Tuesday, May 31, 2011

Forgotten April by Robyn Bradley (ebook review)



For April Sullivan-LaMonica, the last ten years have been hell: her husband and young son were killed in a car accident, and soon after, her mom descended into the darkness of Alzheimer's. So when broadcast journalist Maggie Prescott shows up claiming to be April's half sister and tries to capture their reunion on film, April outwardly regards Maggie with much suspicion. In reality, she's simply afraid to grow close to someone again, only to have that person leave--or worse.

Maggie, meanwhile, is battling her own demons: figuring out why her biological mother gave her up, facing a secret she's kept from the one man she's loved all her life, and giving herself permission to follow the dream she's had since she was a child.

Separated by nearly two decades and radically different life paths, April and Maggie must decide if pursuing their sisterhood is worth it...or even possible.

A story of loss, love, survival, and redemption, Forgotten April will speak to anyone who's experienced the pains--and riches--of an unexpected friendship that emerges from family ties.

MY REVIEW

I thought this book wasn't a easy read and I got a little confused (but I get confused a lot anyways lol )  .This story kinda bounces around  but other than that this was a good read. Storyline and characters were great.

This is not the usual kind of book I would read but it was very good. 

If this sounds like a book you would like to read  please check out  Robyn Bradley's website. There you can watch the book's trailer and links to where you can purchase this book

I give this 4 out of 5

Thursday, May 26, 2011

The Opera Ghost Lives by Ann M. Kraft (book review)





A promised gesture of love that is never kept turns to heartbreak. A plan to recapture Christine is never realized. Erik, the Opera Ghost, makes plans to leave his lake house.

On his way to freedom he encounters an angel of mercy who was sent to protect and help him but from where this angel came he doesn’t know. His angel has been given the responsibility of keeping him safe and presenting him with an “arrangement” that will give him the opportunity to change his life. However, his protector is skeptical that change is possible.

MY REVIEW 

If you are a fan of The Phantom of the Opera you will love this book. There is never a dull moment in this book with  lots of twists and turns in the plot. I was hooked from the very beginning and I am sure you will as well. I am now reading the next book in this series and I will be posting my review for it as soon as I am done reading that one as well. Ann M. Kraft is now one of my favorite authors and I will be looking for more of her books in the future.


If you want to know more about this book, the author or if you want to read an Excerpt of this book please feel free to go to  Ann M. Kraft's website. 

I give this book 5 out of 5 

Tuesday, May 24, 2011

Aurora "Are We There Yet?" Review & Giveaway----CLOSED

                                                                        

 Aurora World Inc. is celebrating its 30th Anniversary this year, is helping parents gear up for summer travel with a line of plush accessories based on one of the company’s top selling characters, Cheeky Charlie. Developed particularly for boys and girls ages three to seven years old, Aurora’s “Are We There Yet” collection features Cheeky and his jungle buddies as plush, backpacks, neck rests and even “My Name Is” ID tags.  This will be Aurora’s top travel and destination collection. It was designed to keep kids comfortable, safe and happy before, during and after their trips in the car, bus, train or airplane.  The collection features Cheeky Charlie and Gerome the Giraffe bean-filled plush(11.5”, MSRP: $11); Cheeky and Gerome “Keep Me Comfy” Neck Rests (10”, MSRP: $13); and four fully functional “By My Side” Backpacks (Cheeky, Gerome, Lion and Panda; 12”, MSRP: $17).  Parents will appreciate the precious ‘My Name Is’ ID Tags (MSRP: $6), available in a six style assortment including monkey, giraffe, lion, shark, panda and gator.



Hi everyone,
  It is the time of year again!! You know,summer vacation time where you go on road trips. It can be boring and uncomfortable but Aurora Inc. has just released a brand new line of plush friends for  traveling children around the age of 3-7 years old.
I received a Cheeky Charlie "Keep Me Comfy" Neck Rest and a  MY NAME IS ID TAGS .  These products are so darn cute. If the neck rest would have fit me I would have kept it for myself LOL .

