Friday, June 29, 2012

Embattled by Darlene Jones ebook review


With blood on her hands, strange words coming out of her mouth, and her face all over the media, Em knows that she did stop the jungle battle, storm into the armed courtroom, face and defeat the zealot soldiers. But, “working” for the powers controlling her, she is haunted with not knowing about or being connected to her own life. And, at some point she will have to decide which of her two lives are her true destiny.

Yves, her controller has his own set of problems as a rookie learning to be a Power, trying to communicate with Em, facing her doubts and questions as well as his own, and struggling to control the onslaught of emotions that arise from his association with humans. He risks losing his chance for advancement, his chance to free his people, even his life, by falling in love with Em.


MY REVIEW

 I have to say I found this book a little confusing at first  because this book switches the point of view but mind you I have been known to be confused easily LOL. Other than that I very much enjoyed this book and it kept me reading until the very end. I highly recommend this book to all who likes fantasy/scifi and romance. 


If you want to purchase this, it is available Kindle version and paperback at amazon.com and also available in other eBook formats at smashwords.com

I give this 4 out of 5

*I have received a free copy of this in ebook format for my honest review.*

Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment's Own The Moments Mobile App review and Fantastic Mr. Fox, The / Robots Double Feature DVD giveaway

Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment has released a new app for movie lovers, Own The Moments, available today on iPhone and Android. The mobile app allows fans to get a daily movie moment featuring trivia and a clip or photo from one of Fox’s most notable films from the classics to today’s biggest new releases. Fans can then share, like and comment on the movie moment with their friends. 






Download the app now to see what today’s moment is !

Some of the featured clips presented in the app are intended for a mature audience of 17 and over.

Official site:





On Facebook:


I was playing around on this app on my phone last night after I was asked to post my opinion of it and do the giveaway.  I don't usually use apps like this on my smart phone but I figured what do I have to lose?
Anyways I really enjoyed this app. With this app you get daily movie moment featuring trivia and a clip or photo so if you are a movie buff like me you will enjoy this app.

The Giveaway



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, June 28, 2012

The Amazing Chan and the Chan Clan on DVD review


Chinese-American supersleuth Charlie Chan made his cartoon transition with his customary grace, only this time he brought along the clan. Maintaining Hanna-Barbera's winning formula (kids, mysteries, canine, van), the hit kid show also introduced some innovations (the van transforms, a double-sized team, HOWdunnits not whodunits).

Most significant among these is the casting of the amazing Keye Luke (Kato, Master Po) as the voice of Charlie Chan. Not only was this the first time that an Asian-American would play Charlie Chan, it marked an apropos "graduation" for Mr. Luke, the original "Number One Son" Lee Chan of the classic Warner Oland Chan mysteries. Among those joining Mr. Luke on voice duties are Jodie Foster (Anne Chan), Lennie Weinrib (Stanley Chan) and Don Messick (Chu-Chu) in this complete 16-episode, two-disc collection. The Amazing Chan and the Chan Clan –  "e pluribus unum" and how!

Available Now on DVD




MY REVIEW

I have been loving doing reviews for these classic cartoons and I have liked all of the except for this one. This cartoon  just didn't keep my attention. It was like all other old cartoon it was cheesy but I just thought this one was boring. That is just my thought  and you might like this one.

*The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation*

Challenging Andie by Sally Clements ebook review


Jaded war correspondent Ryan Armstrong reports terrible events without letting them pierce the armor covering his heart. When his colleague Emily Harte is murdered, he feels responsible for her death, and travels to England to return Emily’s effects to her daughter.
Bereaved, primary school teacher, Andie Harte has set herself a list of challenges to prove she can be as brave as her recently murdered mother, but when she’s hounded by the press the need to escape means she must accept help from Ryan. During their time in seclusion, attraction blossoms into an affair. Their relationship was only supposed to be a fling. When the time comes for Ryan to return to Bekostan, can she risk loving a thrillseeker, or is that a challenge too far?
Ryan avoids love, knowing the pain losing it can bring. A life without Andie is sensible, but is it possible?


MY REVIEW

I stayed up late reading Challenging Andie last night but I don't mind because I very much needed a distraction and this book certainly helped. This is one that kept me reading until the very end and I absolutely loved Ryan and Andie.

Just like any other chick lit this was predictable but I don't mind because I loved this book and Sally Clements is one of my favourite chick lit author. Very well writen and I could easily imagine the storyline and characters.

