Tuesday, August 30, 2011

Skin MD Natural Shielding Lotion review





Skin MD is a Natural Skin Treatment and manufactured in the United States using 100% solar power, free of animal products and animal testing.

This stuff is very good. Made my skin feel soft and this product doesn't give me a headache and didn't make me feel all greasy.
After using this for over a week I have noticed a lot of difference . My hands and arms are so nice and soft now and not peeling around my ring finger.
For a 60 day supply it is $18US . Now personally I find that a little expensive but that could be because I am cheap lol 

The company claims that Skin MD is

Made in the US using high quality natural ingredients, making it over 90% all natural. All ingredients are considered to be of food grade and are also on the FDA's most safe list. It is free of harmful fragrances, parabens, and colorants making it hypoallergenic. We don't participate in animal testing nor does the lotion contain any animal products. Our lotion is also vegan-friendly and gluten-free.

Sounds great right? Well don't just take my word for it. check out SkinMD 


Saturday, August 27, 2011

Erin Lale's Post on Transmedia Publishing

I was trying to get Erin Lale (author) to guest post but for some reason  the guest post thing wasn't working so she sent me her guest post via email and I am posting in on here for her.

Here is her post:

I'm the publisher and editor of Time Yarns, a shared world sf transmedia universe. Transmedia blurs the lines between what is a book, film, game, music video, graphic novel, etc. Since all of those things can be published in electronic format, they can also be published on the same platform, and I'm pushing the limits of what the current ebook technology can do. I anticipate that the limits I'm butting my head against on ebook platforms will disappear in a few years as the technology improves, but at the moment my main limitation is file size. It's hard to embed a lot of transmedia elements into an ebook platform designed for text only, just because of file size limits. As more people jump on the transmedia bandwagon and demand that the limits be pushed back, the big platform companies will undoubtedly respond to that demand. So, in the future, writers won't feel limited to text only books. There will routinely be pictures in books for adults, and life can have a soundtrack. There is a revolution coming.

How I got into transmedia is pretty simple. I used to publish and edit a print magazine back in the 90s. After the success of my first book, Asatru For Beginners, I decided to publish more books. A lot more books. I've published 10 books so far this year, and have 4 more to go which are in final draft stage. In 2012 I'm planning to publish 2 anthologies of other authors' works and 4 more of my own books. One thing I've learned from this project is that I actually like publishing and editing better than writing, which probably means I'm a little weird. Since I also do films, I decided to film a trailer for the Time Yarns book universe, which I'm still shooting. So I had video, and production stills, and props, and costumes, and so forth, and I thought, how coool would it be to include these in the books? I started putting the transmedia elements into the Punch series, and recruiting artists as well as writers for the Time Yarns anthologies.

On the technical end, I didn't know what I was getting myself into. I discovered I had to move all the video to host sites to avoid going over the file size limits imposed by the ebook platforms. And even so, I ended up breaking Punch up into 7 books to fit all the transmedia elements into it, although Punch has a story arc that runs from book 1 all the way to the end of book 7. But I am so glad I got into transmedia publishing, because this is the cutting edge, and that's where I always like to be. And I'm also glad I did Punch first, before publishing the anthologies of other authors' works, because by the time I finish the 7 book Punch series, I will have transmedia publishing down to a science!  Just a few years from now, maybe everyone will be publishing transmedia. Art will no longer be defined by whether it is made on cellulose or celluloid, canvas or tape. It will all be made on the internet. And that's the future I want to live in!

The Egyptian (Dominic Grey #2) by Layton Green book review


At a mausoleum in Cairo’s most notorious cemetery, a mercenary receives a package containing a silver test tube suspended in hydraulic stasis.

An investigative reporter tracking rogue biomedical companies is terrified by the appearance of a mummified man outside her Manhattan apartment.

A Bulgarian scientist who dabbles in the occult makes a startling discovery in his underground laboratory.

These seemingly separate events collide when Dominic Grey and Viktor Radek, private investigators of cults, are hired by the CEO of an Egyptian biomedical firm to locate stolen research integral to the company’s new life extension product. However, after witnessing the slaughter of a team of scientists by the remnants of a dangerous cult thought long abandoned, Grey and Viktor turn from pursuers to pursued.

