Thursday, March 31, 2011

Beautiful Sins: Leigha Lowery by Jennifer Hampton ebook review

Synopsis

The skies of the Dark Coast, the Pacific Coastline of U.S. States has been infected with a strange chemical reaction from a military experiment gone awry. Constant cloud cover rules over the lands. Leigha Lowery, a sixteen year-old popular fiction writer in the local free press is pulled from the only home she knows in Detroit, MI when her mother decides on an impulse to marry a doctor she's been dating over the internet and moves to the small town of Banks, Oregon. As she adjusts to her new life of wealth and power, she begins to realize that the rumors about the Dark Coast aren't even close to what she's witnessed. Prince Alexander Sommers, the son of King Royce, and heir to the throne has taken a fascination to her. He pulls her into a world of vampires, werewolves, witches, and many other creatures of the night that have decided to make the Dark Coast their home.

My Review

I was drawn into this ebook just about right away.The story is very enticing and you can very much easily imagine all the characters. I really did enjoy this one and I just couldn't put it down.

If you want to read more about this book or purchase this or any other of Jennifer Hampton's book go to http://beautiful-sins.com/?page_id=228

I give this 4 out of 5

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Yogi Bear review

 


Everyone’s favorite pic-a-nic basket-stealing bear brings his meal-mooching ways to movies in this live-action/CG-animated adventure starring Dan Aykroyd as the voice of Jellystone Park’s famed troublemaker Yogi Bear and Justin Timberlake as the voice of Yogi’s faithful pal Boo Boo. Jellystone has been losing business, so conniving Mayor Brown has decided to shut it down and sell the land. Faced with the loss of his home, Yogi must prove he really is “smarter than the average bear” as he and Boo Boo join forces with Ranger Smith to find a way to save the park from closing forever. Anna Faris, Tom Cavanagh, TJ Miller and Andrew Daly co-star in this wonderful new incarnation of Hanna-Barbera’s classic cartoon.


Available onBlu-Ray Combo Pack,DVD, On Demand and for Download 3/22 http://bit.ly/YogiBearFB




My Review
I really wasn't expecting much of this movie. We put it in the BluRay player on the day I received it and watched it while having dinner. I have to say I was pretty impressed with this movie. Very funny for young and old. The special features are pretty good as well. We spent an extra hour checking out the features .

Monday, March 28, 2011

Scarecrow and Mrs. King: The Complete Second Season





Synopsis:  American spy Lee Stetson and his housewife sidekick Mrs. Amanda King are really going places in Season Two, fighting the Cold War in London, Munich, Salzburg and the Caribbean! Kate Jackson and Bruce Boxleitner again play the mismatched operatives, mixing laughs, intrigue and battle-of-the-sexes verbal jabs in this collection of 23 Episodes on 5 DVDs. Amanda is targeted by a white-slavery ring. Lee and his mentor, dithery Lady Emily Farnsworth, hunt for stolen plans for a top-secret plane. Amanda is the other woman in a headline-grabbing sex scandal. And Mrs. King becomes Mrs. Scarecrow on a romantic wedding cruise, complete with veil, vows and smooch at the altar – all in the line of duty, of course!

Own it on DVD  March 22nd

 

My Review 
I must admit I had never seen this show before but I have heard about it.
I wasn't expecting much about this one but I actually got hooked on this series. Yes it is cheesy like most 80's tv shows but I really did enjoy it. One day I actually sat and watched 2 discs. This tv show on DVD doesn't have any bonus features but I didn't expect there to be any anyways. 

If you were a fan back in the 80's I really think this is a must buy.