I highly recommend this if you like chick lit.


You can purchase this on Amazon.com

I give this 4 out of 5

*I have received a free copy of this in ebook format for my honest review.*

Wednesday, June 20, 2012

Mirror Mirror Blu-ray Giveaway







With Magical Extras and Special Features,
Enjoy the Classic Tale Retold on Blu-ray and DVD June 26

Directed by visionary filmmaker Tarsem Singh (Immortals), MIRROR MIRROR is a visually-spectacular, fresh and funny retelling of the classic Snow White legend. This family comedy features a star-studded cast including Academy Award®-winner Julia Roberts as the evil Queen, breakout star Lily Collins (The Blind Side) as Snow White, Armie Hammer (The Social Network) as the Prince, and Golden Globe® nominee Nathan Lane as the hapless bungling servant to the Queen. The film also stars Sean Bean (Game of Thrones) as the King and Mare Winningham (Brothers) as Baker Margaret and showcases the stunning costumes from Academy Award®-winning designer Eiko Ishioka (Dracula).

The Blu-ray includes sparkling extras including a behind-the-scenes featurette, a toe-tapping dance-along to the reworked Nina Hart song “I Believe in Love” performed by the film’s Collins that plays over the end credits, interactive digital storybook, deleted scenes and much more.


Alan Menken: From Mouse to Mirror


Debuting on Blu-ray and DVD June 26

The whimsical musical score in Mirror Mirror was composed by acclaimed songwriter Alan Menken, who is no stranger to fairytale tunes. Most well known for his pivotal role in the songwriting for Disney’s animated films like The Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast and most recently Tangled, we’ll take a look back at his career and his work on Mirror Mirror.

One of the world’s most beloved fairy tales takes a hilarious turn in this fresh, exciting film starring Oscar® Winner Julia Roberts. After she spends all her money, an evil enchantress queen (Roberts) schemes to marry a handsome, wealthy prince (The Social Network’s Armie Hammer). There’s just one problem – he’s in love with a beautiful princess, Snow White (Lily Collins, The Blind Side). So, the sinister queen banishes Snow White from her own kingdom! Now, joined by seven rebellious dwarves, Snow White launches an epic battle of good vs. snarky in this funny, magical movie that the whole family will love.

Little Shop of Horrors



In 1986, Alan Menken ventured onto the big screen with Little Shop of Horrors after finding success with the musical Off Broadway, where he earned a Drama Desk Award nomination. The story revolves around a nerdist florist who believes his man-eating plant will gain him happiness. Once the film starring Rick Moranis and Steve Martin found its rabid fan base, the musical enjoyed a run on Broadway with songs “Skid Row (Downtown),” “Da-Doo” and “Feed Me (Get It).” "Mean Green Mother from Outer Space" was nominated for an Academy Award.



The Little Mermaid

Menken’s first foray into animation changed it forever with Disney’s 1989 musical tale of a mermaid longing to be human. The original Hans Christian Anderson novel had to be changed quite a lot to appeal to the younger crowd, and Menken and Howard Ashman’s lively tunes helped the transition from dark story to an enchanting experience with “Part of Your World,” “Under the Sea” and “Kiss the Girl.” “Under the Sea” won the Academy Award for Best Song, and Menken and Ashman’s score was also awarded that year.

Beauty and the Beast

Capitalizing on the magic made in their previous outing, both Menken and Ashman continued their Disney legacy with 1991’s Beauty and the Beast, which focuses on Belle, a young villager who reads instead of fawning over handsome hunters until she is thrown into a mysterious castle led by the Beast. Somehow, the critical acclaim surpassed all odds when the film was the first animated work to be nominated for Best Picture. Three of its songs were nominated for Best Song Oscars: “Be Our Guest,” “Belle” and the ultimate winner, “Beauty and the Beast.” Memken’s score was also awarded once again.

Newsies

Getting back to live action, Menken alongside lyricist Jack Feldman, worked on the film that brought audiences young a Christian Bale as Jack Kelly, a New York City newsboy rebelling against the big businesses exploiting him and his friends. Directed by Kenny Ortega, songs include “Santa Fe,” “King of New York” and “Once and for All.”

Tangled

After a long break from the silver screen and Disney, Menken rejoined the studio’s computer animated princess tale Tangled, writing numbers for voice stars Mandy Moore and Zachary Levi to perform. Tangled updates the classic fairytale of long-haired girl Rapunzel with songs like the Oscar-nominated “I See the Light” and “Mother Knows Best.”


