Thursday, August 29, 2013

Cognition: An Erica Reed Thriller iPad App review

*The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.*



Phoenix Online Studios is expanding availability of their 4-part episodic adventure Cognition: An Erica Reed Thriller with releases today on the iOS App Store and Mac App Store. The iPad version of Episode 2: The Wise Monkey can now be downloaded from the iOS App Store for $3.99. Meanwhile, Mac versions of the first three episodes are available from the Mac App Store for $7.99 each.
FBI agent Erica Reed has a secret weapon in her hunt for serial killer -- an uncanny ability to "see" flashes of the past. But this sixth sense didn't help three years ago when her brother Scott was murdered. When a new killing spree turns up clues that only Erica can decipher, she struggles to keep her powers in check, unable to shake the most terrifying premonition of all: a vision of herself with a bullet in her head. With a maniac on the loose and people she loves in the crossfire, can Erica stop this madness before the fate she's foreseen comes true?

Each Cognition episode is a self-contained investigation that also advances Erica's story and brings her closer to avenging Scott's murder. With traditional "point and click" gameplay, a stylized graphic novel aesthetic, and a gritty story that grips you and won't let go, this modern adventure is a must-play for fans of mystery games like Gabriel Knight, interactive narratives like Heavy Rain or The Walking Dead: The Game, supernatural serials like TV's Fringe, and CSI-style crime dramas.

Cognition was one of the earliest games to be funded with a successful Kickstarter campaign, having raised over $34k about a year before its October 2012 debut. Since then, episodes have been releasing quarterly, with the grand finale scheduled for September 2013 on PC and Mac. The series will conclude on iPad soon after, and the developers plan to bring it to Android and retail as well. Additionally, the full Cognition series was recently Greenlit thanks to more than 25k votes from fans who wanted Erica Reed's adventure on Steam.



App Store links (iPad version)
Episode 1: The Hangman: https://itunes.apple.com/app/cognition-episode-1/id598738593 (currently on sale for $0.99)
Mac App Store links









MY REVIEW

I have reviewed the PC version of this game a few months ago .  This is like the PC version and I like the game very much . It is challenging but that is a good thing because if the game and the app would be easy it wouldn't be much fun.  

The  acting is not so great but still episode 1 and episode 2 are fun iPad apps that will keep you playing for a few hours.

I give this 4 out of 5.

Wednesday, August 28, 2013

Beatbuddy: Tale of the Guardians PC/Mac game review

*The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.*



Awakened from his slumber, Beatbuddy journeys through lush hand-painted environments on a quest to save his companions and keep music free for everyone while Prince Maestro aims to take control of all music. Beatbuddy interacts with the living breathing environment that pulses to the beat of an original soundtrack, aiding him as he unlocks new paths and solves puzzles.






Key Features:

Experience an action-adventure game in a whole new way, which incorporates music into every aspect of the beautiful world. Players interact with the environment and a variety of creatures to open paths and solve puzzles throughout their journey.

Six beautifully hand painted levels, each broken into five chapters, take the player through the unique locations and vivid color pallets. 

Featuring an exclusively produced soundtrack with original songs composed specifically for the game by known artists including Austin Wintory, Parov Stelar, Sabrepulse and La Rochelle. 

Play as Beatbuddy, an ethereal creature who travels to stop the evil Prince with the aid of Melody, Harmony and Clef who provides comic relief throughout their journey.

Rich environmental puzzles provide the player fun and challenging experiences

“Bubble Buggy” based gameplay sections deliver a unique rhythm based vehicle mechanic where the player moves to the beat of the music. 


MY REVIEW

Beatbuddy: Tale of the Guardians is such a fun game. I have played it a few times so far and I have been hooked on the game since the first time I played it.

This game is cute and fun. Graphics are fantastic and sound quality was pretty good as well.

If you like this kind of game I think you will enjoy this one as much as I am .

I give this 4 out of 5

Tuesday, August 27, 2013

Shrek The Musical On Blu-ray, DVD and Digital HD Oct 15

Hey Shrek fan,

Did you know that is is Shrek The Musical?






