Thursday, October 29, 2015

Big Chief Meat Snacks Review

*The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation*


My husband is a now Big Chief Meat Snacks Inc. fan.  He love eating some for a snack after a workout so he was so very happy when I received some in the mail to review.  I only tried a few . 


At Big Chief Meat Snacks Inc. our vision is to become the number one brand of convenient, ready-to-eat meat snacks in Canada. We will achieve our vision by providing consumers with high quality, nutritional meat snacks and promoting the importance of a protein balanced diet. We are committed to adhering to the highest quality standards in all of our manufacturing and quality assurance practices, as well as providing a safe and healthy work environment for our employees. We are dedicated to complete customer satisfaction by providing our quality meat snacks in various convenient locations and in a variety of popular flavors. In addition, we place a high value on corporate social responsibility, actively participating in the community, supporting local organizations and charities.  We are a family owned and operated business in Calgary, Alberta that is very proud to be Canadian and support our fellow Canadians through employment, sponsorship, and businesses relationships. We also understand the importance of being environmentally conscious and have adopted sustainable practices wherever we are able. Through our devotion to quality, safety, variety, convenience, community, and environment, Big Chief Meat Snacks Inc. will continue to grow and be a positively recognized brand throughout Canada.

Even my dog liked them very much.  One night my husband put some in a baggie in his gym back to take with him on the next day.  I guess he didn't zip up the compartment properly but an hour later I found my dog had the ziplock bag and had eaten all of the Big Chief Meat Snacks Inc. my husband had in there .

My husband and I loved them too.  They are so yummy and I loved that these were not overly chewy.  I had found other brands' jerky I need to chew so much that my jaw hurts.

Each of the Big Chief Meat Snacks comes in single serve vacuum sealed packages which keeps the snacks fresh.

Here are some of their products :


Original Beef jerky


Beef sticks (Original, Beef 'n cheese, Beef  'n cheese jalapeno, teriyaki).  My favourites were the beef 'n cheese ones.



Beef'N Cheese Jalapeno and Hot beef stick.



Original and Teryaki Beef Jerky.  My husband was the one who tried those two
and he said he really liked them




Original and Beef'n Cheese beef sticks



Original and hot beef jerky
If you are interested in purchasing some of Big Chief Meat Snacks just go to their products page.

I highly recommend Big Chief Meat Snacks.

Monday, October 19, 2015

Treats Subscription Box Review

*The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation*



Treats is a subscription service for international snacks. Every month send you a box of snacks from a different country.  

The box I received was a Japan box and here is what it looked like: 






And here is a list of what I got in my box:

Watapachi Cotton Candy-  I am have never really been a fan of cotton candy
but I tried it anyway.  It isn't bad at all.  If you like cotton candy you might like
this one. 



Kasugai fruit gummy assortment-  A big hit in this house.
Both my husband and I loved them.  They are so good.



Calbee Baked Shrimp Chips-  I wasn't sure about these but I had to give them
a try.  I was surprised that I actually liked them very much. Even
my husband liked them and he isn't a huge fan of shrimp



Jagabee soy sauce crisps-  These are so yummy. I couldn't stop eating them.
They tasted like fries
Glico giant caplico strawberry-  OMG!!  Good thing there was only one of these in the box.
They are so freaking good.  I wish we could buy these in Canada. 



Glico Pocky Tsubu Tsubu-  Well it is Pocky sticks and both my husband and
I love them. 



Amanoya Himemaru- These were pretty good. They are rice crackers.


Uegaki Kaki-no-tane  .  These are rice crackers that I did not like.
Was not a big fan of the flavor 



Uha Cola Puccho-  I personally was not a fan of these cola flavoured
candies but my husband liked them .



Morinaga milk caramel- I love caramel and I loved these. I loved them so much that
I didn't share .  


