibel Hodge and so far I have loved every one of the eBooks I have read and this one is an other one of them.   Very well written and funny. If you are looking for a funny and well written chick lit eBook that you can read in just a couple of hours then look no further.  

I highly recommend this book.

If you want to purchase this book you can find it at and smashwords.

I give this 5 out of 5 

*I have received a free copy of this ebook for my honest review.*  

DaGeDar Nintendo DS game review

Battle it out with your friends or race evil spirits alone; DaGeDar’s virtual raceway will keep you playing for hours. With more than 30 fast and furious raceways, you’ll be looping, dropping, climbing, and banking your way to the end with fury, but watch out for the blocks and gaps in the raceway! Featuring 100 collectable balls with unique abilities, as well as special, limited edition characters, you’ll have a blast collecting and trading your favorite DaGeDar items. Whether playing alone or sharing with a friend using the game’s multiplayer download options, the action-packed world of DaGeDar will keep you hungry for more racing, collecting and conquering of evil spirits in a unique 33rd dimension world.
Additional DaGeDar game features: 

Collectables: Unlock and collect up to 100 DaGeDar racing balls, for collectable and trading fun! Special limited edition, cool characters available too! 

Unique Race Abilities: Each ball carries abilities of Acceleration, Top Speed, Defense and Attack modes.   

Rewards: Earn DeGaDar points at the end of every race for special rewards and bonuses! 

DaGeDar is now out in stores 
This games is rated “E” for Everyone by the ESRB


I played it a bunch of times this past week and I have to say it is super fun but not easy as I thought it would be. I am horrible at this game  but I kept trying and like I said before it is a fun game.   Personally I would not have bought this for myself because prior to receiving this game I had never heard of DaGeDar but I really enjoyed playing this game and will be playing it again.

This is a great  game for everyone.   

I give this 4 out of 5 

*The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation*

Monday, December 12, 2011

Toshiba & ShesConnected Assignment- Toshiba Tablet

As you already know I am part of  44 Canadian women from ShesConnected taken part in the Toshiba Brand Ambassador program. 

My husband and I headed to Future Shop on Saturday and we headed straight to the tablets.  Future Shop was super busy and I wasn't surprised because it was a Saturday afternoon and 2 weeks before Christmas. There were quite a lot of people looking at tablets and so I didn't want to spend too much time at the Toshiba tablet they had on display to try out.    After a few minutes of playing around with this tablet I was very impressed with it.

 This Toshiba tablet is very impressive. Check out the  specs on it (taken from Future Shop site).

  • The nVIDIA Tegra 250 processor and 1GB of RAM offer fast performance for all your basic tasks
  • A spacious 10.1" high-res multi-touch widescreen display offers an HD view of your content, and lets you swipe, tap and touch to navigate it all
  • Store files right on the 8GB internal memory or pop in a memory card to add even more
  • A 5MP rear-facing camera with autofocus lets you snap shots and record videos, while the 3MP front-facing camera makes it a cinch to video chat
  • The built-in speaker lets you enjoy crisp audio or you can plug in with your favourite pair of headphones
  • Wi-Fi and Bluetooth make it easy to connect to a wireless network or hands-free peripherals
  • Easily find your way around town with GPS navigation capabilities
  • A full-size SD card slot, mini USB and full-size USB 2.0 ports allow you to share content with your other devices, while HDMI lets you view your media on the big screen
  • An easily replaceable battery lets you keep going longer
Powered by Android 3.1, Honeycomb, a platform specifically designed and optimized for tablets, this super light device also dishes out a lightning-fast Web experience with full Adobe Flash support and unchained access to the Android Market.
      The tablet ranged in price from $379.99 for the 8GB to 499.99 for the 32GB. I much more reasonable priced compared to some tablets out there. 

    We already have  tablets that are an other brand but looks like mine will die on me soon and I will be looking into getting a Toshiba tablet when it is time to purchase new tablets either for myself or as a gift.  

    Check out Toshiba Canada's Facebook page and Twitter page.

    *I am participating in the Toshiba Brand Ambassador program by ShesConnected. I received a Toshiba Camileo in exchange for my participation in this campaign. All opinions are honest and always our own*

    The Looney Tunes Show Season 1 Volume 2 Review

    This half-hour animated comedy series starring Bugs Bunny and Daffy Duck is no longer confined to 7-minute shorts. Bugs and Daffy are out of the woods and living in the suburbs among such colorful neighbors as Yosemite Sam, Granny, Tweety and Sylvester. In addition to each episode?s main story, The Looney Tunes Show also features ?cartoons within a cartoon.? The Tasmanian Devil, Speedy Gonzales, Marvin the Martian and other classic characters sing original songs in two-minute music videos called Merrie Melodies . The legendary Looney Tunes cartoons are getting a 21st century relaunch and a CGI overhaul for a new generation. 


    I love Looney Toons when I was a child and when I heard about this new one I was hoping that it would be just as good as the old ones. I admit I absolutely loved this one.  It is just as good as the old ones I used to watch and I think all of you will just love this one as much as we do.  I highly recommend this to Looney Tunes of all ages.

    *I received a free copy of The Looney Tunes Show Season 1 Volume 2 on DVD from from WB for my honest review* 

    Sunday, December 11, 2011

    The Kure by Jaye Frances ebook review

    Forbidden by law and denounced as an abomination by the church, the Kure has been hidden for centuries...

    John Tyler has never met Sarah Sheridan, but he knows he must find her, and somehow convince her that she is the key to unlocking the power of an ancient ritual that will rid his body of a rare and ravaging disease.

    But as cure quickly becomes curse, John realizes the ritual is more than a faded promise scrawled on a page of crumbling paper, and he discovers, too late, that the unholy text has unleashed a dark power that is driving him to consider the unthinkable.

    Ultimately, John must choose between his desperate need to arrest the plague that is destroying his body, and the virtue of the woman he loves, knowing the wrong decision could cost him his life.

    My Review 

    The Kure is a very well written and well researched book. When I received a copy of this on ebook to review I was not really sure I would like this book but took a chance and decided to review it. Boy am I glad I did. I very much enjoyed this book and I was hooked from the very first chapter. This book is not for everyone because it is disturbing and not for those with weak stomachs.

    I give this 4 out of 5

    *I was given a free copy of this eBook for my honest review*

    Wednesday, December 7, 2011

    Killers (A Prosper Snow novel.) by Shaun Jeffrey ebook review

    Murder makes monsters of people. Prosper Snow knows that better than most. Now he’s back on the trail of another serial killer, only this time there’s far more to the case than meets the eye. Thwarted at every turn, Prosper unwittingly uncovers a human experiment more monstrous than anything he could ever imagine. Now the only way to crack the case is to work from the inside and join a shadowy government agency that operates outside the law. Only he might be too late as the experiment has spiralled out of control.


    This is not the first time I have reviewed books by Shaun Jeffrey. I have reviewed Dead Man's Eye  and The Kult.
    Any ways this is the second book in A Prosper Snow series and just like The Kult I was hooked for the very beginning and I couldn't put it down . This book is very well written and has a lot of action.   .If you are into gory and  terrifying thrillers then this is the book for you.

    If you want to purchase this book or any other books by Shaun Jeffrey you can do so at
    I give this 5 out of 5

    *I was given a free copy of this eBook for my honest review*

    Monday, December 5, 2011

    The Wicked Wives by Gus Pelagatti book review

    "Wicked Wives" is based on the true story of the 1938 Philadelphia murder scandals in which seventeen wives were arrested for murdering their husbands. Mastermind conspirator Giorgio DiSipio, a stunning lothario and local tailor who preys upon disenchanted and unfaithful wives, convinces twelve of them to kill their spouses for insurance money. The murder conspiracy is very successful until one lone assistant D.A., Tom Rossi, uncovers the plot and brings the perpetrators to justice. "Wicked Wives" is a story made for Hollywood, combining murder, corruption, treachery, love, lust and phenomenal detail as it vividly captures Depression-era Philadelphia.

    Really good book. I ended up going to be later than usual just because I couldn't put it down but I don't mind because this book is very good and very well written.You can tell that I will be reading this one again and I will be lending this to my husband to read. If you like books like this then I highly recommend this one.

     If you want to purchase this book you can do so at and Barnes & Noble

    I give this 5 out of 5 

    Nano Assault Available Now on Nintendo 3DS

    Hello everyone! 
    If you are someone who like video games are having someone on your Holidays gift list you might want to look for this Nintendo 3DS game.


    Edison, New Jersey—December 5, 2011—Majesco Entertainment Company (NASDAQ: COOL), an innovative provider of video games for the mass market, announced today that Nano Assaultis now available on Nintendo 3DS™.   Nano Assault™ is a visually stunning 3D shoot ‘em up based in a cellular world that tasks players to stop the deadly Nanostray virus from spreading and contaminating all of human civilization.
    Nano Assault™ challenges players through 32 twisted cell stages and dark worlds with rugged landscapes that adjust in difficulty based upon the player’s skill level. Prepare yourself to take on and defeat extreme nemeses including the Black Nucleus, Hyper Blobs and Spore Plants using powerful beams, energetic bombs and other unlockable assault weapons.
    • Upgrade weapons to fight off bigger infections.
    • Mission mode, an unlockable arcade style cell stage where you must destroy enemies against a time counter.
    • Leaderboard and Hall of Fame modes let you publish your level scores and compare them with friends online.
    • Detailed enemy Nanopedia provides information about each adversary.
    Developed by Shin’en Multimedia, Nano Assault™ is rated E10+ and is now available on Nintendo 3DS for a suggested retail price of $29.99.  To watch the launch trailer and find out more, please visit

    * I received a email about this product and I just thought I would share. *

    Sunday, December 4, 2011

    An Unforgettable Christmas by Trisha Wilson

    Chelsea Roberts is facing her first Christmas alone. She has her best friends, but it still isn't the same. Will an unexpected family connection bring a smile to her face again?

    Nick Collins is facing the challenges of being an unexpected single father to a newborn. He has a big family, but is still lonely.

    Can Chelsea let someone get close enough to love her through her sadness? Will Nick be able to trust someone enough to get close to himself and Jasmine?

    Through a lot of tears and laughter, with the help of close friends and family, take the journey with Chelsea and Nick as they experience an unforgettable Christmas.


    An Unforgettable Christmas is a contemporary romance I very much enjoyed this book. Well written and is a easy read. I read this one in the afternoon and finished before going to bed. I was hooked from the beginning.  If you like contemporary romance then I think you will love this one.

    I give this 4 out of 5

    If you want to purchase this book you can find all the links to where you can do so in Trisha Wilson's website.

    *I was given a free copy of this eBook for my honest review*

    Friday, December 2, 2011

    Fey Girl by Kevin Newman ebook review

    Jude Pender has troubles managing his emotions. Case in point: Cecile. He thinks he can bury his thoughts and that the rest of his neurons will naturally grow around them, leaving an obelisk that he can visit as if in a dream. And since he doesn't know when to give up, the result will be an explosive release after a series of betrayals.

    This book was ok.. not one of my favorites but kept me reading.I started off slow . Personally this is not a book I would buy for myself but if I knew someone who might like this I might buy it.

    Check out Kevin Newman's site to see where you can purchase his books and you can read the first 5 chapters of Fey Girl.

    I give this 3 out of 5

    *I was given a free copy of this eBook for my honest review*

    I'm A Toshiba Holiday Heroes Brand Ambassador!

    I am proud and very excited to announce that I have been selected to be a Toshiba Canada Brand Ambassador for their Holiday Heroes Campaign. I have been chosen among 44 women to participate as a Toshiba Canada Ambassador through the Toshiba Holiday Heroes campaign with ShesConnected! 

    What do I have to do you ask?  I am being asked to stop by a store to check out a Toshiba Tablet or a 3D HDTV, and to blog about my experience with a Toshiba Camileo camcorder. It can be a vlog or just a regular blog with photos taken from my new camcorder. I am very excited and nervous about this because this is the first time I have been a Brand Ambassador.

    Now I have a question for you.  Should I blog about Toshiba Tablets or 3D HDTVs? Please comment to let me know what you would like to hear about

    * I have been selected to be a Toshiba Brand Ambassador thru the ShesConnected Brand Ambassador Program. As an ambassador I may be provided with special perks. The opinions on this blog are my own, honest and are not influenced in anyway. *

    Thursday, December 1, 2011

    Chill Run by Russell Brooks ebook review

    You know a publicity stunt has backfired when someone dies.
    Starving author Eddie Barrow, Jr., will do anything to get a book deal with a NYC publisher. Even if it means getting caught by the media while engaging in S&M with a female celebrity as a publicity stunt. What Eddie gets instead are details of a billion dollar fraud scheme from a suicidal client who's fatally shot minutes later. Now on the run from the law and the killers, Eddie seeks help from two unlikely friends—an alcoholic and a dominatrix.
    With few resources, Eddie races to clear his name, unveil the fraud scheme, and expose the killers before he becomes their next victim.


    I have reviewed Russell Brooks' other books (Unsavory Delicacies and Pandora’s Succession) and I am a huge fan. Just like his other books Chill Run is very well written and you can very well imagine the characters. I was hooked from the very beginning and could not put it down.I am actually thinking of buying this book in paperback and give this to my hubby to read. If you are into mystery and action book then I recommend this book to you. 

    If you want to purchase this awesome book you can do so at and Barnes & Noble.
    I give this 5 out of 5

    Russell is running a giveaway of Chill Run but you must hurry because it ends tonight at 9PM (eastern)

    1. Every person that leaves a comment with their email address (Important) is automatically entered in the draw. You could your email address on the current blog or on his blog ( If you're not comfortable leaving your email address out in the open, then email him with "PICK ME" in the subject and he will respect your confidentiality.
    2. To be sure that the contest is fair and impartial, Clinton (his cat) will select the 10 winners for a free eBook copy of CHILL RUN.
    Good Luck everyone! 
    *I was given a free copy of this eBook for my honest review*