From the gleaming corridors of visionary laboratories to the cobblestone alleys of Eastern Europe to a lost oasis in the Sahara, Grey and Viktor must sift through science and myth to uncover the truth behind the Egyptian and his sinister biotech – before that truth kills them.

MY REVIEW

Just like the first book in this series from the very first page I was drawn into this book and could not put it down. This one is just as good as the first. Very well written and this series so far keeps you on the edge of your seat .If you like mystery/suspense then you should read this one.


If you want to purchase this book you can do so for Kindle at  amazon.com or for Nook at  Barnes & Noble .  For this weekend only this ebook of $.99.
I give this 5 out of 5

Thursday, August 25, 2011

Mat Kearney Young Love Review


I must admit I had never heard of Mat Kearney prior to  signing up to review this album but I am always looking for new music to listen to so I decided to give this a chance.

Young Love is Mat Kearney's third album, and it hit stores August 2nd 2011 and debuting on the #1 spot on iTunes Album and Rock charts and is currently sitting at #5. The First song on the track list is "Hey Mama" and you can watch the video on Youtube.

I listened to this album a few times now and I I must admit this is not the kind of music I would usually listen to but I was surprised that I actually like some of the songs.

You can also connect with Mar Kearney on Facebook and Twitter

Disclosure:  I received one copy of Young Love for free, and it was provided by One2One Network.  I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I have not been compensated for this review. However, I will be entered into a drawing for a $50 gift card.

Wednesday, August 24, 2011

What Stays in Vegas by Beth Labonte ebook review


Bored administrative assistant, Tessa Golden, is trapped in a life of lousy weather, irritating bosses, and mind-numbing secretarial work. Her dreams of being an artist have rapidly deteriorated into building things out of paperclips while on hold with tech support. To make matters even worse, the love of her life has gone off and married another woman.

So when Tessa is suddenly transferred to the Las Vegas branch of her company - playing wingwoman to her freshly divorced boss, juggling a client from hell, and catching the eye of one very eligible coworker - will her life finally be shaken up enough to straighten itself out?


MY REVIEW

This book is a funny  ,quick and easy read. I read this book yesterday afternoon and I could not put it down. It took my about 2 hours to finish reading this book. I thought it was very well written with a awesome bunch of characters  (some you will love and some you will hate).   If you want a quick and funny chick lit then look no further.

If you want to purchase this ebook you can do so at amazon.com 

 I give this 5 out of 5

* I was given a copy of this ebook for free for my honest review.*
 



Monday, August 22, 2011

Recovery (Nicci Beauvoir Series) by Alexandrea Weis



Recovery by Alexandrea Weis is the second novel in the wildly sexy series featuring the enigmatic Nicci Beauvoir. A thrilling read, this character-driven book boasts a whodunit mystery, sultry seductions, and an unforgettable cliffhanging twist. Once a darling of New Orleans society, Nicci pens a novel about her departed love, the artist David Alexander. While promoting her book in the Big Apple, she’s approached by David’s former boss, Simon La Roy, who has a theory about David’s death that devastates Nicci. She learns David’s murder may be linked to someone from her past. Enter Dallas August, an elite member of Simon’s organization of corporate spies prized for his ruthless ability to get the job done. Playing the part of Nicci’s lover, Dallas returns to Katrina-ravaged New Orleans with her to flush out the killer. But everything is not what is seems in the Big Easy, and soon the couple finds themselves trapped in a psychotic’s twisted game of revenge. As the danger grows, Nicci’s relationship with the handsome spy turns from adversarial to amorous. On the run for their lives, Dallas and Nicci must confront their tormentor before it is too late. It’s a deadly decision that could cost Nicci everything, but it is her only chance for finally revealing the identity of the murderer. Just as the truth behind David’s death is discovered, another more compelling mystery is unearthed. It’s an unexpected turn of events that rocks Nicci’s world. 

MY REVIEW 

 I very much enjoyed this book. At first I was a little worried about being a little confused because this is the second book in the series and I have not read the first but I must admit I had no confusion. This is a very well written romantic mystery/thriller that some of you will most likely enjoy. I know I did and I really did not want to put it down and I didn't put it down until the end.  


If you would like to purchase this ebook you can do so at amazon.com. Also check out Alexandrea Weis' site.

I give this 5 out of 5

 * I was given a copy of this ebook for free for my honest review.*

Friday, August 19, 2011

Batman: The Brave and The Bold Season Two Part One



Synopsis:
 Batman wings into an exciting new era, teaming with a mighty honor roll of DC Comics Super Heroes in this action-packed series. Through the show's season two 12 Animated Adventures in this 2-Disc Collection, the Dark Knight allies with Aquaman, Plastic Man, Blue Beetle, Red Tornado, Green Arrow, Wildcat, Deadman, Bronze Tiger and Atom to take on an array of evildoers ranging from mad scientists to intergalactic crooks, from power-mad dictators to out-of-control teenagers.


 Own it on DVD  August 16th 2011

 MY REVIEW

Well we are huge Batman fans in this house so we were all excited to get the chance to watch and review this one. We did watch it on tv but ended up not watching the full season because the tv station that airs it out here does not seem to show every episodes of these awesome cartoons.
Anyways  so far from what I have seen of season 2 I am really loving it.
If you are into all that Super heroes stuff or if you have children who are huge fans of Batman then this is a great series.


I received a  copy of Batman: The Brave and The Bold Season Two Part One on DVD for from from WB for my honest review*

Tuesday, August 16, 2011

Just Dance Summer Party Wii Game Review

I have recently been accepted to be part of UBISOFT's Ubichamps and I am happy to say that my very first video game review is for Just Dance Summer Party.


Now I admit I do not play on the Wii often enough and this is not the usual kind of game I would buy for myself because I just can't dance but I am super impressed with this game. It is easy ( I mean the moves are easy to do) but also challenging and really can make you sweat. 
You can play alone or with up to 4 players and it is fun for all ages. You can choose between songs. There are 23 tracks like Barbie Girl, Born to Be Wild, You Can't Hurry Love, Firework by Katy Perry and more awesome songs. 


First I just played around with it and did a few dances on my own then did one with hubby. I actually been playing it everyday since I received it on Thursday  and just yesterday I started doing the Just Sweat part of the game.  I have to say it is a great and fun workout that without being super hard if you are a beginner and out of shape like me because there are different levels for Just Sweat. It really is so fun that you just keep keeps you dancing for a long time. 


  This photo was taken this morning (my second day) between dances on Just Sweat mode.


I think this game is very good and for pretty much anyone even if you are not much into this kind of game. Hey, I am not usually into dancing games but I think this is a great game even if you are not in the greatest shape.


You can purchase this video game in stores and online stores like Amazon.com
I give this 4 out of 5





Thank you to Ubisoft for sponsoring this UbiChamps blog post. Please click here to learn more about Ubisoft. I was selected for this sponsorship by the Clever Girls Collective. All opinions are my own.

Monday, August 15, 2011

Something Borrowed Blu-ray Combo pack review

Synopsis:    
 Rachel is a talented attorney at a top New York law firm, a generous and loyal friend, and unhappily, still single as her engaged best friend Darcy is constantly reminding her. But after celebrating her 30th birthday, perpetual good girl Rachel unexpected ends up in the arms of the guys she?s had a crush on since law school, Dex who just happens to be Darcys fiancĂ©. As one thing leads to another in the frantic weeks leading up to Darcy?s wedding, Rachel finds herself in an impossible situation, caught between her treasured friendship with Darcy and the love of her life.

Something Borrowed is available on Blu-ray Combo Pack, DVD, On-Demand and for download on August 16th. http://bit.ly/pIatHe


Check out the official page


Check out a online audio chat with Emily Griffin






I admit I have heard of the book but I never read it but I really wanted to go see this movie in theaters but I didn't have anyone to go see it with so when I received this Blu-ray Combo pack I was super excited and I could not wait to watch it.

Anyways if you are into romantic "chickie" movies then I really think you will love it.  I for one am super picky when it comes to this genre of movies and there are just very few that I really do enjoy. Well this one is now one of the very few I like and the I know I will watch again at some other time when I am in the mood for a girly movie day/night.