Here is a photo of the neck rest  I have received :

Isn't he just so cute? Well I think he is and he is so comfy as well.
 And here is a photo of the ID tags they have :

 Aren't they cute? Well I think they are and they are so comfy as well.


Thanks to Aurora World, One Lucky Reader will receive their own Name ID Tag.

Aurora World Inc. has tons of cute other products. Check them out.


Mandatory Entry:  
Visit Aurora and tell me your favorite product. (make sure you leave your email address) .

Bonus (optional): 

Post about this giveaway on your blog and leave a comment as to where it is on your blog. +1 entry's

"like" my facebook page Geeky Girl Reviews. +1 entry

Tweet about this giveaway RT @GeekyGirlReview  ENTER TO WIN Aurora "Are We There Yet" ID Tag http://tinyurl.com/3gt39n3

Ends June 3rd 2011.   US And Canada Only

Sunday, May 22, 2011

3 Lies by Helen Hanson

At CIA headquarters, a young officer discovers that terrorists may have commandeered their computer systems to launch an unauthorized mission. Elsewhere, conspirators abduct nine people to manipulate the rules of their game. Two disparate ambitions — Clint Masters becomes the reluctant link in the chain of danger.

Ever since Clint’s almost ex-wife dumped him, he bobs along the Massachusetts coast in a sailboat with his black lab for company. He avoids all forms of technology, a counterintuitive effort for the burned-out founder of CatSat Laboratories. Tired of clutching the brass ring, he needed to untether, step off the corporate treadmill, and smell a flower. Fortunately, he met one, a beautiful, unspoiled woman who doesn’t treat him like a commodity. His relationship with Beth offers more promise than his marriage ever did, even if she is on dialysis for her recovering kidneys, until she disappears.

In spite of the evidence, her family refuses to admit she’s in danger. Without routine dialysis, she won’t survive. As Clint realizes that he loves Beth, damn-near ex-wife Paige sashays back into his life with disturbing news.

While the CIA young gun tracks his quarry, Clint enlists the help of two men to find Beth, a blithe Brit named Merlin, and Todd, his playboy partner-in-tech. But Clint must find Beth before her kidneys fail. And before someone unloads a bullet in his head.

MY REVIEW
WOW!! This book was awesome. I am was hooked from page 1 and I couldn't put it down..I think if you are into suspense/thrillers then I think you will love this one. I think it would also make a fantastic movie.

If you want to purchase this ebook check out Helen's website, it has links to where you can purchase the book .

I give this 5 out of 5.

 *I have received a free copy of this ebook for my honest review.*

Wednesday, May 18, 2011

Invisible Dawn by Weston Kincade (ebook review)



To keep a promise and save his long-lost goddaughter, Madelin, computer programmer Jedd Altran sacrificed everything, including his wife and newborn son. Now, they must pass through worlds far different than their own to escape the clutches of government killers.

In a world where rare individuals have evolved, the government kidnaps specific children to study and utilize their abilities. Madelin has been imprisoned in such a facility for thirteen years and suffers from medically induced amnesia. Facing a hopeless future, haunted dreams, and an invisible past, each morning is an Invisible Dawn and life holds no meaning, until she meets Jedd. Her newly discovered godfather becomes her beacon in tumultuous seas as they strive to find answers and allies.

On the run from PASTOR Agency's first trained shifter, an egotistical man with power hungry desires, Madelin and her godfather find their lives intertwined with a broke Cajun gambler, an ex-mercenary in search of redemption, and a rebellious Vampire.

Can they survive nature's mysteries and humanity's greed? Will they find salvation? Only a Darwinian victory will do, but even that may prove futile.





MY REVIEW 
If you are into Science fiction novels then you might like this one. I for one loved this book and couldn't put it down until the very end. I can't wait to read more books by Weston Kincade .

If you want to purchase this book you can do so at amazon.com and smashwords . Also you can check out Weston Kincade's blog http://www.authorwakincade.blogspot.com/ 

Friday, May 13, 2011

just to let you know...