 

The Sandalwood Tree: A Novel by Elle Newmark (book review)



A sweeping novel that brings to life two love stories, ninety years apart, set against the rich backdrop of war-torn India.
In 1947, American historian and veteran of WWII, Martin Mitchell, wins a Fulbright Fellowship to document the end of British rule in India. His wife, Evie, convinces him to take her and their young son along, hoping a shared adventure will mend their marriage, which has been strained by war.
But other places, other wars. Martin and Evie find themselves stranded in a colonial bungalow in the Himalayas due to violence surrounding the partition of India between Hindus and Muslims. In that house, hidden behind a brick wall, Evie discovers a packet of old letters, which tell a strange and compelling story of love and war involving two young Englishwomen who lived in the same house in 1857.
Drawn to their story, Evie embarks on a mission to piece together her Victorian mystery. Her search leads her through the bazaars and temples of India as well as the dying society of the British Raj. Along the way, Martin’s dark secret is exposed, unleashing a new wedge between Evie and him. As India struggles toward Independence, Evie struggles to save her marriage, pursuing her Victorian ghosts for answers.
Bursting with lavish detail and vivid imagery of Calcutta and beyond, The Sandalwood Tree is a powerful story about betrayal, forgiveness, fate, and love.

My Review
I thought ths was a very good book. It did take me some time to really get into it but all in all it was good read. In my opinion I thought it was a little to long and maybe it should have been 2 shorter books.

I give this 3 1/2 out of 5

*I have received a free copy of this book for my honest review.*

Monave Lip Glaze Review and Giveaway --CLOSED



Product Description
Monave Lip Glaze is a silky, natural lip product that adds a bit of shine, some sheer color that is perfect for a relaxed look. It is completely free of irritants, and preservatives, abiding by the philosophy that makeup should have organic food-based ingredients. Luscious coconut oil and natural orange flavor give slip, and shine without being sticky. Pigments are 100% naturally derived minerals. 

A few interesting facts about Monave Lip Products:
  • 100% Vegan
  • 100% gluten-free
  • Formulas made from whole-food, edible ingredients 
  • 100% Handmade

My Review
I received the Monave Lip Glaze on Friday and I couldn't wait to try it.  I do not wear much makeup but I do wear lip gloss . I really like this one. I love the colour they gave me (it was the Honey Glaze). I like that it adds some shine without some outrageous colour. 

The Giveaway 
MUST do this FIRST:
1) Become one of my followers and leave a comment - or if you already follow - just leave a comment! +1 entry's

If you want more entry's do the following - make sure that you make a NEW comment for each entry!:

1) Post about this giveaway on your blog and leave a comment as to where it is on your blog. +1 entry's

2) Tweet about this giveaway: RT @GeekyGirlReview: Enter a chance to win  1 of 2 Monave Lip Glaze  http://www.geekygirlreviewsblog.com/2011/03/monave-lip-glaze-review-and-giveaway.html

3) "like" my facebook page Geeky Girl Reviews

Ends on April 3rd 2011




 
I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising. Tomoson Product review & giveaway Disclosure.

Sponsored by Tomoson.com

Sunday, March 27, 2011

sorry for the lack of reviews

Hi Everyone!
I am so sorry for the lack of blog posts this past week. I have not been feeling like writing on here much.  I had migraines  and stressed.
  I do have a lot of reviews to write and I have 2 giveaways I need to do which will be done this week. One giveaway will only be for a week so you will have to hurry up and sign up right away.

Anyways I just wanted to let you all know I am still here. Have a great week and make sure to check out the blog often this week.

Sunday, March 20, 2011

Renaissance Woman: Collected Art and Poetry of Erin Lale (ebook review)

        
This volume collects poetry of mythology, science fiction and fantasy, of nature, and of the author's experiences; and three kinds of photographic art: sunprints, slides, and digital images; plus photos of illuminated calligraphy and of quilts.

Many of the poems in this volume are reprinted from publications that are out of print. Lale's publishing career goes back to 1985, and her list of publishing credits and paid works includes poetry, fiction, nonfiction, technical writing, print ads, TV ads, catalog copy, academic papers, web content, jokes, songs, speeches, operations manuals, recipes, and essays. She published and edited a quarterly magazine and is currently the publisher and editor of Time Yarns. Her earliest published works were poems.

Lale is the world's most prominent contemporary sunprint artist. A sunprint is a contact photograph. For many years, Lale sold her sunprints from the now-closed online store Magicalrealist Gallery, where she also sold her craft line, hand dyed fabrics. Many of her fabrics are showcased in the quilts that appear interspersed with the other art and the poetry in this book.

This book is the second in a series of collected works of Erin Lale. The first was Polymath: Collected Nonfiction of Erin Lale. The upcoming third volume will be Universal Genius: Collected Fiction of Erin Lale. Lale is the author of Asatru For Beginners; The Las Vegas Locavore Cookbook; and How to Lose at Politics, Or, Not Bad for a Libertarian. She is the producer/ director / writer / cinematographer of the art film Rain Dance, and of the instructional videos (available as DVDs or VODs) Rune Seminar, How to Make a Sunprint, and How to Dye Silk.

My Review

I am not really into poetry but I do love art so for me this ebook was very different for me. I must admit I really enjoyed it.  I guess being sci-fi fantasy kind of help me liking it more than I would usually like poetry Very well writen and the art was nice. This would be great as a coffee table book if it were a hard cover or soft cover book.If you are into this kind of stuff then I think you will enjoy this book.

I give this 4 out of 5

Saturday, March 19, 2011

Hereafter movie review


Synopsis:  George (Matt Damon) is a blue-collar American with a special connection to the afterlife dating from his childhood. French journalist Marie (C├ęcile de France) has a near-death experience that shakes her reality. And when London schoolboy Marcus (Frankie and George McLaren) loses the person closest to him, he desperately needs answers. Each seeking the truth, their lives will intersect, forever changed by what they believe might ? or must ? exist in the hereafter. Academy Award winner* Clint Eastwood directs this haunting original tale from a screenplay by two-time Oscar nominee* Peter Morgan. Jay Mohr, Bryce Dallas Howard, Marthe Keller and Derek Jacobi also star. 

Available on Blu-ray Combo Pack, DVD, On Demand and for Download 3/15! http://bit.ly/HereafterFB

 

 




My Review

I have to admit, I really thought this movie was way to long and boring. It started off pretty good but then after 30 minutes or so it just got boring. I kept watching until the end though but if it weren't for the fact that I had to do a review for this movie I most likely would have never even have watched it. In fact because I got approved for this review I had never even heard of this movie.
Most of the movie had a low budget look of it . 
If you are into movies like this then maybe you will like it but otherwise I would not waste my time or money. 

I give this movie 2 out of 5

Wholly Guacamole Winner



WINNER IS BRIGITTE!  CONGRATS!  I WILL BE EMAILING YOU RIGHT AWAY

Tuesday, March 15, 2011

The Mirrors of Fate: Out of the Past, Book 1 by Cindi Lee (ebook review)

Adopted into a well-off Indian family when she was young, the present is high school senior Maria's only concern as she desperately plots to prevent an arranged marriage before she graduates. But when a new student enters her life on a mission of revenge, Maria is forced to revisit a past betrayal and learn of her entanglement in a dangerous cross-dimensional web of fate.

My Review 
 If you are into Young Adult Paranormal Romance then you might enjoy The Mirrors of Fate: Out of the Past by  Cindi Lee . This ebook kept me reading until the end and I just could not put this one down. It is very well writen and I had no problems imagining how the characters looked like and sounded like.


If you want to buy this ebook you can do so at Amazon Kindle US, Amazon Kindle UK or Smashwords.
You can also check out Cindi Lee's site at http://www.cindilee.com/

I give this a 4 out of 5.


*I have received a free copy of this book for my honest review.* 

Monday, March 14, 2011

Batman: The Brave and The Bold Season One Part Two (review)



Synopsis

   Batman wings into an exciting new era, teaming with a mighty honor roll of DC Comics Super Heroes in this action-packed series. Through the show’s final 13 Animated Adventures in this 2-Disc Collection, the Dark Knight allies with Aquaman, Plastic Man, Blue Beetle, Red Tornado, Green Arrow, Wildcat, Deadman, Bronze Tiger and Atom to take on an array of evildoers ranging from mad scientists to intergalactic crooks, from power-mad dictators to out-of-control teenagers. He even travels to a parallel world, becoming the villainous Owlman! In this cool, cutting-edge and often funny series bringing back old-school comic-book styling and dry wit to crimefighting, Batman faces any peril – including other heroes stealing the show – in his relentless pursuit of justice. 

 

Own It On DVD March 15th 2011
 
My Review
We are huge fans of Batman and we have been watching this series on Teletoon since the beginnig of this series. We really love this series and absolutely love Batman: The Brave and The Bold Season One Part Two DVD. We will be buying part one and all future seasons of this series. This is one of my favourite Batman series. My favourite episode in this series is the Mayhem of the Music Meister with Neil Patrick Harris playing Music Meister. 


A Model Railway Man by Alain Gomez (ebook review)

Working on his model railroad set is more than just a hobby for John Wilson, it's his desperate attempt to fix the ghosts of his childhood. But his obsession with his creation may have an unexpected side-effect...

Short Story, approx. 2,500 words


My Review 
An other nice little short story. If you are into Twilight Zone like books/short stories then you might like this one . 

4 out of 5 

*I have received a free copy of this book for my honest review.* 

 

Saturday, March 12, 2011

Space Hotel Series by Alain Gomez (ebooks review)

Celebrity Space 

 Set in the not too distant future, a worker hopes that his new job at the spaceport will allow him to get his life back on track. While taking passengers to the space hotel "Moonwalk", a collision with an unknown object brings his dreams... and possibly his life... to a screeching halt.

Short Story, approx. 3,000 words

Doctor Fleischer 

 The Space Hotel Series continues from the viewpoint of Dr. Agatha Fleischer. Aliens made Dr. Fleischer an offer she couldn't refuse: unlimited resources for her research... and no ethics laws to speak of. A dream come true for the overly ambitious doctor. But will her atrocious acts in the name of science go unpunished?

Short Story, approx. 2,600 words

 My review 

 These short stories are fantastic. Great to read on the bus or waiting for an appointment.Quick easy read but it makes you want to read more . I really enjoyed this series. If you are looking for a quick read these 2 books are awesome for that and quite entertaining as well.

I give both these ebooks 4 out of 5

If you want to purchase any or both of these ebooks you can do so at amazon.com.

For Celebraty Space http://www.amazon.com/Celebrity-Space-Hotel-ebook/dp/B004HD66P4/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

For Doctor Fleischer http://www.amazon.com/Doctor-Fleischer-Space-Hotel-ebook/dp/B004PGNNKY/ref=ntt_at_ep_dpt_4

*I have received a free copy of this book for my honest review.* 

 

Two-Fisted Tweets by James Hutchings (ebook review)





Thirty mostly humorous stories, including science fiction, fantasy, horror and romance. Each story is less than 140 characters long (the length of a Twitter tweet).

My Review 

Super short and humorous . Very quick read that really made me want to read more. I enjoyed it but I do wish there were more of those little stories.
I do love the cover of this ebook. 
If this had more stories I would be giving it a higher rating but unfortunately I have to give this a 3 out of 5.

*I have received a free copy of this book for my honest review.* 

Thursday, March 10, 2011

Somewhere My Lass by Beth Trissel (ebook review)

Neil MacKenzie's well ordered life turns to chaos when Mora Campbell shows up claiming he's her fiance from 1602 Scotland. Her avowal that she was chased to the future by clan chieftain, Red MacDonald, is utter nonsense, and Neil must convince her that she is just addled from a blow to her head--or so he believes until the MacDonald himself shows up wanting blood.
Mora knows the Neil of the future is truly her beloved Niall who disappeared from the past. Although her kinsmen believe he's dead, and she is now destined to marry Niall's brother, she's convinced that if she and Neil return to the past, all will be right. The only problem is how to get back to 1602 before it's too late.
The balance of the present and future are in peril if she marries another, and the Neil of the present will cease to exist. An ancient relic and a few good friends in the future help pave the way back to the past, but will Mora and Neil be too late to save a love that began centuries before?

My Review
I am not usually into paranormal/time-travel stories but this one is one of the very few boks in this genre that I really did enjoy it very much.  It was an other book I could not put down. Very well writen and even though you have not read the first book you do not get confused reading this like some other series. I highly recommend this one.

If you want to purchase this book or Somewhere My Love (book #1 in this series) or any other books by Beth Trissel please go to Beth's website for all the info on where you can buy and also you can read little excerpts of her books on her site as well.   http://bethtrissel.com/index.html


I give this a 4 out of 5.


*I have received a free copy of this book for my honest review.*

Wednesday, March 9, 2011

Wholly Guacamole review and giveaway--CLOSED



CONTEST CLOSED

Product Description
If you like the good things in life, you’ll love our Classic Wholly Guacamole. With just the right amount of spice and garlic, it’s sure to thoroughly satisfy even the choosiest guacamole lover!  eatwholly.com
  • * 20 Vitamins & Minerals
  • * Preservative, Additive, Gluten Free
  • * Comes in a variety of flavors
  • * Official Guacamole of The Biggest Loser tv program
Now consider what's in the preservative-filled ranch dressing you're pouring over your beautiful salad! go to Getofftheranch.com to learn more!
My Review


This stuff is so very yummy. We tried it out on the same day i received my parcel. I made it into a 3 layer dip and had nacho chips with it. James (my fiance) and I loved it and we just couldn't get enough of this. If you love guacamole,cheese dip and salsa you will very much love this. 

Where to buy  http://eatwholly.com/

The Giveaway

MUST do this FIRST:
1) Become one of my followers and leave a comment - or if you already follow - just leave a comment! +1 entry's
Bonus (optional)
Post about this giveaway on your blog and leave a comment as to where it is on your blog. +1 entry's
"like" my facebook page Geeky Girl Reviews. +1 entry

This contest ends on March 18th 2011



I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising. Tomoson Product review & giveaway Disclosure.

groOrganic’s Garden Planner (review)



Product Description

Organic gardening is a popular subject today.  Many are becoming aware of the benefits of eating organically and growing vegetables and fruit in their own backyards.  This is not a new concept.  Rather it is a very OLD concept.  The “conventional” gardening and farming of today relies on the use of pesticides and chemical fertilizers.  “Organic” gardening and farming restricts the use of artificial chemical fertilizers and pesticides. Instead, organic growers rely on developing a healthy fertile soil and growing a mixture of crops.  This is the way our grandparents or great grandparents grew their produce. 
Unfortunately, we have to re-learn how to grow food.  This is a lost art to many inexperienced gardeners.   We have many sources to help begin a new gardening project if we have the desire to do so.  New ideas to make gardening easier for the novice as well as for the experienced gardener are readily available on the internet and in gardening books.  How-To videos will even show you step-by-step the building of raised planter beds.   But then what?  Wouldn’t it be great if you could just type in your zip code and have a gardening program remind you when to plant and when to harvest?   Wouldn’t it be great to enjoy the convenience of growing your own produce without the back-breaking weeding of the past?
groOrganic, an innovative company, will provide 'full service' vegetable gardening for people with little time or experience.  groOrganic can supply complete raised bed vegetable gardens installed and maintained by professionals or will consult with a client who just needs a little advice.  
groOrganic offers the most up to date gardening design and maintenance software technology.  Our Garden Planner:
[ ] Makes it easy to draw out your vegetable beds, add plants and move them around to get the perfect layout. Either feet and inches or metric units are supported and any shape of garden can be created.
[ ] Adapts to suit your gardening style whether you use traditional row planting, raised beds or Square Foot Gardening.
[ ] Adapts to your own area using our database of over 5000 weather stations.
[ ] Prints your own personalized planting chart showing how many of each plant you require and when to sow, plant and harvest them.
[ ] Sends email reminders twice a month of what needs planting from your garden plans.

http://gardenplanner.groorganic.com/
Although started in California, groOrganic is franchising the concept across the US with great success, enabling rapid growth.  “HERE WE gro AGAIN!”
Join our team franchises now available for only $8000 for a limited time
For more information email info@groOrganic.com or call 888-9-groOrganic (888-947-6674)

My Review 

I think this is a great concept and I really think it is awesome especially for beginners like me. We bought a house last summer and well since it was July when we moved in it was a little bit later for me to start a garden.Plus I did not have the time and enrgy because we had tons to do to make the house a home and we adopted a puppy.  This year however I will have more time and hopefully energy. I so want a garden. 
With all the usefull help and information from  groOrganic’s Garden Planner I have a plan and feel more confident about doing a garden for the very first time. If you are new to gardening I think you should check it out.