Mirror Mirror

Now, for the first time ever, Snow White is Menken’s muse as he composed music and a score for the new family flick. At the end of the fantasy movie, Lily Collins bursts into song as the joyful princess with “I Believe in Love,” written by Nina Hart, Sam Hollander and director Tarsem Singh.






THE GIVEAWAY








a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday, June 17, 2012

Ship to Shore by Elizabeth Krall eBook review



Storms at sea and heartbreak on land. Betrayal and frustration. A forbidden journal. Oh, and bagpipes.

This ‘ship to shore’ love story follows Sally and Dermid, who meet on a tall ship sailing across the Atlantic. Sally is drawn to Dermid, despite what she considers to be his unfortunate passion for bagpipes, but their brief romance ends badly. Very badly.

They are given a second chance when Sally accepts a job assignment on a remote Scottish island. The fact that Dermid is on a nearby island has nothing to do with it. Or so she says.

But when Sally’s assignment is over, will she leave? Or will she find the courage to build a life with Dermid?

And could she ever learn to love the bagpipes?

Set against the tempestuous North Atlantic and the windswept beauty of the Hebrides, this is a wryly humorous story of two people who must learn to trust their feelings, and to trust each other.


MY REVIEW

I absolutely love this book. Very well written and you can very much imagine the entire story and Sally and Dermid. I was only going to read a few pages and read more in the morning but I couldn't put this book down and ended up going to bed later than I had planned but that is ok since I didn't have anything important to do the next day. I recommend this book.

I give this 5 out of 5

You can purchase this book at amazon.com and smashwords.

*I have received a free copy of this in ebook format for my honest review.*

The Taken (Celestial Blues #1) by Vicki Pettersson book review


He’s a fallen angel. She’s a rockabilly reporter. Together they must solve a deadly string of murders plaguing the mortal and the immortal worlds.

Griffin Shaw used to be a PI, but that was over fifty years ago when gumshoes hoofed the streets . . . and he was still alive. Now he’s a Centurion, an angel who assists other murdered souls through their journey to the afterlife. But while Shaw might be an angel … he’s no saint. Haunted by the mysterious events surrounding his own death, he seizes a chance to wreak some vengeance when he witnesses a deadly attack on journalist Katherine “Kit” Craig.

Joining forces, the unlikely avengers take to the streets, hunting a killer whose trail of bodies stretches across Las Vegas and into an immortal netherworld. It is a dangerous trek that lead them into the darkest corners of Sin City and into the heart of an evil conspiracy extending beyond the lights of the Strip that could destory them both.

But destruction isn’t the only threat Griffin faces. The closer he gets to Kit, the more he finds himself bewitched by her mortal charms. Can he resist falling under her spell? And does he want to?


MY REVIEW

This is the first book by Vicki Pettersson that I have read. I thought it was a little slow but other than that it is good and it kept me reading until the very end. Other than it being a little slow I thought this is very well written and I could very much imagine the characters and what is going on in the storyline. I look forward to read the next book in this series.

I recommend this to it to all Urban Fantasy and Mystery lovers.



You can purchase this book at major bookstores and online right now.

I give this 4 out of 5

*The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation*

Saturday, June 16, 2012

Taste of Home: Cooking School Cookbook: 400 + Simple to Spectacular Recipes cookbook review



Learn to cook with confidence with The Taste of Home Cooking School Cookbook based on the popular Taste of Home Cooking Schools attended by millions.
The Taste of Home Cooking School Cookbook, "is just like having a Cooking School instructor in your very own kitchen," says Catherine Cassidy, Editor in Chief, Taste of Home. "This essential cookbook captures the highlights of our cooking school lessons and presents them in a way that allows people of all skill levels in the kitchen, to create memorable holiday meal moments in their own homes with family, friends and neighbors."
Learn fresh techniques, tips, secrets and entertaining ideas straight from the Taste of Home Cooking School team. Each chapter builds from simple, beloved classics to spectacular dishes handed down by families from generation to generation that are sure to impress family and friends. Better yet, all of these recipes can be created with affordable ingredients available at your local grocery store. As you move from one recipe to the next, you will enhance your cooking skills and discover new favorites.
Highlights Include:
  • Low-effort "Cheat It" recipes with big rewards like the refreshing Lemonade Icebox Pie, the 10-minute Zesty Salsa and Chocolate Cooking Cupcakes
  • More than 400 simple to spectacular recipes including mouthwatering Gnocchi in Sage Butter, snappy Sweet & Tangy Wings, and Fresh Cherry Pie
  • 140 how-to's, secrets and tips shared by Taste of HomeCooking School experts from how to shape drop cookies to the best techniques for shredding meat for sandwiches and grilling salmon fillets
  • Exciting twists on all-time favorites like burgers, pizza, Chinese takeout and more.