I might or might not be blogging for a few days.
Tomorrow will be a super busy day. One of my sisters will be coming over with her family for a few hours. They will be taking me grocery shopping and ofcourse we will be catching up on what is going on in our lives. 
Also my hubby will be back from deployment at some point tomorrow .


hopefully everything will be back to normal in a few days and I will be able to catch up on some review writing. I will mostly still be doing some reading so once life is back to normal I will have a review or 2  to post.

Anyways, Just thought I would let you know just in case I do not blog in a few days.

Have a wonderful weekend,
Chantale

Thursday, May 12, 2011

Watermelon-Cucumber Refresher

Hello everyone,

This is just a preview post to a book I will be reviewing at some time in the next few weeks. I am really getting excited to do this review. I love cocktail drinks and since we now have a patio and as of next Saturday we will have a patio table we will be able to enjoy having people over  outside on the deck and have a few drinks.




Watermelon-Cucumber Refresher
By Marcia Simmons and Jonas Halpern,
Author of DIY Cocktails: A Simple Guide To Creating Your Own Signature Drinks

Ingredients Ratio Total
3 parts vodka 3 parts strong 3 parts strong
1 part triple sec 1 part sweet
2 parts sweet
1 part watermelon-cucumber-mint juice** 1 part sweet
1 part lime juice 1 part sour 1 part sour
Pour all ingredients into a cocktail shaker with ice and shake for about fifteen seconds. Strain into a chilled cocktail glass. Optional: Freeze two watermelon chunks and place them inside the glass. Garnish with a cucumber slice and a spring of mint.
**Watermelon-Cucumber Mint Juice
~ 2 parts chopped watermelon
~ 1 part peeled and chopped cucumber
~ 2 sprigs of mint
Blend all ingredients together and strain through fine-mesh strainer.

How Did We Do That?We started out knowing that we wanted to use watermelon, which is moderately sweet and rounds out flavors. But watermelon wasn't enough for us; we wanted more! So the next step was to ask ourselves, "What other ingredient is similar to watermelon in taste but is also a little less sweet so the watermelon can be the dominant sweet flavor?" Turns out cucumber is a lot like a milder, slightly more tart melon: It's not going to overpower, but it will offer a little hint of tartness to add another layer to our concoction. With all these fresh, juicy ingredients, we wanted a little bit of oomph -- something to give it that fresh-from-the-garden taste. Mint is a sweet herb that has a cooling effect, just what we wanted on a hot day. However, these ingredients are light and mild -- liquor and lime juice could easily overpower them. To add enough sweetness to round out the acidity of the lime, we knew we'd need something sweeter with a little weight to it. We always have triple sec in the liquor cabinet, and its orange flavor is a nice compliment to lime.
That's a lot of ingredients to fit into one little ratio. But when you look carefully you'll recognize the same flavor categories and ratio that make a margarita taste good:
3 Parts Strong - That's vodka. We chose vodka because it is a friendly spirit -- you won't find a flavor it doesn't mix well with -- and we wanted to introduce a lot of other flavors to the party.
2 Parts Sweet - Remember how a Cosmo uses two different ingredients for its sweet -- a juice and a liqueur? That's basically what we did here. Only instead of using just one juice flavor we chose three -- cucumber, mint, and watermelon -- and combined them in the blender. Here's where you'll use fresh fruits and herbs of your choice.
1 Part Sour - You'll recognize good old lime juice, one of the basic sours. Since we had so much going on in the sweet, the simplest way to balance the cocktail was to use limes for acidity.

Swing: A Psychopathy by German Alcala (ebook review)


A musical novel of death, love, and crime. In a small town two teenagers fall in love, but hide their feelings from each other in doubt. A father with a twisted past abuses his son. a frightened boy commits suicide, and a psychopathy ensues taking families and many victims in this thrilling story of horrific rape, suicide, murder, homosexuality, drug abuse, barbaric incest, insanity, and matricide.

My Review

this book is not for most people.. It can be difficult to read. I have read books like this before but even I had problems to read this one at times because of the subjects ( incest and rape).

German Alcala is a great author. This was very well written.

Wednesday, May 11, 2011

Smallville Series Finale

Are any of you Smallville fans? I am a huge fan.
As you all know the series finale will be airing  on Friday :(.



 

To celebrate Warner Bros, Digital Distribution is giving fans the chance to get FREE Downloads of all 10 season premieres in HD and discounts on seasons 1-9, now for a limited time on iTunes: http://bit.ly/DD_Smallville Only Available in US.

Here is a link to where you can watch a clip  go here


Tuesday, May 10, 2011

The Clones of Langston by Carol Fullerton-Samsel (book review)

Clones, created and deserted by a corporation, form their own society. As the facility housing them erodes, they begin to suspect that there's more to the world than they've been led to believe. 

MY REVIEW 
This is a awesome science fiction novel. I was hooked from the beginning. I loved this one.  I think some of you may like this book even if you aren't really into science fiction.   

If you want to purchase this book or read a few chapters of this book you can  do so through this website.

I give this 5 out of 5 

 

Friday, May 6, 2011

Next Move, You're Dead by Linda L Barton


Homicide detective John Cooper has always followed the evidence to solve any case. That is until he starts receiving phone calls claiming otherwise. As the murder cases are already solved, John wonders what the phone calls have to do with them. The evidence proves the guilt of those convicted, but the calls make him start to question the evidence and himself - for the first time in his career.

With each move, John finds himself caught up in a game with an unknown opponent who is always one step ahead and seems to know John better than he knows himself, but how? How can someone know every detail of the murder cases and not be involved? But most importantly, how can this chilling caller know everything about John? As John prepares himself to take on the challenge, he soon realizes that everything he's believed in is no longer part of his new reality.


 MY REVIEW
I was hooked from the very beginning of this book  and couldn't put this down. I read it in one afternoon. This book is very well written. If you are a detective/mystery genre fan then this is one you most likely will love this book as much as I did.

If you want to buy this ebook you can do so at amazon.com and Smashwords

I give this 5 out of 5

Thursday, May 5, 2011

The Scarab by Scott Rhine



The Scarab is a PG, first-person, near-future, Science Fiction novel inspired by Heinlein's Young Adult books and the adrenaline rush of computer games.
There are very few problems one cannot solve with a little help from friends and the proper application of high explosives.

Hemophiliac and ace mechanic Ethan Hayes had risen to the top of the computer gaming circuit as the Scarab. When he invented a device that made him rich over night, he and Mary Ann were able to enter SimCon, the simulated European road race. They were like Cinderella at the ball until he stumbled across a cyber-criminal ring. After they kidnapped Mary Ann to silence him, it's up to the Scarab to save her.


MY REVIEW 
I love this book. This book is a little different than what I am used to reading but I was hooked from the beginning and just couldn't put it down. I don't think you have to be a gamer to really enjoy this book but if you are you most likely enjoy this book as much as I do. 

If you want to purchase this ebook you can buy it at amazon.com or smashwords.com 

I give this 4 out of 5

Tuesday, May 3, 2011

A Great Place for a Seizure by Terry Tracy

Mischa Dunn's family flees Chile in the wake of the 1973 coup d'etat that installs a military dictatorship. She settles comfortably in her newly adopted country, the United States, until one day, an unexplained seizure in a library signals the beginning of her life with epilepsy. With an engaging balance of humor, insight, and sensitivity Mischa draws the reader into a vivid tale that travels across three continents over thirty years. 

About the author

Terry Tracy has worked as a human rights activist, journalist and diplomat. She has epilepsy and in 2007 wrote the charter for an association of disabled employees of the U.S. State Department. Currently, she resides in London with her family.

My Review 
 This is a great book and very interesting. I love the story and I actually didn't want to put this one down. I highly recommend this book.

If you want to purchase this book you can do so at amazon.com
I give this 4 out of 5

Monday, May 2, 2011

Betrayed (The Vampire Journals #3) by Morgan Rice

In BETRAYED (Book #3 in the Vampire Journals), Caitlin Paine awakes from a deep coma to discover she has been turned. Now a true, full-bred vampire, she marvels at her new powers, including her ability to fly, and her superhuman strength. She finds that her true love, Caleb, is still by her side, waiting patiently for her to recover. She has everything she could dream of.

Until it all, suddenly, goes terribly wrong.

Caitlin is horrified to discover Caleb with his ex-wife, Sera, and before Caleb has a chance to explain, Caitlin tells him to leave. Heartbroken, confused, Caitlin wants to curl up and die, her only consolation being in her wolf-pup Rose.

Caitlin also finds consolation in her new surroundings. She finds she has been placed on a hidden island in the Hudson River—Pollepel—amidst an elite coven of teenage vampires, boys and girls alike, 24 in all, including her. She learns that this is a place for outcasts, just like her, and as she meets her new best friend, Polly, and begins her training in elite vampire combat, she realizes that she might finally have a place to call home.

But a major vampire war is looming, and her brother Sam is still out there, kidnapped by Samantha. The evil Kyle, too, now wielding the mythical Sword, is still on the warpath, and he will stop at nothing to wipe out New York. Caitlin, despite her new home, and despite her finding a new love interest in the elusive vampire Blake, knows that she can only stay on this island for so long before her destiny calls. After all, she is still the One, and all eyes still look to her to find her father and the other weapon that might save them all.

Torn between her new friends and her lingering feelings for Caleb, she must come to decide where her true loyalties lie, and whether she is willing to risk it all to try to find Caleb and have him in her life once again….

BETRAYED is Book #3 in the Vampire Journals (following TURNED and LOVED), and yet it also stands alone as a self-contained novel. BETRAYED is over 60,000 words.

My Review 
 This is an other awesome book by Morgan Rice. I had both books in my e-reader so as soon as I was done reading book #2 (Loved) I just couldn't wait to read this one. I am so hooked on this series and can't wait for book #4 to come out.  paranormal romance/urban fantasy/vampire genres you may like this book..

If you want to purchase this book check out Morgan Rice's site because there are links as to where you can purchase this book and other books from this series.

I give this 5 out of 5

Loved (The Vampire Journals #2) by Morgan Rice



In LOVED (Book #2 in the Vampire Journals), Caitlin and Caleb embark together on their quest to find the one object that can stop the imminent vampire and human war: the lost sword. An object of vampire lore, there is grave doubt over whether it even exists.

If there is any hope of finding it, they must first trace Caitlin’s ancestry. Is she really the One? Their search begins with finding Caitlin’s father. Who was he? Why did he abandon her? As the search broadens, they are shocked by what they discover about who she really is.

But they are not the only ones searching for the legendary sword. The Blacktide Coven wants it, too, and they are close on Caitlin and Caleb’s trail. Worse, Caitlin’s little brother, Sam, remains obsessed with finding his Dad. But Sam soon finds himself in way over his head, smack in the middle of a vampire war. Will he jeopardize their search?

Caitlin and Caleb’s journey takes them on a whirlwind of historic locations—from the Hudson Valley, to Salem, to the heart of historic Boston—the very spot where witches were once hung on the hill of Boston Common. Why are these locations so important to the vampire race? And what do they have to do with Caitlin’s ancestry, and with who she’s becoming?

But they may not even make it. Caitlin and Caleb’s love for each other is blossoming. And their forbidden romance may just destroy everything they’ve set out to achieve….

Although LOVED is the sequel to TURNED, it also stands alone as a self-contained novel. LOVED is 51,000 words


 My Review

  I love this book. I couldn't put it down. So far this is a awesome series and I couldn't wait to read the third book in this series. Morgan Rice is a awesome writer . If you are into paranormal romance/urban fantasy/vampire genres you may like this book.

If you want to purchase this book check out Morgan Rice's site because there are links as to where you can purchase this book and other books from this series.
I give this 5 out of 5