There are 2 different boxes to choose. There is the standard pack ( 4-5 international snacks) for $12.95 and the premium pack  (8-10 international snacks) for $24.95.  Shipping is free for addresses in the United States. Shipping fees will apply for addresses outside of the United States

Do I think Treats is worth the price?  Yes I do, especially if you love trying out treats from all around the world like I do. 

If you know someone who love trying snacks from around the world , This would be a fantastic subscription box to give them as a gift.   


Friday, October 16, 2015

Tomorrowland Digital HD & Blu-ray Combo Pack Review

*The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation*



Dreamers Wanted…Disney invites you to an incredible world of epic imagination where anything is possible.
Buckle your seat belt, as the director of The Incredibles takes your family on an action-packed thrill ride.

Join former boy genius Frank (George Clooney), optimistic, science-minded teen Casey (Britt Robertson),
mysterious Athena (Raffey Cassidy) and the brilliant David Nix (Hugh Laurie) in a world of pure Disney imagination.

Tomorrowland transports you on an inspiring and magical journey of wonder and adventure to a place where if you can dream it,
you can do it.  

This movie is now available online and in stores near you. 


MY THOUGHTS

I wanted to see this one when it was in theather but my husband didn't want to go see it so I had to wait until I had it on dvd .

Anyway, I very much enjoyed this movie. I found it entertaining .

This is a fun movie to watch with the entire family.  

I give this 5 out of 5 

Thursday, October 15, 2015

The Leftovers: The Complete First Season Review


*The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation*


Based on the 2011 bestselling novel by Perrotta, The Leftovers is seen primarily through the eyes of police chief Kevin Garvey, played by Justin Theroux, as he experiences life post “the Departure.” After what can only be explained as an instance similar to the biblical rapture, the people of Mapleton, New York, are suddenly shaken to their core as many of their loved ones disappear into thin air. With roughly 140 million people actively missing — 2% of the world’s population — the world starts to question everyone and everything. Will people turn to cynicism, paranoia, and cult-like fanaticism, in order to survive? The eerie and thought-provoking series leaves viewers riveted, second-guessing theories from episode to episode.


The Leftovers: The Complete First Season on Blu-ray and DVD includes all 10, hour-long episodes:
  1. Pilot
  2. Penguin One, Us Zero
  3. Two Boats and a Helicopter
  4. B.J. and the A.C
  5. Gladys
  6. Guest
  7. Solace for Tired Feet
  8. Cairo
  9. The Garveys at Their Best
  10. The Prodigal Son Returns


Special Features:
  • Pilot Audio Commentary
  • Making The Leftovers
  • I Remember: A Season One Conversation with Damon Lindelof and Tom Perrotta Secrets of the Guilty Remnant
  • Beyond the Book: A Look Ahead at Season 2
  • Finale Audio Commentary
Own it on Blu-ray, DVD & Digital HD October 6, 2015


MY THOUGHTS

We do not get HBO but when I heard of it I wanted to watch it because it sounded so good.

I thought the first episode was ok but it got better in the next episode and then I found myself enjoying this show. It is very well done.    

Now I will have to wait until season 2 is out on dvd and Blu-ray to see the second season .

I give this show 4 out of 5.




Wednesday, October 14, 2015

Aladdin: Diamond Edition Blu-Ray ,DVD And Digital Copy Review



*The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation*



Climb aboard for a magical carpet ride with nonstop laughs, action-packed adventure and Academy Award®–winning music that will make
your heart soar(1992: Best Music, Original Song, “A Whole New World,” Original Score). Now for the first time ever, a whole new world of
Walt Disney Animation Studios’ Aladdin is revealed in a whole new way on Blu-ray and Digital HD—with never-before-seen bonus!

With the help of a hysterically funny, shape-shifting, 10,000-year-old Genie,street-smart commoner Aladdin and clever, confident Princess
Jasmine join forces against the evil sorcerer Jafar to put an end to his plans to take over the kingdom!

MY THOUGHTS

I have always loved Disney movies and I do remember watching Aladdin with my sisters and my brother.  I was a bit of a fan of the movie 
back then (probably because I was a teenager at the time)  but when I watched it yesterday I actually did enjoy it .