MY REVIEW

I absolutely love this cookbook. I am usually very picky when it comes to cookbooks and I admit I am not the greatest cook but this book is very helpful even if you are a beginner. This book has so much good information and ofcourse I love that there are photos of each recipes .  If you are looking for a great cookbook with a lot of yummy recipes that aren't difficult to make , I think this is a great book for you. 

I give this 5 out of 5

This cookbook is available in most major book stores

*The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation*

Wednesday, June 13, 2012

The Helpers: An International Tale of Espionage and Corruption by Suzanna E. Nelson eBook review




American journalist, Jenny Osborne, has just received her first big assignment abroad to report on the war situation between the government and rebels in Congo, but soon after their arrival, she and her photojournalist, John Spencer discover that things are not as they seem.

When Kai, a local schoolgirl, decides to end the psychological and sexual abuse that she and her mother have endured at the hands of Gaston, she seeks out Jenny for help. Kai gives Jenny damaging information that could bring down "The Helpers" - a very powerful underground organization whose members include international businessmen and high priests. Their main aim is to maintain a stronghold on the natural resources of Congo and they will stop at nothing to prevent Jenny from exposing them.

Jenny finds herself on the run, caught in a web of intrigue, espionage, assassinations and corruption spanning from Congo to Europe, and as far reaching as the United States. Her only hope is Lance Lemmand, a veteran French Intelligence Officer in Congo, and his handsome sidekick Pierre-Jean Philippe. But will they find her before it is too late? Or will "The Helpers" silence them once and for all. Find out in the startling conclusion of: The Helpers.


                              MY REVIEW

I am so glad I read this book. It is the second book by Suzanna E. Nelson that I have read and I think I may have found a new author to put on my list of favorites.

I got sucked into the story and didn't want to put it down. I hope there will be a  sequel . This fast-paced book is full of suspense and is very well written. I highly recommend this. 

If you want to purchase this book you can purchase Kindle Edition and paperback at amazon.com and Barnes & Noble

I give this 5 out of 5

*I have received a free copy of this in ebook format for my honest review.*

Tuesday, June 12, 2012

The Serpent's Kiss (The Beauchamp Family #2) by Melissa de la Cruz book review


Joanna and her daughters, bookish Ingrid and wild-child Freya, are just settling into the newfound peace that has been cast over their small, off-the map town of North Hampton. With the centuries-old restriction against practicing magic lifted, casting spells, mixing potions, and curing troubled souls has never felt so good for the three witches. That is, until everything gets turned upside down—from Joanna’s organized kitchen to Ingrid’s previously nonexistent love life to Freya’s once unshakeable faith in her sexy soul mate, Killian Gardiner.

When Freya’s twin brother, Freddie, suddenly returns, escaped from Limbo and professing innocence on a long-ago crime, Freya should be ecstatic. The golden boy can do no wrong. Or can he? Freddie blames no other than her fiancĂ© Killian for his downfall, and enlists Freya’s help to prove it. Now Freya doesn’t know who to believe or trust.

And for the first time in—well, forever, really—Ingrid is also busy in love. Matt Noble, the handsome and charming police detective, has won her heart. But can romance work between a virgin witch and a mortal who doesn’t believe in magic? Things get even more complicated when it appears Ingrid is harboring the prime suspects in Matt’s police investigation.

To add to the chaos, a dead spirit is attempting to make contact with Joanna—but does it mean to bring harm or help? Joanna asks her sort-of ex-husband Norman to help figure it out, only to accidentally invite him to a Thanksgiving dinner with a dapper gentleman she’s recently begun dating.

As the witches pull together to discover the serpent within their midst and the culprit behind Freddie’s imprisonment, everything is thrown into peril. Will the discovery come too late to save those they love most?

                                           MY REVIEW

I have read and reviewed Witches of East End last year and  I had very much enjoyed that I couldn't wait to read Serpent's Kiss when it came out so when I was asked if I wanted to review this book I jumped to the chance.