 Shrek The Musical  will be out on Blu-ray, DVD and Digital HD Oct 15

Monday, August 26, 2013

Wine Wear review







Wine bottle Wear™ is revolutionizing the way wine is gifted and enjoyed. Simply write a personal greeting on the back of the Wine Wear card, place it over the neck of the bottle and instantly have a unique gift presentation.

- Product is patented and only available through Wine Wear, Inc.
- New, unique and colorful that gets a reaction of “Wow – that’s great”
- Woman-owned business
- Great price – Retail $3.49 each
- All sales of our Live Laugh Love design donated to cancer charity
- Rapidly expanding and sold in stores such as Walgreens 
- Product featured in magazines such as Smart Money, Greetings etc., Gift and Decorative Accessories.




MY Review


I received the above Wine bottle Wear just last week.  I didn't have a wine bottle at home so on the weekend I just had to buy one.

Anyways these are just fantastic and it is such a great idea because you can personalize them .


I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Sunday, August 25, 2013

Review: Before Watchmen: Ozymandias/Crimson Corsair


Before Watchmen: Ozymandias/Crimson Corsair collects six issues of the Before Watchmen: Ozymandias mini-series and the Crimson Corsair backup feature stripped throughout the Before Watchmen line.  Both are written by Len Wein (co-creator of Marvel's Wolverine) with art on Ozymandius by Jae Lee (Fantastic Four: 1234) and John Higgins (2000 AD, colourist on Watchmen) on Crimson Corsair.
Ozymandias is written as an autobiography of Adrian Veidt, the man known as Ozymandias.  It follows him from his childhood as the son of immigrants to his travels in Alexander the Great's footsteps to his making his fortune as an adult and to his superhero career.  He interacts with historical characters from the 1960's and to the other heroes from the Watchmen books.  The books goes into his thoughts on how the world will react to a superhuman like Doctor Manhattan and shows the path that led him to his roll in the original Watchmen series.
The Curse of the Crimson Corsair, originally stripped into two page installments amongst the books in the Before Watchmen line, is a supernatural pirate story, much like the comics that were popular in the Watchmen universe.  The story follows a young Scotsman named Gordan McClachlan, thrown overboard for mutiny.  He is "rescued' by the Crimson Corsair, a cursed pirate sailing a ship of the damned.  In order to save his soul and escape the Corsair's fate, McClachlan must gather three impossible tributes.  But will the quest damn his soul anyways?
Ozymandias is s slow read.  Adrian's journey is mostly him reacting to the world around him and planning to save it.  The main action sequence happens in issue #3, where the Comedian fights Ozymandias to a drawn, foreshadowing events within the pages of Watchmen.  Like all the writers in this series, Wein is beholden to what was set up in the original book.  Jae Lee's art is great for this book, giving the characters a realistic yet classic look.
The Curse of the Crimson Corsair is only loosely connected with the Watchmen mythos, and only in the fact that, in the story's narrative, superhero comics died out and were replaced by pirate  and horror comics.  The story is dark tale that reads like something out of the old horror comics.  John Higgins' art is very moody and sets this story out from the rest.  It is definitely a strange story to have in  the Before Watchmen series, but those familiar with the original comics will understand it's inclusion.
Also included in this collection is a one-shot featuring the origin of Minutemen member Dollar Bill.  With art by Steve Rude, the story follows how an out of work actor became a superhero mascot of a New York bank and proved himself to be a true hero to the rest of his team.
For fans of  Watchmen, whether or not you'd like the book depends on how you feel about DC revisiting these heroes.  The particular book is fine, but the real draw is the Curse of the Corsair story, so it really depends on how much you like violent pirate curse stories.
Before Watchmen: Ozymadias/Crimson Corsair is out now for $29.99USD ($34.99CDN) .  IT IS SUGGESTED FOR MATURE READERS.