If you get this make sure you watch the special features.

I give this movie 4 out of 5.

A Life of Death by Weston Kincade book review



A paranormal coming-of-age mystery about one boy's pain and hardship endured in a small Virginia town. Losing a father and growing up with an abusive, drunk replacement is hard enough, but when you hardly knew the first because of his constant military deployment, it alters your perspective. As a seventeen-year-old high school senior, Alex Drummond learns the value of family and the meaning of dedication the hard way, but reliving people's horrendous murders does have its upside. Join him as he struggles to find his destiny, understand love, and discover what really happened to his father and the skeletons hiding within his small home town.

MY REVIEW

WOW!!  This is an other awesome book by Weston Kincade.  This book is a paranormal coming-of-age mystery and it is one that is a page turner.  I read this a few nights ago and I could not put it down because it got me hooked into this story.  This is a great book if you are into paranormal and mystery books. I promise you will not be disappointed with this one.

If you want to purchace this book you can do so at any of these online stores Amazon, Amazon Kindle,  B&N, Kobo, Diesel, Sony, and Apple ibooks.

* I was given a copy of this ebook for free for my honest review.*


I give this 5 out of 5.

Tropical Traditions Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil WINNER

Tropical Traditions Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil WINNER IS..........................................    Angie lilly.



I will be emailing you shortly. You have 24 hours to reply to email. If you have not replied to it within 24 hours I will pick an other winner

Thursday, August 11, 2011

The Scar by Michael S. Weiner



As a homicide detective, David Seff witnesses some of the most gruesome things life has to offer. He puts his life in danger everyday that he comes to work, visits perilous areas most people wouldn t step foot in, and deals with the scum of the earth. Catching criminals is what David Seff does best. This is why he was chosen to lead a task force to discover who shot and killed the well-respected Reverend Michael. At first the detective thought it was a random act of violence, but it turns out to be the first victim of a homicidal serial killer.Throughout the story, you will go back in time to the killer s life as a boy and his desolate life at home with an abusive father, a terrifying encounter in New York City after running away from home, and the grisly murders. The hunt is on. Will Detective Seff catch the mysterious man causing hysteria amongst the people of Pennsylvania, or will there be no end to the bloodshed?

MY REVIEW

I absolutely loved this  mystery-thriller book, I couldn't put it down! Very well written with a great plot  and full of suspense which is what I love in this genre of books. This book has 152 pages so it didn't take me long to read it.


If you want to read a great mystery- thriller book I recommend you go buy this one. I promise you will not be disappointed .

If you want to purchase this book go check out  http://www.thescarnovel.com. You can also read the first chapter on the site.

I give this 5 out of 5




* I was given a copy of this book for free for my honest review.*

Tuesday, August 9, 2011

Grip: A Memoir of Fierce Attractions by Nina Hamberg (book review)




Set in San Francisco in the 1970s, Grip is the true story of how an eighteen-year-old fends off a stalker with just her wits. She goes on to become the toughest female martial artist in her karate school, an early advocate for women’s rights, and a residential counselor for troubled teenage boys.

For her, the best way to make her world safe is to seek out threats and face them head-on. Even in personal relationships, this five-foot fighter is drawn to men with volatile tempers, men like her father.

But her strategy of confronting danger doesn’t free her from her past — it creates a wake of greater destruction. Only by marshalling the strength to be vulnerable can she discover intimacy and love.



MY REVIEW


I am not usually much into memoir genre but I must admit I really enjoyed this book.This memoir reads like a fiction novel so that is the reason why I really enjoyed this and was not bored.  This book is very well written and this is a great memoir .   If you love memoirs or even if you are like me who usually get bored reading memoirs then you might like this book. 


Grip: A Memoir of Fierce Attractions  is available for pre-order at http://www.ninahamberg.com/ . 
It will be available on September 1st 2011.


I give this 4 out of 5 


 * I was given a copy of this book for free for my honest review.*

Monday, August 8, 2011

Everwood: The Complete Fourth Season review




Synopsis: 
 The final season of the series set in a welcoming town in the Rockies is all about finding oneself?and finding each other. Here, in the 5-Disc, 22-Episode Season Four, the unforgettable people of Everwood test the ties that bind them together in joy and tears, friendship and love. Drawn by his feelings for Amy, Ephram returns home and mentors a troubled piano prodigy. When Nina chooses Jake over him, Andy struggles to remain friends with the woman he loves. Bright and Hannah make their unlikely romance work. The Abbotts open their arms to a new child. Intriguing characters arrive and beloved characters depart. Say goodbye to the place and the people that won your heart ? and discover how everything turned out!

OWN it on DVD August 2nd




MY REVIEW

I have to admit I had never even heard of Everwood before the day I received Everwood:The Compplete Fourth Season but I am always glad to watch new shows I have never seen or heard of before. Anyways I watched the entire season and the features (including the deleted scenes) but I was having a hard time keeping on watching it. I thought it was boring. I know a lot of people who loved this show but I just didn't enjoy it at all.

*I received a  copy of Everwood: The Complete Fourth Season on DVD for from from WB for my honest review*



Thursday, August 4, 2011

Sorry everyone

Sorry for the messy blog . I have noticed this evening that my background wasn't working anymore so I have had to change my background to a temporary for a few hours until I have found or made a new one. Hopefully I will have it all back to normal by tomorrow afternoon

Wednesday, August 3, 2011

Werewolf Descent (The Last Witch #2) by Elizabeth J. Kolodziej

Last witch in the world, Faith Scott, and her Irish vampire boyfriend Trent have just come back from fighting for their lives to recover the Vampiric Blood gem and Werewolf Moon gem. Thinking they could finally relax and work on the romance growing between them, they now meet a mysterious psychic vampire named Vincent who has his heart set on being with Faith.
Soon bizarre killings of Zou Tai's werewolf pack begin, with rumors of an alchemist possessing the famed philosophers stone being the assailant; which, causes Faith to turn to Vincent for help in figuring out why the werewolves are being murdered.
It isn't long before all those around them test Trent and Faith's love, along with their abilities, once again. It is all Trent can do to keep Faith safe by his side while both go up against a deadly alchemist, deceptive gods, and having to rescue the werewolf prince; yet, after a deal with the God of Werewolves will Trent be able to save himself too?


MY REVIEW

After reading Vampyre Kisses (The Last Witch #1) I couldn't wait to read the second book in this series..This book did not disappoint at all. It is just as good, action packed and  like the other book I was hooked. It got me staying up later than expected  because this is one I could not put down and as soon as I was done I really couldn't wait to read the next book in this series.  If you are into vampires,werewolves and witches this is a great series for you.

Here is a link to Elizabeth's website. And here is the link to where you can purchase Werewolf Descent (The Last Witch #2)


I give this 5 out of 5

When We Were Young by Jason Jepson (book review)

When We Were Young is an intense, and often humorous fictional narrative following the life of Jonah, a young man from a small town in Virginia, who experiences his first taste of freedom in the real world. Told in a first-person narrative, the reader is allowed access to all of Jonah’s thoughts and feelings.
The work begins with Jonah in high school, shortly after the Columbine massacre. Because of the way he looks—shaved head, nontraditional-type clothing—Jonah is worried about being labeled as a troublemaker and being suspended from school. After the massacre, Jonah somehow feels more comfortable because, in this tense environment, everyone is suddenly being listened to, even those who look or act differently.
Although the book opens when the main character is in his last year of high school, he is just beginning to “find” himself. Similar to Kerouac’s On The Road, the reader follows the character through high school graduation, a trip to New York City, the summer between high school and college, and into the first semester of college and beyond. Jonah, and the reader as well, experience love and loss, long drunken nights, success and failure. When Jonah’s friends move on—to college, marriage, kids, etc.—the reader wonders if Jonah ever will.
When We Were Young effectively captures the emotions of a character who feels stifled by his surroundings in a small, conservative, southern town. When We Were Young takes the reader on a journey unique to Jonah, but a rite experienced by all generations.


MY REVIEW
I think this book is well written  and is a super easy and quick read. Now this is not what I would usually read and unfortunately this book was not my cup of tea. I mean I am sure some of you may like it but I just had a hard time to stay into it..Don't get me wrong it was good but not for me. If you want to know more about this book or want to purchase you can do so at Jason Jepson's website.