For this book what I like is that Melissa de la Cruz does a recap of the previous book at the beginning of the book so if you have not read the first book in a while it will refresh your memory as to what happened. I read this book the weekend and I admit just like the previous book I was hooked from the very beginning of the book and I didn't want to put it down. I think this book is very well done and you can very well imagine the characters and what is going on throughout the book. I now can't wait for the next book in this series to come out. I highly recommend this book.

This book is now available at all major bookstores

I give this 5 out of 5

*The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation*

Monday, June 11, 2012

Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows movie review



Around the globe, headlines break the news: a scandal takes down an Indian cotton tycoon; a Chinese opium trader dies of an apparent overdose; bombings in Strasbourg and Vienna; the death of an American steel magnate... no one sees the connective thread between these seemingly random events—no one, that is, except the great Sherlock Holmes, who has discerned a deliberate web of death and destruction. At its center sits a singularly sinister spider: Moriarty.

Holmes’ investigation into Moriarty’s plot becomes more dangerous as it leads him and Watson out of London to France, Germany and finally Switzerland. But the cunning Moriarty is always one step ahead, and moving perilously close to completing his ominous plan. If he succeeds, it will not only bring him immense wealth and power but alter the course of history.

Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows Own it on Blu-ray™ Combo Pack or Digital Download 6.12.12
Be sure to check out the free Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows movie app for iPad2 or Kindle Fire. The app synchs with the Blu-ray disc to  start exploring the rich and exciting history of Sherlock Holmes. http://bit.ly/JlZkvR

Own it on DVD, Blu-ray™ Combo Pack or Digital Download June 12th 2012


MY REVIEW

My husband and I saw Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows in theater and we were going to buy it on Blu-ray anyways because we loved it so much so when I jumped on the chance to review this when I was asked.

We watched this on Saturday night and we just loved it as much as we did the first time we saw it in theaters. This movie is one of the best movies I have had the chance to review. I love the action and all the actors were awesome and ofcourse I love the storyline. If you liked the first one I think you will like this one as well. I know I will be watching this movie again and again in th future. My husband and I highly recommend this movie.


*The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation*

Saturday, June 9, 2012

Slimmer: The New Mediterranean Way to Lose Weight by Harry Papas book review



In just one year, Harry Papas gained 110 pounds. Then he lost it all for life. Papas, a certified nutritionist in Greece, shed the pounds by creating a simple yet revolutionary nutrition plan: a delicious, low-fat Mediterranean diet coupled with the thought processes he needed to combat the triggers that contributed to his weight gain.
Unlike other diets, Slimmer's three-cycle, richly varied meal plan doesn't restrict you from enjoying all carbs, sugars, or fats, and it doesn't enforce calorie counting. Rather, the nine-week program is designed to help you stay slim while actually enjoying what you eat, encouraging you to adopt lifelong healthy habits and a simpler lifestyle. This easy-to-follow, results-driven plan will allow you to get rid of those unwanted pounds with incredibly flavorful and satisfying meals, full of sustaining, wholesome foods - such as fresh fruits and vegetables, olive oil, and yogurt - that have been enjoyed for centuries by those in the Mediterranean. Packed with recipes and practical nutritional advice, Slimmer also helps you understand why you gained weight and provides the psychological support and encouragement you need to successfully lose weight and permanently retain the loss.

Here is a recipe from the book:

Mediterranean Chickpea Salad
By Harry Papas
Author of Slimmer: The New Mediterranean Way to Lost Weight
Full of fresh flavor with a hint of spice, not to mention a good amount of healthy fiber, this salad will satisfy any size appetite, just as it has at Maria and Eleni's Taverna for years!
One 15 oz can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1 scallion, trimmed and thinly sliced
½ small cucumber, seeded and diced
2 Tablespoons diced green bell pepper
1 plum tomato, cored, seeded, and diced
2 teaspoons chopped fresh parsley
1 teaspoon capers, drained and rinsed
A dash of cayenne pepper
Juice of ½ a lemon
2 teaspoons olive oil
1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
Salt and pepper to taste
1 teaspoon prepared mustard
A pinch of dried oregano
1. In a medium bowl toss together the chickpeas, scallion, cucumber, bell pepper, tomato, parsley, capers, cayenne pepper, and lemon juice. Set aside.
2. In a small bowl stir together the remaining ingredients and pour over the chickpea mixture. Toss well to coat and allow to marinate, stirring occasionally, for at least 1 hour before serving.
Makes 1 serving

MY REVIEW

I do not usually review diet  books but this one sounded interesting so I gave it a shot. The recipes in this book are awesome and very yummy and I really like the meal plans. I have tried the recipe above and I absolutely loved it. It is very flavourful and very easy to make. I love this book but I just wish there were photos of at least some of the recipes so that I can see how they look like but other than that this book is fantastic. So far I am just done my first week but I so far do not feel like I am starving like some diets I have tried.  I highly recommend this. 