EPIC Blu-ray Combo Pack review


*The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.*


From the creators of Ice Age, the year’s funniest, most exhilarating animated adventure comes home as EPIC debuts on Blu-ray Combo Pack, Deluxe Edition Blu-ray, and DVD this August 20 from Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment. Directed by Chris Wedge (The Ice Age Franchise) and featuring an amazing voice cast including Colin Farrell, Amanda Seyfried, Christoph Waltz, Jason Sudeikis, Steven Tyler, Pitbull, and BeyoncĂ©, the blockbuster film comes home just in time to help families become one with nature and end the summer in Epic style.

Transported to a magical world, a teenager (Amanda Seyfried) is recruited by a nature spirit, Queen Tara (BeyoncĂ© Knowles), to help the “Leafmen” save their existence – and ours – from evil warriors. The whole family will love this fast-paced thrill-ride, with its astonishing animation and all-star voice cast that includes Colin Farrell, Oscar® Winner Christoph Waltz, and Steven Tyler!

Every Blu-ray and DVD comes with the Epic Coloring and Storybook Builder app. The app will allow kids to create their own Epic story and share it with family and friends.

The EPIC Blu-ray combo-pack includes Blu-ray, DVD and DigitalHD and comes complete with exclusives that will have kids both engaged and learning about the environment, just before heading back to school. With special features including an overview of what life as a person two inches tall would be like, to discovering all of the different bugs from the film, EPIC is the perfect gift for families to enjoy from summer to the holidays! 








MY REVIEW

I watched Epic the other day and I have to say I love this movie.  Graphics,sound,story and voice acting were great! My only complaint is that the movie ended way too quickly.  I really hope there is a sequel to Epic and I know I will be buying it if there is.

This movie is great for the whole family so even if you do not have children but love animated movies like this one you would most likely like Epic as much as I do. 

I highly recommend this.  


Friday, August 23, 2013

tmart.com Women Shoulder Bag review



*The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.*





I have recently had the chance to review this bag from Tmart Women Shoulder Bags.




First I have to say I absolutely love this bag. It isn't as big as all my other bags but that is ok because it is prefect for the very few times I dress up and go out for dinner. My wallet, keys, cell phone and a few other small products that we ladies need to use often when we go out. I really like that this bag looks elegant  and stylish. Compared to other bags I had to review in the past this one is durable.


I didn't have anywhere fancy to go to so I just used it last weekend when we went grocery shopping and I was stopped once because someone really liked my bag and wanted to know where I got it.  


I really like the back pocket because my smartphone fits in it so it is easy access for me to grab my phone quickly.  



It almost fits in perfectly.


I like that it has a claps to close it the bag and it also have a zipper so nothing will fall out. 





Like I said this bag is smaller than what I am used and I wouldn't use it as my regular bag because I do carry a lot of stuff with me but this is great to have to those times I go out all dressed up.

What I like about www.tmart.com is that they have many awesome products for very good prices and they have worldwide free shipping. There is something for everyone. 

I think I might go to that site to buy some things that I need to get and I might buy some Holiday & Seasonal products .  Thanksgiving is less than 2 months away here in Canada and I have found a few products I would like to have.

Thursday, August 22, 2013

Purex plus Oxi review


*The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.*




Purex is the brand we most often buy. Why? Because it is cheaper than other brands and I actually like the scents that they have.

Since it is just my husband and I we do not stain clothes much. Pretty much only time we have stains on clothing is when we are wearing white shirts and of course every single time we just have to be eating something that will stain our white shirts so we do not wear white often .

I washed an old comforter that had a orange stain on it. Azrael (our dog) had a BBQ flavoured bone and had brought it on the bed one night and ended up with a stain from it. I had washed it a few times with our regular laundry detergent but the stain was still there so I decided to wash it with Purex plus Oxi.  First I rubbed some of this detergent into the stain then I let it stand for 10 minutes (the bottle said 5 minutes but I had completely forgotten about it). Then I  put the comforter in the washer and added a bit more Purex plus Oxi into the wash.   I am happy to say that the stain is all gone so now I can use this comforter again which is great because we have had this one for a very long time and it is so warm.

I am so happy with this Purex product because it does work, the smell is great for my sensitive nose and I love the price.  


You could win . From August 19 - September 19, Purex will be providing one lucky winner with $500! All you need to do is enter at PurexLaundry 

Wednesday, August 21, 2013

Cuban Sun (Sofia Koury, #1) by Ann Bauer, Bryn Bauer eBook review


*I received a free copy of this ebook for my honest review*



Thirty one year old Law student Sofia Koury thought she found a refuge from memories of her mother's suicide and life with her controlling father. But when her mentor Alexander Quintis proposes her for an internship on his colleague's yacht, events move into dangerous waters. 

At first excited by the prospect of fieldwork, the attacks onboard make Sofia realize that someone she trusts is not as they seem. Caught in the whirlpool of antique cars, surveillance and defense training, Sofia struggles to uncover the deception ahead. 

She must now rely on intuition and lessons from her painful past to complete her assignment and say alive. Sofia faces the challenge of her life navigating a budding relationship, self-discovery and uncertain future all under the sultry Cuban Sun.


MY REVIEW


I truly enjoyed this book.This book has mystery and a bit of romance. I just couldn't put it down. This book is very well writen and I can't wait to read the next book in this seires.


I highly recommend this book.

I give this 5 out of 5

If you want to purchase this you can do so at amazon.com

Scooby-Doo! Stage Fright (Blu-ray + DVD + UltraViolet) review


*The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.*





Join Scooby-Doo, Shaggy and the Mystery Inc. crew as they head to Chicago for a talent show, some museum tours and whole lotta pizza! The windy city is home to the hit TV show, Talent Star, in which songwriting duo Fred and Daphne are finalists with some high hopes. Not to be left out, Scooby and Shaggy have a secret act in the works, which they are betting will take the contest by storm. Unlucky for them, the competition is frightful at this talent contest as the show is being broadcast from an opera house with a history of horrors and a particularly vengeful phantom that has cursed the show's production. From costume changin' chases to collecting creepy clues, the show must go on and with a natural talent like Scooby-Doo on the case, you can be sure that the laughs, thrills and adventure are always first place!


Available now in stores



MY REVIEW

Some of my long time readers may have noticed that I absolutely love Scooby-Doo and I have reviewed a bunch of Scooby-Doo dvds in the past few years.

When I received Scooby-Doo! Stage Fright (Blu-ray + DVD + UltraViolet) I was very very happy and couldn't wait to watch it.

Anyways this movie is fantastic. The graphics are fantastic and voice acting are as well.  This is one to get if you are a Scooby-Doo fan or if you have a family member who loves Scooby-Doo .

I love the features. There are a few of the old original cartoons that I remember watching when I was a child.

I highly recommend this.

I give 5 out of 5


Tuesday, August 20, 2013

Nicholas Sparks’s Novel Learning Series

*The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.*









Each student guide in the Novel Learning Series features the full book’s text interspersed with learning guides. The NLS also addresses the needs of teachers: each title in the series is aligned with the ELA Common Core State Standards and fulfills protocol requirements used by almost every state.

Special features included in the books:
·         Questions and explanations about the text after every few chapters to check comprehension, vocabulary, grammar and usage, style and characterization and literary terms
·         Standard test questions format style throughout to help students prepare for standardized tests with SAT- and ACT-style questions using vocabulary and grammar from the books
·         Step-by-step sample writing prompts and essays and evaluation rubrics to guide students through the elements of an above-average, average and below-average essay – and explain why
·         English Language Arts (ELA) Common Core State Standards alignment


The Novel Learning Series provides students and teachers with seven compelling, dramatic novels packed with additional resources that help with critical thinking and comprehension skills development. Future publishing plans include more titles from Sparks as well as other classic works by a variety of noted authors. The titles in the series are available wherever books are sold.

A WALK TO REMEMBER: 978-1-4555-0856-3; $14.99, PB;
THE NOTEBOOK: 978-1-4555-1559-2; $14.99, PB
THREE WEEKS WITH MY BROTHER: 978-1-4555-1561-5; $14.99, PB
THE LAST SONG: 978-1-4555-1560-8; $14.99, PB
DEAR JOHN: 978-1-4555-2944-5; $14.99, PB
A BEND IN THE ROAD: 978-1455529421; $14.99, PB

FRANKENSTEIN: 978-1455529438; $14.99, PB

MY REVIEW

I recently received A WALK TO REMEMBER,THE NOTEBOOK,THREE WEEKS WITH MY BROTHER,THE LAST SONG and  DEAR JOHN to review.

I have to admit I had never read any of Nicholas Sparks books before. Heck I had never seen any of the movies.

I have read a few of these The Novel Learning Series and I personally am not a big fan of his books but I know a lot of you are. 

Anyways if you have teens or high school students these books are great for them because there are tests with SAT- and ACT-style questions in the book. These books are also good for adults because the questions gets you thinking. 

Monday, August 19, 2013

Stuffitts® glove inserts review





Stuffitts® glove inserts start absorbing moisture and eliminating odor immediately upon contact.   Simply place the inserts inside the gloves after use, and the Stuffitts will go to work drying out the gloves and removing the odor leaving the clean, fresh scent of Eastern Aromatic red cedar.  Our products dry out again naturally, when removed and exposed to dry air.

Features

    -  Micropoly wicking fabric infused with Microban antimicrobial product protection
    -  Treated soil-release fabric finish
    -  Specially- processed Eastern Aromatic red cedar
    -  Convenient nylon strap to keep inserts (and gloves) together
    -  Flat, rectangular shape with channel stitching allows easy insertion into gloves


You can purchase Stuffitts online 


MY REVIEW

If you or a member of your family do a lot of sports that involves gloves you all know that it the gloves are stinky. I suggest you get Stuffitts® glove inserts are pretty good and you don't lose the shape of your gloves while you are drying them either.

I highly recommed the Stuffitts® glove inserts .


I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Do Not Fall PS3 game review

*The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.*



Do Not Fall is a comical action-platform game that puts players in the role of a fearless adventurer named Pipi who lives inside a drink vending machine. Players must explore seven-themed worlds to gather enough materials to make one delicious drink. Players will need to prove their reflex is quick enough to avoid disappearing tiles, obstacles, and traps along the way. Do whatever it takes to avoid being knocked off or dropped from the surface and find their way throughout seven worlds and 70 different levels in order to collect the ingredients. Do Not Fall features six entertaining multiplayer modes for up to four players, with several options to gather friends and start and awesome battle to see who will be the king on the floor.
Do Not Fall is available now on PlayStation®Network for PlayStation®3 Computer Entertainment System for $9.99 and rated “E” for Everyone by the ESRB.









MY REVIEW



I played this game and I have to say it was very challenging for a game that is rated "E". I have to admit that I did find some levels difficult but it was super fun to play. I played this for a few hours on Friday and I admit that it was fun. The graphics in this game are very well done and I think this is a fun game to play with the family.You can play with up to 4 friends of family members. You can purchase this game on PSN

 I give Do Not Fall 4 out of 5

Sunday, August 18, 2013

The White Queen (The Cousins' War #1) by Philippa Gregory (Book review)

*I bought this book and I did not have to review it *




The White Queen tells the story of a woman of extraordinary beauty and ambition who, catching the eye of the newly crowned boy king, marries him in secret and ascends to royalty. While Elizabeth rises to the demands of her exalted position and fights for the success of her family, her two sons become central figures in a mystery that has confounded historians for centuries: the missing princes in the Tower of London whose fate is still unknown. From her uniquely qualified perspective, Philippa Gregory explores this most famous unsolved mystery of English history, informed by impeccable research and framed by her inimitable storytelling skills.

MY REVIEW

I wasn't even going to read this book but I kept hearing good things about it and I had won The White Princess as part of a GoodReads giveaway so I figured I might as well read this one before reading the one that I won.

This is not the kind of book I would usually read. Most books like this (historical ficion) bore me but I absolutely love this book and I couldn't put it down. Actually I ended up going to sleep later than I had planned because I just couldn't stop read this.

A friend of mine shared this ebook with me but I loved this book so much that I bought this book and the ones I am missing in this series in paperback.

Even if you aren't really into Historical fiction you might like this one. I know I am glad I read it and I can't wait for all the books to arrive.


This book is available in bookstores near you.

I give this 5 out of 5.

Wednesday, August 14, 2013

Picture Collage Maker iOS App review

*The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.*

Picture Collage Maker for iOS 1.4.0 is a free app that enables you to create personalized collages quickly and easily on iPhone and iPod Touch.
Features include:
  1. 10+ templates (support blank projects) and many more additional theme packs and art resources.
  2. Add photos from library/Facebook or take photos right in the app.
  3. Powerful editing features.
  4. Share collages anywhere you want.
  5. Save & reopen projects for future editing. 




There are a few free templates in the app but if you want more you can buy some more.


I have a lot of photos on Facebook so I wanted to grab some photos from there to do my little picture collage.  Unfortunately  I just couldn't load my Facebook photos. Not sure  why I couldn't load my photos it could be  because I do have a lot of photos or because my internet is very slow (which it is very slow all the time) and I only have 2 photos on my iPad .



If you are one who likes to take photos with your iPhone, iPod or iPad and making collages with your photos then you might like the PearlMountain Technology's Picture Collage Maker iOS app. It is very easy to use so pretty much everyone can figure it out and it is free but if you want more template and such you can buy them through the app. There is a option where you can share your collate with friends and family on Facebook,Twitter, Instagram, emails and more.

This isn't a app I would use much but I know a few people who would love this app and I highly recommend it.


Tuesday, August 13, 2013

The Forbidden Heart by V.C. Andrews (ebook review)



The Forbidden series continues in this thrilling e-novella, as Emmie must reinvent herself in Paris after her older sister, a high-priced escort, suddenly disappears.Emmie risked everything to track down her long-lost older sister, only to be left behind in Paris after Roxy finds love and escapes from her life as a high-class escort. Now in the care of her uncle, Emmie is wise beyond her years but adrift without her sister. When she meets a charming and seductive young French man, she must remember all of Roxy’s lessons on love and sex to make sure she doesn’t go too far too soon…



MY REVIEW

I used to love V.C. Andrews when I was younger but I haven't read any since about 2005. 

Anyways, this novella was so boring and not well written at all. I am very dissapointed. 

I do not recommend this rubbish.


I give this 1 out of 5



*I received a free copy of this ebook for my honest review*

MY LITTLE PONY – FRIENDSHIP IS MAGIC: A PONY FOR EVERY SEASON COMING TO DVD NOVEMBER 19, 2013



MY LITTLE PONY – FRIENDSHIP IS MAGIC:
A PONY FOR EVERY SEASON
COMING TO DVD NOVEMBER 19, 2013

There’s a Pony for every season and an episode for every Pony in this fantastic collection of My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic. That’s right! Each member of the Mane 6 – Twilight Sparkle, Rarity, Fluttershy, Rainbow Dash, Apple Jack and Pinkie Pie – gets her very own opportunity to shine with six episodes guaranteed to have you laughing and singing as you discover the magic of friendship!

Through Winter, Spring, Summer and Fall, My Little Pony – Friendship Is Magic: A Pony For Every Season is sure to entertain us all!

The My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic series is currently airing on The HUB TV Network.

Bonus Features:
Sing-Along

Also available on DVD from Shout! Factory Kids:
My Little Pony Equestria Girls
My Little Pony: A Very Minty Christmas
My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic - Princess Twilight Sparkle
My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic – Pinkie Pie Party
My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic – Adventures in the Crystal Empire
My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic – Royal Pony Wedding
My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic – Season Two
My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic – Season One
My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic – The Friendship Express
My Little Pony - Twinkle Wish Adventure     

Monday, August 12, 2013

Weight loss

As you probably already read a few months ago I really want to lose weight. I need to lose a lot but really right now I would be happy with just losing 20lbs.

I have battled with my weight for most of my adult life so far . When I was in my early twenties I was at a weight I was happy about at the time. I weighed about 118 lbs and I am 5 feet 3 and I had loads of energy but in 2005 I ended up in the hospital because of my Gaul bladder. Had to have it removed and at the same month I was quitting smoking and right after that I started gaining weight. Not sure if the surgery and quitting smoking had to do with my weight gain after but if not then it is a big coincidence.

As the years went by I started gaining more weight even though I would exercise and I portion controlled my meals .  

It never really bothered me that. Have gained weight about 2 years ago when I started having issues finding clothes that I like that fits me. Also I get tired more easily. I am now 218 lbs!! 


I have not tried any weight loss programs yet but I am currently thinking of joining one but I am not sure yet which one would be good for me. My main issue is because of social phobia I have problems going out because I get bad panic attacks so I can't always just go out to the gym everyday.

I was actually doing good with losing weight on my own last year. I was doing some video game work out games, playing outside with my dog, taking him for walks,I walked 30 minutes to the grocery store every week (instead of taking the bus) and eating a little better. I actually did lose 10 lbs last summer but then with a few things that was going on in my life and my daily schedule changed when my husband came back from deployment  plus eating take out more often I gained the 10 lbs back and a bit more . I know take-out is bad and I am now trying to eat take-out less often and eat healthier.

When I try to lost weight I want weight loss recipes that taste good and that I can make enough of the food for both my husband and I because I don't want to have to make one meal for myself and an other meal for my husbands.

Google Nexus 7 Giveaway (US And Can)


    nexus7
Welcome to the Google Nexus 7 Giveaway
Organized by GoPromoCodes.com
Sponsored by BuyVia.com
BuyVia, a smart shopping mobile app and website, is ramping up for the back to school shopping season! The brand new Google Nexus 7 valued at $229 is the perfect back to school accessory with HD display, a long lasting battery and a front facing camera. This is the newest tablet to hit the market and is thinner, lighter and faster than before. You can get the app in the Apple Store or in Google Play. One lucky winner will win this Google Nexus 7. To enter, just use the Giveaway Tools widget below. This contest is available to all residents of the US, age 18 and over. It will begin now and will end on Sept 2 at 11:50 pm PST. The winner will be picked at random from all of the entries by the Giveaway Tools application. More terms and conditions are included in the giveaway form.

Disclosure: I received no compensation for this publication. My opinions are my own and may differ from those of your own. Geeky Girl Reviews is not responsible for sponsor prize shipment. Please contact the organizer of this giveaway with questions or to have your business or blog featured in the next big giveaway event.

Winds of Salem (The Beauchamp Family #3) by Melissa de la Cruz (book review)



Freya Beauchamp is trapped in 1692, in Salem of all places, with no recollection of her past. A powerful enemy spell has sent her spiraling away so that she is separated by centuries from her mother, Joanna, and sister, Ingrid. This is not good news for a twenty-first-century witch. Not to mention the immediate threat she faces from the wealthy and influential Putnam family. When little Annie Putnam is one of the first to make accusations of witchcraft, her landowner father jumps at the opportunity to consolidate his power and expand his holdings in Puritan Salem Town. If Freya is caught using magic, she will be forced to relive the witch trials, and this time, even her immortality is in question. 

Meanwhile, twenty-first-century North Hampton has its own snares. Joanna and Norm consult the Oracle for advice, and Freddie and his pixie allies search for a missing totem that could reopen the passages of time and help bring his sister home. When Ingrid bumps into an old flame, she finds that her new love for Detective Matt Noble is in doubt.

Moving between past and present, Winds of Salem's dizzying plot twists and page-turning suspense is sure to bewitch fans old and new.




MY REVIEW

I have read and reviewed the first 2 books in this trilogy and I absolutely loved it but this one I thought was as good as the other two. Don't get my wrong I liked it but I found it lacking in certain areas. 
I thin if you are a fan this series or of Melissa de la Cruz I think you should read this book because it is still good.The only reason why it took me longer to read this book is because I had many other reviews to do that needed to be done before this one.


Oh and for those who are fans of this trilogy , it will soon be a tv series on Lifetime!!  I am so excited and I hope that a Canadian tv network picks it up.

If you want to purchase this book it will out in a bookstore near you and online on August 13th .

I give this 3 out of 5. 


                         *I received a free copy of this book for my honest review*