I give this 3 out of 5


* I was given a  ebook copy of this book  for free for my honest review.

blue sky scrubs

Are you looking for good discount scrub sets? Well I have a online store for you. They are called Blue Sky Scrubs and  these scrubs will definitely make you feel and look good.

They have a variety of styles and colors  and you will find that their prices are very good so you do not have to break the bank when purchasing these. Well do not just take my word for it, check out their site http://www.blueskyscrubs.com/ .   If you are looking for nice affordable scrubs then this is worth to check out.

Tuesday, August 2, 2011

Tropical Traditions Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil review & giveaway

I must admit I have never heard of coconut oil before.  Not a huge shocker since I just recently started enjoying cooking and baking. I received a 32 oz. jar of the Tropical Traditions Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil and I was thinking to myself  "what am I going to do with such a huge jar of stuff I never even heard of" .Well I didn't have to worry because it their site they have a lot of recipes.

This is how the jar looks like


 Anyways I made myself some Chocolate mug cake and instead of using the usual extra virgin olive oil I used the Tropical Traditions Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil.  I love chocolate mug cake but boy oh boy was it so very yummy.

Here is the recipe I used.

Chocolate Mug Cake

a microwavable mug
4 tablespoons flour
4 tablespoons sugar
2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa
1 Egg
3 Tablespoons milk
3 Tablespoons oil (I used coconut oil)
a drop or 2 of Vanilla

  • Mix flour, sugar and cocoa:
  • Spoon in 1 egg
  • Pour in milk and oil, and mix well
  • Put in microwave for 3 minutes on maximum power
  • Wait until it stops rising and sets in the mug
I wish I had a photo but I didn't have batteries for the camera.

I  made pasta with this as well...Well I had left over plain penne and I just put it in the frying pan with some of this coconut oil, dry parsley, organic garlic and at just the last minute some shredded cheese. Not very healthy and kinda plain but I loved it .

I am thinking maybe tomorrow night I will make it with rice.  

I really am liking this. It is making me want to experiment with recipes .

THE GIVEAWAY

One of my wonderful readers is going to receive a 32oz. jar of Tropical Traditions Organic Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil.

 
 Mandatory Entry:
You must follow via Google Friend Connect  (don't forget to let me know that you are following me) 

1 each Extra Entries (please comment on my blog to let me know you have done these)
“Like” Tropical Traditions on Facebook
Follow Tropical Traditions on Twitter  
Follow GeekyGirlReview on twitter
RT  Enter to win Tropical Traditions Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil   @GeekyGirlReview http://tinyurl.com/4y49yld  #giveaway
 
Giveaway open to US and Canada.
Ends  August 14th 2011 at midnight (eastern standard time)
 
Disclaimer: Tropical Traditions provided me with a free sample of this product to review, and I was under no obligation to review it if I so chose.  Nor was I under any obligation to write a positive review or sponsor a product giveaway in return for the free product.

Monday, August 1, 2011

Vampyre Kisses (The Last Witch #1) by Elizabeth J. Kolodziej



Vampyre Kisses is an enthralling story about a young woman named Faith, who seems content with her life, but deep down craves more excitement. Then a mysterious man named Trent enters her world and everything changes. Surprising to Faith, Trent is a green-eyed vampire from Ireland. She is even more amazed to find out that she is a witch, and the last of her kind.

Faith learns that she is destined to restore her witch line and becomes more powerful as she gains confidence and knowledge, but danger lurks everywhere -- especially when unknown assailants steal the most important gems from the vampire master and werewolf royalty.

Now surrounded by a world filled with mystifying vampires and werewolves, can Faith gain enough power to help her friends and rescue the stolen gems? 



MY REVIEW

I very much enjoyed this book. Very well writen and a little different from most vampire books you will find. I mean you don't often read about a witch and a vampire together. I read this over the weekend and it is one I couldn't put down. This is now one of my favourites and I can not wait to start reading Werewolf Descent (The Last Witch, #2)

Here is a link to Elizabeth's website. And here is the link to where you can purchase Vampyre Kisses

I give this 5 out of 5 


* I was given this book for free for my honest review.*