If you want to check it out please go to groOrganic's website.


I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising. Tomoson Product review & giveaway Disclosure.

Pet Dossier - digitial Organizer App for iPhone/iPad (review)






Product Description
"THE PET APP THAT GIVES BACK!" 25% of the sale price directly supports ASPCA®
Pet Dossier is a digital organizer for your dog, cat, bird, fish, critter and other animals’ information at your fingertips.  Keep track of your pet’s history, medications, and appointments and be able to email the information directly to your pet’s caregivers. You can also customize your pets information to fit your needs. You have the flexibility to edit, add new fields and notes throughout the application.

Professional grade app to store all pictures and information for each of your pets.
Picture Gallery - Show off your favorite photos. Choose photos from your library or take new ones with your iPhone camera.
ID - Birthday, registration, microchip, type/breed, name.
Veterinary - Store your pet’s vet phone and address, get directions from current location in Google Maps app, or call them with just one tap.
Medications - Keep track of which medications your pet needs, how much, and when.
Custom info lists - If there isn’t already a field for what you want, just create a new one.
Notes - Keep whatever other information you want!
Flexible - All data is editable, all lists are re-arrangeable. Re-size and order photos.

My Review

This is a awesome app to get for  anyone who has pets. You get all of your pets information all in one app..No more keeping papers and having to go search for them when needed. I think this is a must have to all pet owners.


You can purchase this in iTunes .  
Make sure you go to their Facebook page because they often run discount codes also check out Yep Yep site. They have a bunch of great products.



I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising. Tomoson Product review & giveaway Disclosure.

Tuesday, March 8, 2011

Gravity got me down

The day started off very well. I was in a good mood and the puppy was being a wonderful little guy.
At lunch time I was going down the stairs to the rec room and I missed a step. Fortunately it was just the last step but I fell down and my knee hit the floor. OUCH!!!  Now my knee hurts and it is red. I know it will be bruised in a few hours.

I think i will put my feel up now and read a book.



Get 2 Dozen St. Patrick's Day Shamrock Smiley Cookies for just $27.99 with Free Shipping at SmileyCookie.com!

Apostle Rising by Richard Godwin (book review)



Detective Chief Inspector Frank Castle never caught the Woodlands Killer and it almost destroyed him. Now, years later, mauled by the press and traumatized by nightmares, he is faced with a copycat killer with detailed inside knowledge of the original case. He and his partner Jacki Stone enter a deadly labyrinth, and at its center is the man Castle believes was responsible for the first killings. He's running a sinister cult and playing dark mind games with the police. The investigation has a shattering effect on Castle and Stone. Dark coded ritualistic killings are being carried out on high-profile figures and the body count is rising. Castle employs a brilliant psychologist to help him solve the case, but some psychopaths are cleverer than others. The book has a unique twist, timed to perfection by the author. A dark, layered narrative with detailed psychological profiling, Apostle Rising is an extremely powerful noir crime story with a chilling dimension of horror.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Richard Godwin is a novelist and playwright. He writes dark crime fiction and his stories have been published in A Twist of Noir, Pulp Metal Magazine, Danse Macabre, Disenthralled, South Jersey and Gloom Cupboard among others. His play 'The Cure-All' has been produced on the London stage. It is a dark satire about a group of confidence tricksters using the New Age to rip off their greedy venal customers. His works in print include 'Chemical', in the Anthology 'Back In 5 Minutes', published by Little Episodes Publishing in February 2010, and 'Doll', in 'Howl: Tales Of The Feral And Infernal' by Lame Goat Press in March 2010 and 'Face Off' in Crime Factory Issue #5, by CreateSpace in October 2010. Richard Godwin received his B.A. at King's College London University and went on to receive his M.A. there with distinction in American and English Literature. King's College awarded him a teaching scholarship and a stipend for lecturing. He continued lecturing and obtained an MPhil in English  and American literature.  He taught in and then ran the English department at Davies's College.He lives in London and APOSTLE RISING is his first crime novel.
Richard Godwin's Chin Wags At The Slaughterhouse are interviews he has conducted with other crime and horror writers and can be found at his blog on his website here
http://richardgodwin.net/ where you can find a full list of his works.