This book is available now in most major bookstores.

I give this 5 out of 5

*The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation*

Thursday, June 7, 2012

Sealab 2020: The Complete Series review




"This is the year two thousand and twenty. The place is the Challenger Sea Mount, the top of an underwater mountain, a complex beneath the sea. Two hundred and fifty men, women and children live here. Each of them, a scientist pioneer. For this is our last frontier, a hostile environment which may hold the key to tomorrow. Each day, these oceanauts meet new challenges as they build their city beneath the sea. This is Sealab 2020."

With these words setting the stage, and some funky bass riffs setting the tone, Saturday morning TV took the 70s underwater Sci Fi adventure plunge. Ably overseen by Hanna-Barbera's ace action animators and voiced by a superb cast (including John Stephenson, Ross Martin, Jerry Dexter and Ann Jillian), the oceanauts of Sealab face seaquakes, sharks and falling satellites while finding the time to serve up lessons on environmentalism, tolerance, and teamwork across this 2-Disc, 13-Episode Collection.

Available Now On DVD









MY REVIEW

I don't remember this cartoon.. I know I had heard of Sealab 2020 before but after watching the entire series yesterday I do not think I had ever seen it before. Anyways I wasn't feeling all that great yesterday so I decided to watch it all and I admit just like any old cartoons this one was a little cheesy but I very much enjoyed it. I have watched a bunch of these Hanna-Barbera Classic Collections classic cartoons and I admit this is one of the best one I have seen so far. This a great cartoon for everyone of all ages.


*The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation*

PHINEAS AND FERB: THE PERRY FILES DVD with Digital Copy and Perry Activity Pack review



While Phineas and Ferb do it all to make every day the best day ever, evil lurks just around the corner! But there is hope for the unsuspecting citizens of Danville. Now, for the very first time, crack open the top-secret archives of O.W.C.A. (Organization Without a Cool Acronym) to expose... THE PERRY FILES!
Join Perry the Platypus–a.k.a. Agent P.–on his most exciting adventures as he thwarts his nemesis, Dr. Doofenshmirtz, at every turn. With groovy gadgets, mad skills and his trademark brown fedora, this semi-aquatic, egg-layin’ mammal of action is unstoppable! Experience the hilarious havoc as he defends the Tristate Area against Doof’s “inators,” battles rogue agent “Dennis the Bunny,” and much more. When it comes to secret agents, Perry’s not only the real deal, he’s real teal!

BONUS FEATURES: 

· Nerves of Teal: Do you have nerves of teal? Then OWCA (Organization Without a Cool Acronym) wants you! See if you have what it takes to become like Agent P in this spy recruiting video.
· Platypus Tour: Take a look inside the Platybus, the traveling Phineas and Ferb exhibit that toured North America.
 

 MY REVIEW

This DVD is  full of fun episodes that even parents can enjoy with their children. I find some children cartoons to be fun for children but boring for adults but I thought this one to be very well done and the Bonus features are fantastic as well.   If your child/children love PHINEAS AND FERB I think this is one to get. I highly recommend this.

*The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation*

Nightmare Along the River Nile: Abducted by the LRA by Suzanna E. Nelson eBook review

Elated after finishing high school exams, Edgar and his longtime friends are excited about their future and looking forward to their long vacation. Unbeknownst to them fate has other plans. Edgar's life turns into a living nightmare when, on his way home, his bus is stopped by the LRA rebels in northern Uganda. Along with other passengers, most of whom are students, Edgar is abducted and taken to the rebel headquarters deep in the mountains of southern Sudan. Things turn even worse when, instead of being forced to become a soldier,he is sold into slavery. His life is changed forever.

Edgar's friends learn of his fate and embark on a very difficult and unpredictable rescue mission. With the help of a fellow captive, Edgar attempts a daring and dangerous escape, knowing that his re-capture would end in a fate worse than death. But will he succeed? The dramatic finale awaits you as you follow Edgar while he is being chased down by warlords whose mission is to return him to the slave owners and collect a large reward.