I also really enjoyed the never been seen bonus.

If you or someone you know collect or just love Disney movies, I think this is great to have in a Disney collection.

I give this 5 out of 5

Aladdin: Diamond Edition is now available online and in stores near you. 


Tuesday, October 13, 2015

Naked Snacks Monthly Subscription Box Review

*The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation*




 I find myself needing  snacks to eat between meals and since I am usually very busy on week days I find myself eating snacks that are quick and not healthy at all but now I  want snacks that are healthy and that I can just grab and take with me to my office so I was happy to try out Naked Snacks.  


NakedSnacks is a Canadian monthly snack subscription box that sends you 5 nutrition snacks each month. They believe in making healthy food more accessible and stay away from processed ingredients. They follow the 80/20 rule of snacking: 80% whole grown goodness, 20% reward for making smart decisions and have gluten-free and vegan friendly options.
You can pick between 3 different boxes.  
Lite Snacker -LOW-CALORIE OPTION We help you stay on track! These five snacks contain only 200 calories or less per 30 gram portion.
  • High Energy -POWER-PACKED FUEL Five high energy snacks are chosen to give you a sustained boost, when you need it most.
  • Chef’s Choice -Five hand-selected snacks are chosen just for you based on popular demand.
Cost: $27.95 per month ($23.95 per month on a 6-month plan) . All boxes are the same price.  Price includes tax and shipping. 

Here is what I got in my box:


Each snacks comes packaged in re-sealable bags. 


Hearty Tamari is sesame sticks and spicy pretzels mix with almonds and cashews.
 This one was my favourite snack from this box. 



Thai Holiday is cashews, wild rice sticks, died mango and coconut. I loved this one.

Wholesome Yogi is dried cranberries,raw almonds, roasted cashews, pumpkin seeds
and probiotic Greek yogurt chips



Ginger Staycation is Australian crystalized ginger, roasted pistachios,
dark chocolate disks, almonds and walnuts.



Granola Girl is absolutely yummy with milk. It contains dried oats,
organic dried cranberries, non-GMO sunflower oil,maple syrup,
organic cane sugar, organic coconut, organic sesame seeds,
 organic pumpkin seeds, goji berries, organic hemp seeds, almonds and salt 


I absolutely loved all the snacks.  I found the to be very yummy and it sure helped get rid of salty cravings on some days and sweets cravings as well.

Do I think this subscription box worth the price ?Yes I do.  It is very much worth it .


They have a Kickstarter campaign that ends in a few days but I just wanted to share the video with you.


Edward Scissorhands 25th Anniversary Blu-ray and Digital HD Review

*The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation*


Fall in love again with the timeless classic EDWARD SCISSORHANDS and celebrate its 25th anniversary with an all-new beautifully remastered, all-new 4k transfer available everywhere on October 13. This special-edition Blu-ray™ giftset with commemorative package and Digital HD from Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment, brings Tim Burton’s 1990 acclaimed work of art back to life just in time for Halloween. 

Johnny Depp delivers the performance of a lifetime as Edward, an irresistibly charming creation with razor-sharp metal hands and a heart of gold. Edward’s lonely life in a Gothic castle changes forever when he meets a kindhearted Avon Lady (Dianne Wiest), who takes him to a pastel paradise known as Suburbia. Thanks to his fantastic talents, Edward becomes a neighborhood sensation, but when he falls in love with Kim (Winona Ryder), he must go to extraordinary lengths to protect her.

 The beautifully restored EDWARD SCISSORHANDS: 25th ANNIVERSARY Blu-ray™ showcases Burton’s magical use of color, light and shadow, with clear, rich detail in even the darkest scenes. Considered Burton’s most personal and favorite work, EDWARD SCISSORHANDS is one of Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment’s most successful films. Nominated for an Academy Award® for “Best Makeup”, the romantic dark fantasy film is recognized as a quintessential icon for Goth subculture. 

The EDWARD SCISSORHANDS: 25th ANNIVERSARY Giftset comes with the beautifully remastered, all-new 4k Blu-ray™, Digital HD and custom paper dolls, a heart shaped cookie cutter and a topiary air freshener that smells like fresh cut grass.

 Special Features: • Tim Burton Featurette • Audio Commentary by Tim Burton • Audio Commentary by Danny Elfman.

Edward Scissorhands 25th Anniversary Blu-ray and Digital HD is available now in stores near you. 

MY  THOUGHTS

It has been 25 years already?  I remember seeing this movie when it came out. I feel old now!  

This movie is one of my favourites since it first came out 25 years ago. I am a huge Johnny Depp and Tim Burton fan and ever since Edward Scissorhands I have  pretty much seen every single movies that those two make.  

I did own this movie in VHS a long time ago and well I have been wanting get this 25th anniversary Bluray so I am very happy to have received it to review.  

I had not watched the movie in years and when I watched it yesterday I so very much enjoyed it just as much as I did the first time I had seen it.  It is so well done.  I love the story and I know I will be watching it again and again in the future. 

If you are a fan of the movie I highly recommend you get this. 

Monday, October 12, 2015

American Horror Story Freak Show On BluRay Review

*The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation*




Step inside “American Horror Story: Freak Show, the terrifyingly twisted reincarnation of TV’s most shockingly original series. Jessica Lange leads an extraordinary, award-winning cast that includes Kathy Bates, Angela Bassett, Sarah Paulson and Michael Chiklis. Lange plays Elsa Mars, the proprietor of a troupe of human “curiosities” on a desperate journey of survival in the sleepy hamlet of Jupiter, Florida in 1952. Her menagerie of performers includes a two-headed, telepathic twin (Paulson), a take-charge bearded lady (Bates), a vulnerable strongman (Chiklis) and his sultry, three-breasted wife (Bassett).  But the strange emergence of a dark entity will savagely threaten the lives of townsfolk and freaks alike.

MY THOUGHTS

American Horror Story doesn't play on cable here so I  wait until this show is on DVD to watch.  I have watched the previous season and I have been really enjoying this show so far.

I watched American Horror Story: Freak Show on the weekend and I have been liking this one.  This season is just as messed up and as good as the other seasons and I can't wait to see what they do with the next season. 

This show is not for everyone because of it is a weird and there are sexual content so if you have children it is best to watch this while they are sleeping or out. 

If you enjoy the show I highly recommend this.  

I give this 4 out of 5


Saturday, October 10, 2015

Transformers: Robots in Disguise: A New Autobot Mission

FIRST TIME ON DVD, BRING HOME THE ADVENTURES FROM CARTOON NETWORK’S
TOP-RATED ANIMATED SERIES TRANSFORMERS: ROBOTS IN DISGUISE
PRODUCED BY HASBRO STUDIOS
 
Special Collectible DVD Arrives in Stores Nationwide on October 20, 2015
 From Shout! Factory Kids
 
The lure of TRANSFORMRES saga begins a new chapter as BUMBLEBEE and a team of AUTOBOT action heroes embark on a new mission to protect and save Earth from a new faction of DECEPTICONS. Hasbro Studios’ new top-rated animated series TRANSFORMERS: ROBOTS IN DISGUISE, which airs on Cartoon Network, is the latest installment of TRANSFORMERS franchise and builds on the lore of both the AUTOBOTS and DECEPTICONS. Featuring an all-new animation style, this new hit series is filled with exciting, action adventures and great humor for fans of all age.
 
On October 20, 2015, Shout! Factory Kids, in collaboration with Hasbro Studios, will release TRANSFORMERSROBOTS IN DISGUISE – A NEW AUTOBOT MISSION DVD, featuring five entertaining episodes and special behind-the-scenes bonus content.  Packed with unforgettable AUTOBOT and DECEPTICON characters and action adventures, this new collectible DVD delivers fun-filled home entertainment that kids, parents and loyal fans will enjoy!  This DVD is priced to own with a suggested retail price of $14.93.    
 
Pre-order now at:
 
 

The new mission begins as BUMBLEBEE must step up to be leader in the years after we left the AUTOBOTS in TRANSFORMERS PRIME. Summoned by OPTIMUS PRIME to save Earth from a new DECEPTICON threat, BUMBLEBEE puts his light-hearted mettle to the test after assembling a rouge team of AUTOBOTS action heroes. BUMBLEBEE must balance his job fighting off evil with being equal parts squad leader and coach to a rascally team that needs constant coaxing to learn how to work together. The results are comical when the cool rebel SIDESWIPE, elite guard cadet STRONGARM, bombastic dinobot GRIMLOCK and overly-excited mini-con FIXIT must balance keeping the team together with chasing and capturing their new enemies in each adventure-filled episode.
 
TRANSFORMERS ROBOTS IN DISGUISE features the voice talent of Will Friedle (Boy Meets World), Darren Criss (Glee), Constance Zimmer (Entourage), Khary Payton (Teen Titans Go!), Mitchell Whitfield (TMNT) and Peter Cullen who voices OPTIMUS PRIME when he makes cameo appearances in this series.
 
Five action-packed TRANSFORMERS: ROBOTS IN DISGUISE adventures include:
  • Pilot, Part 1
  • Pilot, Part 2
  • Trust Exercises
  • More Than Meets The Eye
  • W.W.O.D.
 
Bonus Feature:
A Look Behind-The-Scenes
 
Total Running Time: Approx. 110 minutes
 
The TRANSFORMERSROBOTS IN DISGUISE series is currently airing on Cartoon Network in the U.S. and on Teletoon in Canada.
 

Thursday, October 8, 2015

San Andreas On Blu-Ray, DVD And Digital HD Review



After the infamous San Andreas Fault gives, triggering a magnitude 9-plus earthquake in California, a search and rescue helicopter pilot (Dwayne Johnson) and his estranged wife (Carla Gugino) make their way together from Los Angeles to San Francisco to save their only daughter. 

But their treacherous journey north is only the beginning. And when they think the worst may be over…it’s just getting started.


Own “San Andreas” on Blu-ray 3D Combo Pack, Blu-ray Combo Pack, or DVD on October 13 or Own It Now on Digital HD!


MY THOUGHTS

I wanted to go see this movie when it was out in theaters but my husband didn't really want to see it so when I  received it for review I was very happy to watch it and I did get my husband to watch it with me.

We both very much liked this movie. It is action packed natural disaster movie that got us both sitting a the edge of our seats.   It is very well done and believable. 

If you are looking for a good action packed movie, I recommend this San Andreas. 

I give this 5 out of 5.



Tuesday, October 6, 2015

September 2015 Geek Fuel Subscription Box *Review*

The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation. 


What is Geek Fuel? Geek Fuel is a subscription box in the geek and gamer category. What can you expect in the subscription boxes?  Geek Toys, Collectibles, Downloadable Games , T-Shirts, Action Figures ,Exclusive Movie Posters , Comics & More.
Here is the link to where you can find how much the subscription boxes cost .  Anyone who clicks through (and subscribed) using my link and subscribes to  receives a $10 bonus item.  How cool is that? 

Here is what was inside of September's box:

The poster that came in it.  I really like that one and it is already on the
wall in our basement.



The Martian pin. This is already on my backpack I use for my laptop
Like in every other Geek Fuel boxes I have received so far, there was a
Steam downladable game code

Some nail wraps.  I am not a fan of nail wraps so I will be giving this to my sister


Bob's Burgers comic book (Geek Fuel variant cover) with certificate of authenticity 



September's exclusive t-shirt.  This one is a mashup of Boba Fett and Ziggy Stardust. 