My Review 
This is a fantastic thriller that makes you keep reading this book and it will have you on the edge of your seat the entire time.If you are into crime trillers then I think you will enjoy this one.
Richard Godwin is a awesome writer and I will be looking out for more books by this author.

If you want to buy this book you can do so at amazon.com ,

I give this 4 out of 5


*I have received a free copy of this book for my honest review.*

Friday, March 4, 2011

The King of Diamonds by Simon Tolkien (book review)




 About The Author
Simon Tolkien was born in England in 1959 and grew up in a small village outside Oxford. His grandfather was J.R.R. Tolkien, professor of philology and the author of The Lord of the Rings. Simon was educated by Benedictine monks at Downside School, and then went on to Oxford University, where he studied Modern History at Trinity College. He was a successful barrister in London, specializing in criminal justice, where, according to British custom, he regularly appeared on behalf of both the prosecution and the defense. His wife, Tracy, is an American who owns a vintage clothing store in Kings Road, Chelsea. They have two children and live in Santa Barbara, CA


synopsis

David Swain is two years into his life sentence for murdering the lover of his ex-girlfriend, Katya Osman. In the dead of night, he escapes from prison, and that same night Katya is found murdered in her uncle’s home, Blackwater Hall. Inspector Trave of the Oxford Police heads the manhunt for David, whom he first brought to justice two years earlier. But Trave’s suspicions lead him to Katya’s uncle, Titus Osman, a rich diamond dealer, and his sinister brother-in-law, Franz Claes, who has gone to great lengths to hide his former ties with the Nazis. However, Trave’s motives are suspect - Osman is having an affair with Trave’s estranged wife, Vanessa, and a newcomer to the Oxford Police, Inspector Macrae, is eager to exploit Trave's weaknesses to further his own ambition. Once David is captured and put on trial for his life, Trave is willing to risk everything that is dear to him—professionally and personally—to pursue his obsessive belief in Osman’s guilt

My Review 
 I think I may have a new book to add in my favorites pile. Simon Tolkien is a awesome writer. I felt like I was right there in the book and I could not put it down. It sure is a good thing I was stuck at home waiting for parcels and didn't have anything to do or else I  would have not wanted to go anywhere until I was done reading this book.If you are into mystery/thriller then I highly recommend this one.

The King Of Diamonds will be out in stores on March 15th 2011. In the meantime check out Simon Tolkien's webiste http://www.simontolkien.com/

I give this book 5 out of 5.

*I have received a free copy of this book for my honest review.*



Tuesday, March 1, 2011

Due Date (movie review)



From The Hangover director Todd Phillips, Due Date throws two unlikely companions together on a road trip that turns out to be as life-changing as it is outrageous. Expectant first-time father Peter Highman (Robert Downey Jr.) looks forward to his new child?s due date five days away. As Peter hurries to catch a flight home from Atlanta to be at his wife's side for the birth, his best intentions go completely awry when an encounter with aspiring actor Ethan Tremblay (Zach Galifianakis) forces Peter to hitch a ride with Ethan on a cross-country trip that will ultimately destroy several cars, many friendships and Peter?s last nerve.

Available on Blu-ray Combo Pack, DVD, On Demand and for Download 2/22! http://bit.ly/DueDateFB







Here are a few clips
 


It is now in stores or you can buy it online at WB Store

My Review
I wasn't really expecting much from this movie. When I first saw the trailer I thought this movie look stupid and going to be boring. Boy was I wrong. This movie was hilarious. I recommend this one to anyone who loves comedy