The story gives readers an insight into the pain and suffering that Edgar endures at the hands of his captors; and his unshakable faith and hope of eventually being free. Through Edgar's story, the reader will come to understand the resilience that human beings can exhibit under extreme circumstances, the power of faith and the meaning of true friendship. Looking collectively at the people who are involved in Edgar's captivity and the ones who assist him, we are reminded that people are capable of good or evil, regardless of color or creed.
MY REVIEW
This is not really the kind of book I would usually read but I am very glad I have read this one because I could not put it down. It is very well written and it really gets you thinking about this book and modern day slavery even after you have finished reading it.  If you think slavery is a think from the past then think again because unfortunately it still happens. I highly recommend this book.
 If you want to purchase this book you can do so on amazon.com (paperback or Kindle edition) and Barnes & Noble .

I give this 5 out of 5.

*I have received a free copy of this in ebook format for my honest review.*

Wednesday, June 6, 2012

Act Of Valor Blu-Ray Combo review


A Motion Picture Unlike Any Before Unfolds
On Blu-ray Combo Pack and DVD June 5

The only easy day was yesterday. In the Bandito Brothers’ ACT OF VALOR, an elite military force, portrayed by active-duty U.S. Navy SEALs, carries out an impossible mission with insane courage and incredible teamwork in one of the most gripping and emotionally charged movies of the year. Landing June 5th from Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment, the ACT OF VALOR Blu-ray and DVD is loaded with extras including several deleted scenes, interviews with Navy SEALs, director’s commentary, exclusive featurettes, including a look at the real bullets and tactics used during filming, and much more! ACT OF VALOR was theatrically released by Relativity Media on February 24th and became the No. 1 movie in America in its debut.

An unprecedented blend of real-life heroism and original filmmaking, ACT OF VALOR stars a group of active-duty U.S. Navy SEALs, alongside actors Roselyn Sanchez, Alex Veadov, Jason Cottle and Nester Serrano, in a film like no other in Hollywood’s history. A fictionalized account of real life Navy SEAL operation, ACT OF VALOR features a riveting story that takes audiences on an adrenaline-fueled, edge-of-their-seat journey.

When a mission to recover a kidnapped CIA operative unexpectedly results in the discovery of an imminent, terrifying global threat, an elite team of highly trained Navy SEALs must immediately embark on a heart-stopping secret operation, the outcome of which will determine the fate of us all.

ACT OF VALOR combines stunning combat sequences, up-to-the-minute battlefield technology, and heart-pumping emotion for the ultimate action adventure film–showcasing the skills, training and tenacity of the greatest action heroes of them all: real Navy SEALs.

Produced and directed by former Baja 1000 champion Mike “Mouse” McCoy and former stuntman Scott Waugh, and written by Kurt Johnstad (300), the ACT OF VALOR Blu-ray and DVD arrives June 5th just in time for Father’s Day.

DVD SPECIAL FEATURES:
  • Deleted Scenes 
    • Christmas in the Barracks
    • MREs
    • Shabal in Winter Palace
    • Christo’s House
    • Shabal on Boat
    • Shabal in Kiro
  • Director’s Commentary

BLU-RAY SPECIAL FEATURES:
All of the above DVD special features, plus…
  • Interviews with the Navy SEALs
    • Rorke
    • Dave
    • Mikey
    • Ray
    • Sonny
    • Ajay
    • Weimy
  • Featurettes
    • Making Of
    • Real Bullets
    • Real SEALs Real Tactics
    • Silent Warriors
    • “For You” Music Video by Keith Urban
    • Making of the Music Video
    • Director’s Intro

MY REVIEW


I do not have many  movies like this but I took the chance to watch and review it because I always try to review movies I don't think I would enjoy but also I picked this one for my husband as well because he sometimes like war movies like this.Unfortunately he wasn't home to see this movie with me before I posted my review so I do not have his opinion on this movie right now.
  Anyways, I didn't think I would like this one but after a very few minutes I was really into this movie. It is very well done and the acting is fantastic and of course I loved the action. I loved the  special features are well. I have very few war movies that I like and this one is one of them. I will  be watching this one again soon for sure. If you like action movie you might like this. Even if you are not into war movies I think you will like this because there is a good storyline to it.

*The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation*