Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Clue: A Movie Mystery Adventure DVD Review

The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.


 Six very different teenagers – Dimitri, Liz, Lucas, Agnes, Seamus and Whitney – are all enjoying their everyday lives when they witness a dramatic incident. Unfairly accused of creating a hoax, they team up to find out the truth.  On July 15th, 2014, Shout! Factory Kids, in collaboration with Hasbro Studios, will unleash the family mystery adventure Clue: A Movie Mystery Adventureon DVD.  Join the young sleuths as they work together discovering and deciphering a succession of clues.

Clue: A Movie Mystery Adventure features the beloved characters inspired by the world’s most famous crime-solving board game, ClueFollow six very different young sleuths as they embark on a mysterious adventure beyond their imaginations. As they work as a team to discover hidden treasures, decipher cryptic knowledge, and uncover a secret society, they learn they have more in common than they thought.

Written by Raven Metzner (ElektraDaybreakSix Degrees) and starring Sterling Beaumon (Lost), Sarah Desjardins (Endangered), Kendall Amyre Ferguson, Ana Golja (Degrassi: The Next Generation), Stephan James (Degrassi: The Next Generation) and Zach Mills (Super 8), Clue: A Movie Mystery Adventure will have you on the edge of your seat until the final exciting reveal!

MY THOUGHTS

I don't think I have even seen any of the other Clue movies and I have never played the board game.
I watched this this yesterday and I really didn't expect to enjoy this since it is more for kids and tweens/teens but I was pleasantly surprised because I actually thought it was pretty good .I wouldn't watch it again in the near future but it did keep my interest but I know if I were younger I would most likely watch this again and again.  I do think tweens/teens would really like it. It is very well written and the story line was pretty good.  

I highly recommend this to tweens.

I give this 3 1/2 out of 5

Live Happy Magazine Review

I am not one to read magazines really but I will read some once in a while but I am really picky when it comes to magazines but I very much enjoyed Live Happy.


I admit I had never heard of this magazine but I decided to give it a chance and boy am I glad I did because this is now one of the few magazines I actually enjoyed and read from cover to cover. 

July/August issue of Live Happy offers content and articles that reveal how our interaction with others is at the core of our overall happiness .




It is a American magazine but Canadians can subscribe and they do have Canadian subscribers. If this is the kind of magazine you usually read I think you will enjoy this one. Heck this isn't what I usually read and I liked it. 

I really liked the summer books suggestions pages that was in this magazine . 






All in all I very much enjoyed reading Live Happy and I am thinking I just might subscribe to it.  If this sounds like a magazine you know you will love go check it out and here is the link to subscribe.
Yearly subscription is 6 issues (1 year)  for $17.95 and 12 issues (2 years) for $29.95. 

I highly recommend 

Friday, July 25, 2014

Americans are Confused by Common Tech Words

Did you know that 17.3% of Americans consider UKIP to be more of a Urinary Tract Infection than a political party? Neither did the ecommerce business www.ligo.co.uk when they carried out a study to examine the average US consumer’s knowledge of telephone-related acronyms.
Daniel Stockhaus, from Ligo, who ordered the research, said that:
“We carried out the study to investigate the current climate of the American telecommunications market.   
We expected to find that further education needed to be carried out by our industry but were surprised by the difference in how well the average American understood some of the more commonly used telephone acronyms in comparison to their European counterparts.”
The study comprised of nearly 3,000 participants over the age of 18. The research involved presenting male and female volunteers with a list of both telephone industry related acronyms and non-related ones too. They were then offered three possible definitions and asked to select the one which best defined the acronym being shown.
Some of the most interesting findings related to the British political party, UKIP. According to 17.3% of the 2,999 people surveyed the party, headed by Nigel Farage, was a type of Urinary Tract Infection. The vast majority (52.5%) stated that UKIP is a British Internet provider and only 30.2% correctly labelled them as a political party.
Other key points included:
  • 15.2% believed that DECT (a digital communications standard) was an area of dense population in Eastern China.
  • 13.1% stated that VOIP (a phone service over the internet) was a virus that commonly affects puppies.
  • Perhaps understandably confusion between ISBN and ISDN meant that 34.7% thought the latter was a unique number used to identify books.
  • Probably most surprising was the fact 8% of the 2,999 participants felt that SMS was a form of internet slang used on Snapchat.
Almost 20% of participants failed to identify SMS was an acronym for Short Messaging Service which is more commonly known as text messaging by mobile phone users.
Mr Stockhaus who works for the company who provide telecommunications products to a number of European markets said that:
 “No matter what your opinions of UKIP are these results are clearly surprising. We (as a company) are totally committed to improving the collective global knowledge of the telephone industry.”
The findings from the study have encouraged Ligo to look into finding more studies in Europe and the US as there is clearly a disconnect between what the industry believes to be common knowledge and what the average Joe in the street understands.
With the rise in demands for all things ‘smart’ this study demonstrates there is a long way to go in the US market’s understanding of the industry. That being said as the world continues to become more open and connected these phrases will become much more popular, as will the adoption of new and advancing technologies.
For now we have to just accept that according to the Glasgow based Ligo - 11.8% of Americans believe SMS is shorthand for Sadomasochism!

Wednesday, July 23, 2014

Cate & Chloe VIP Box Review

The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.


I absolutely love jewelry so I was super excited for the chance to review Cate & Chloe VIP Box.






In the July box I have received :


 Mary "Motherly" Necklace 




This stunning  silver plated necklace with CZ stone necklace is prefect.  It is small but  it is sparkly and I absolutely love it. I know I will wear this often. My photos doesn't do it justice. 

Retail value is $115.00

Olivia "Dignity" Stud Earrings


I love these earrings.  They are large CZ stone studs and  they are sparkly. I only wore them while wearing jean shorts and a black t-shirt but these earrings  but I can't wait to dress up. These would go great with my little black dress.

Retail value is $ $125.00

Is this monthly box worth it?  Yes it is and I am actually thinking of subscribing because I really am impressed with this box that I received to review

 Every box has $200 worth of jewelry (2 new designer pieces of jewelry) every month. There are 4 differently plans. Monthly, 3 months plan, 6 months plan and 1 year plan. Free shipping on every order.

I have good news for you. If you use the code GEEKYGIRLREVIEWS20 you  get a 20% discount for the standard month-to-month sign-up of $39.99/mo option.

Friday, July 18, 2014

The Other Woman on Bluray Giveaway



The Other Woman is coming to DVD and Blu-ray, July 29th!
It’s time to get even! Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment takes girl power to a whole new level with THE OTHER WOMAN, debuting on Blu-ray & DVD July 29. With Cameron Diaz and Leslie Mann as the leading ladies and newcomers Kate Upton and Nicki Minaj bringing the jokes left and right, ladies all over better be ready for the perfect movie to end their summer in style! Cameron Diaz leads a knockout cast in this irreverent comedy about love, lust and the laws of karma. New York attorney Carly Whitten (Diaz) is nobody’s fool. So when she accidentally discovers that her too-good-to-be-true boyfriend Mark (Nikolaj Coster-Waldau) is married, she’s less than thrilled. To prepare you for the film’s release to DVD and Blu-ray, we have compiled a list of the top times when Cameron Diaz has been a boss!

Eight times Cameron Diaz has been a boss...


1. When she and the other angels kicked butt and saved Bosley after he had been kidnapped. 

2. When she refused to put up with BS. Even from her students.

3. When she didn’t remember that she got married in Vegas, and then she hit the jackpot.

4. When she was a princess by day and ogre by night.

5. When three guys loved her, even though this happened...

6. When she was never too old to play dress up.

7. When she was an amazing mom.

8. When she still doesn’t put up with BS.
 
 

THE GIVEAWAY

US AND CANADA ONLY





RIO 2 Bluray/DVD Review

Get ready to shake your tail feathers! Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment takes you deep into the Brazilian Amazon Rainforest for the most fun you’ll have all summer, as RIO 2 debuts on 3D Blu-ray, Blu-ray and DVD July 15. Just in time for summer vacation, this “hilarious family adventure” (Jeff Craig, Sixty Second Preview) will samba its way into your home with exciting bonus features and extras everyone will enjoy. Projected to eclipse more than $490 million worldwide at the box office, the animated hit is the must-own family title of the season.

The cast of the animated hit comedy Rio returns — along with a new flock of all-star voice talent, including Bruno Mars, Kristin Chenoweth, Andy Garcia and more — in this high-flying sequel for the whole family. The party continues when Blu (Oscar® nominee Jesse Eisenberg1), Jewel (Oscar® winner Anne Hathaway2) and their three kids take a walk on the wild side and embark on a colorful, comical, music-filled journey through the Amazon. As Blu tries to fit into his new surroundings, he goes beak-to-beak with the villainous Nigel, and meets the most fearsome adversary of all: his father-in-law!


The RIO 2 Blu-ray™ and DVD brings everything you loved from the first Rio, but with even more laughs, excitement and music! Not only will kids get nearly an hour and a half of bonus features on the RIO 2 Blu-ray™, but they’ll also get their groove on with two downloadable bonus songs from the RIO 2 soundtrack: “I Will Survive” and “Poisonous Love,” both performed by Gabi (Kristin Chenoweth) and Nigel (Jemaine Clement). For even more fun, every Blu-ray™ comes with 15 exclusive levels for Angry Birds Rio™ and Music Machine Sing-Along and Dance-Along songs for a whole family party! There’s also Janelle Monรกe’s “What is Love” lyric video, a deleted scene, character auditions and much more!

MY REVIEW

I have never seen the first one but I kept hearing good things about and I really want to see it so I was excited to review RIO 2.

This movie is amazing!!  It is very colourful and the story line is great that the entire family enjoys. I watched this movie yesterday morning and I have to say I loved every minutes of it and even my dog was watching it for a few minutes.

I highly recommend this movie .

I give this 5 out of 5

You can now purchase RIO 2 online and in stores near you.


Thursday, July 17, 2014

Provacare Soothing Feminine Foaming Wash & Probiotic Vaginal Care Ovules Review




Products Descriptions




Provacare Soothing Feminine Foaming Wash gently cleans, soothes & refreshes while respecting the natural vaginal balance and protects against odour-causing bacteria. Provacare Wash contains moisturizing Witch Hazel Water and natural Aloe to soothe sensitive skin.


All natural Probiotic Vaginal Care Ovules removes the uncertainty of treating vaginal infections. Provacare helps treat and prevent vaginal infections caused by yeast (Candida Albicans) and bacterial vaginosis (BV) and is clinically proven showing no known side effects.

Ladies we all know that once in a while we need products like these and we all know these products like these  aren't cheap.  

I am lucky enough that I don't need to use products liked these much *knock on wood* and I only have one brand to compare it to but I have to say the Provacare Soothing Feminine Foaming Wash and the Probiotic Vaginal Care Ovules worked better and faster than the other brand I have tried before .

Both these products work like a charm and I highly recommend them.  

You can purchase these products at these locations and there is a coupon you can download and print .

 I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Wednesday, July 16, 2014

Instant Rewards iTunes App Review



I am always looking for new ways to make a few extra money for my book addiction and to pay for my domain name so when I was asked to review Instant Rewards iTunes App I just couldn't decline.



With Instant Rewards you earn cash, prizes, gift cards  by watching app trailers, liking a page on Facebook, taking surveys and much more.  






Instant Rewards is a great way to earn a bit of money and find some cool new iPad apps. I think it would take me quite some time to get enough for payout with is $10.00 but that is cool with me because I like finding new (to me) ipad games and apps . 

I downloaded 4 free apps ( The Simpsons Tapped Out, MyVegas slots,Hearthstone:Heroes of Worlcraft and autoTrader.ca) and I watched a few videos and did 1 survey and I got $O.45 and that is just in the first hour from downloading the app . I would have downloaded and tried more but my iPad was full so I will have to delete some of my apps that I don't use anymore and videos I have already watched before I download more. I didn't do the Offers but if you do them you get to payout quicker. 

It will take me a bit of time to make enough to get payed but I know if I keep downloading the apps, watch the videos and do the surveys I can mostly get a payout by the end of the month , unlike some other sites I have used for months and months and never even was close enough to get payed. 

Is this app one I would keep and keep using? Yes it is and I know I will keep using it for quite some time because I really like it.

Monday, July 14, 2014

An Update

I know I do not post personal stuff much on my blog but I just had to update you all on the reason why I have not blogged much on here in the past few weeks.

On July 3rd we got up really early and we were on our way to Ottawa when we had an accident. Everyone are fine but the car isn't.  We were both so very stressed out and in shocked. I was also bummed because we were going to Ottawa to get married at Ottawa City Hall. Right after we got a rental car we decided we would try again the next day.

July 4th we left early again to go to Ottawa.  First we went to pick up my mom and my brother in law (my sister's husband) and then went to Ottawa City Hall.  Unfortunately we couldn't get married on that day because no one was there to do the wedding.  We were able to make an appointment for July 10th.

From the 5th to the 8th we were both so very stressed out because we were waiting for the insurance company to call us to let us know what is the damage on our car.  Also i was in pain because I did have 2 big bruises from the accident.

July 9th we left after lunch to go to Ottawa.  Our wedding appointment was for 10AM on the 10th so we had decided to go to Ottawa the day before and got a hotel room.

July 10th (wedding day) we had to be up early to get ready, check out of our hotel room and headed over to pick up my mom and my brother in law (and drop off the dog because my sister was going to watch him ).  By 9:30 we were at Ottawa City Hall then we got married and it was over before 10:20am.   Here are a few photos taken on that day :

By the time we got home it was dinner time and we were both so tired .

On July 11th I was awake at 5:30AM so I took a shower ,had breakfast and did a bit of reading .  I wasn't feeling well and I was feeling so tired that by noon I went back to bed, fell asleep and didn't wake up until 4pm.  My  husband and I decided to go out for dinner.  I was still feeling tired so after dinner I went back to bed.

July 12th we went grocery shopping and because I still wasn't feeling 100% so after everything was put away I went back to bed. I didn't sleep though but I just relaxed and got all caught up on a show I have been meaning to catch up on.

Yesterday, I pretty much spent all day reading and I went to bed early because I knew that today I had to get up early and I have lots to do.

We are still stressed out because we still haven't heard from the insurance company. My husband called them on Friday afternoon but they said they should be done by the end of the day but we never received a call back from them. Hopefully they will call today.

Anyways, sorry for the long rambling post but I just thought I would give you all an update on why I haven't been blogging in here much lately.

OXY Emergency Acne Vanishing Treatment Wipes Review






Don't you just hate it when you have a special event coming up and you break out in pimples? Well, it happens to me and it happened to me last week just a few days before I got married.

Description on the site
EMERGENCY ACNE VANISHING TREATMENT WIPES are the only medicated wipes in Canada that are clinically proven to kill acne bacteria on contact and quickly help heal acne blemishes. They instantly unclog pores removing dirt, oil and dead skin letting oxygen through to help skin breathe and keep bacteria away. Its Benzoyl Peroxide formula reduces the size of pimples and prevents new breakouts. The alcohol free formula prevents over-drying while its oil free moisturizers help relieve redness due to dryness. Dermatologist tested. 

Personally it just didn't work for me. After a week my pimple was still there. The only things I liked about this is that my face didn't burn and turn red while using these and it doesn't have a strong smell like other similar products I have tried. I personally would never buy Oxy at all.


I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Tuesday, July 8, 2014

The Birdcage on BluRay

The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.


Robin Williams and Nathan Lane team up with a top-notch cast in this hilarious comedy. Williams delivers an uproarious performance as Armand, a gay cabaret owner whose son announces he’s marrying the daughter of a right-wing politician (Gene Hackman). It’s an outrageously funny culture clash as Armand and his drag-queen partner Albert (Lane) try to transform themselves into straight shooters at a dinner party and pull the chiffon over the eyes of the uptight senator and his wife (Dianne Wiest).


MY THOUGHT

I remember seeing bits and pieces of The Birdcage years ago on tv . I recently received the movie on BluRay and watched it. I thought the movie is funny but personally this really  isn't a movie I would watch again .  

I give this 3 out of 5

You can purchase this where ever DVDs and BluRays are sold.

Rio 2 on BluRay Giveaway


Summer Survival

Rio 2 is soaring to DVD and Blu-ray on July 15th!
Get ready to shake your tail feathers! Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment takes you
deep into the Brazilian Amazon Rainforest for the most fun you’ll have all summer, as RIO 2
debuts on 3D Blu-ray, Blu-ray and DVD July 15. Just in time for summer vacation, this “hilarious
family adventure” (Jeff Craig, Sixty Second Preview) will samba its way into your home with
exciting bonus features and extras everyone will enjoy. Jewel tries to teach her little one’s that
being outdoors and giving technology a rest is so important! Balance is key! To prepare you for
the release of Rio 2 onto DVD and Blu-ray, we have compiled a Summer Survival Bucket List so
you can enjoy some fun in the sun, or some indoor activities without technology, before
watching Rio 2!

1. Wear Sunscreen
2. Go to the beach
3. Build a sandcastle
4. Look for sand crabs, but set them free before you head home!
5. Have a picnic with your family
6. Go for a bike ride, don’t forget your helmet!
7. Go to the park and swing on the swings
8. Have a coloring contest with your friends
9. Make homemade popsicles
10. Play soccer in the backyard
11. Ask your parents if you can can bake cookies together
12. Read a book
13. Go swimming
14. Play in the sprinklers
15. Play basketball
16. Throw a frisbee
17. Build a fort
18. Roast marshmallows for S’mores
19. Paint a picture
20. Watch Rio 2!

What are some other activities to add to the list?


Here are a few activity sheets 


 photo Rio2_BrazillianVoyage_ActivitySheet_zpsfde816cd.jpg


 photo Rio2_ISpy_ActivitySheet_zps661954f7.jpg


 photo Rio2_WordSearch_ActivitySheet_zpsb8a1ce66.jpg

THE GIVEAWAY

One winner will win Rio 2 on Blu-Ray. US and Canada only


Wednesday, July 2, 2014

Fun House Bouncer Event



Fun House Bouncer Event

Organized by: Mom to Bed by 8

Grand Prize: Little Tikes Fun House Bouncer

Event dates: 7/11 - 7/24

Giveaway is open to US and Canadian Residents.