And my favourite item.  Doctor Who ice cube tray.  I was so very excited about this one
 because I had been wanting one of these for a while.

If you have been reading my blog for a while you will already know I have been reviewing Geek Fuel subscription boxes for a while now.  I have been enjoying all the the boxes so far and I really like September's GeekFuel box as well.  

Is it worth the price?  Yes it is.You get your money's worth and if you use my link you will get a $10 bonus item. My link is https://www.geekfuel.com/GeekyGirl 

I highly recommend Geek Fuel. 

The Rocky Horror Picture Show 40th Anniversary Blu-rayAnd Digital HD Review


The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation. 




The Rocky Horror Picture Show 40th Anniversary edition is packed with featurettes highlighting past celebrations and midnight screenings, deleted musical scenes, 11 outtakes, alternate endings, commentaries by Richard O’Brien and Patricia Quinn (Magenta), photo galleries and more! Bring the midnight screening home to share with friends and family with Rocky-oke: Sing It! – which includes 18 show-stopping musical numbers from the hugely popular soundtrack: “Touch-A, Touch-A, Touch Me,” “Sweet Transvestite,” “The Time Warp” and more! The Blu-ray also features incredible HD featurettes, as well as a photo gallery from Rock ‘N’ Roll’s seminal photographer Mick Rock, which dives deeper into Rock’s experience capturing the moment on-set and behind-the-scenes of the 1975 film. In “Mick Rock's Picture Show (A Gallery)” fans can take a peek at more than 70 high-resolution images from his archives.

A Lou Adler/Michael White Production directed by Jim Sharman, this cinematic classic follows sweethearts Brad (Barry Bostwick) and Janet (Susan Sarandon) as they are stuck with a flat tire during a storm and discover the eerie mansion of Dr. Frank-N-Furter (Tim Curry), a sweet transvestite scientist. As their innocence is lost, Brad and Janet meet a houseful of wild characters, including a rocking biker (Meat Loaf) and a creepy butler (Richard O'Brien). Through elaborate dances and rock songs, Frank-N-Furter unveils his latest creation: a muscular man named "Rocky."

Since its 1975 release, The Rocky Horror Picture Show quickly made its mark as the most-beloved cult film of all time. Today, this iconic cult classic film is the longest running theatrical release of all-time and currently plays at weekly midnight showings in over 300 theaters across the U.S. and even more around the world. Moreover, the film’s cultural exposure and acclaim has extended far beyond the theatrical release, as the original “Rocky Horror” stage show continues to delight audiences worldwide.

Blu-ray Special Features:
Includes both the U.S. and U.K. Versions of the Film
  • Rocky-oke: Sing It!
  • Commentary By Richard O'Brien and Patricia Quinn (Magenta)
  • Don’t Dream It, Be It: The Search for the 35th Anniversary Shadowcast, Part I
  • An-tic-i-pation: The Search for the 35th Anniversary Shadowcast, Part II
  • Mick Rock (A Photographer)
  • Mick Rock's Picture Show (A Gallery)
  • A Few From The Vault
    • Deleted Musical Scenes
      • 1: ”Once In A While”
      • 2: ”Super Heroes”
  • Outtakes
  • Alternate B&W Opening
  • Alternate Credit & Misprint Ending
  • "Rocky Horror Double Feature Video Show" (1995)
  • Beacon Theater, New York City (10th Anniversary)
  • Time Warp Music Video
  • The Midnight Experience
  • Pressbook & Poster Gallery….And More!

DVD Special Features:
Includes both the U.S. and U.K. Versions of the Film

  • Commentary By Richard O'Brien and Quinn (Magenta)
  • The Theatrical Experience
  • Prompter: “When do I squirt my water pistol and when do I scream?”
  • And More!
The Rocky Horror Picture Show 40th Anniversary is now 
 on Blu-ray, DVD and Digital HD 


MY THOUGHTS

I have to admit that before a few days ago I had never seen The Rocky Horror Picture Show. Yes I am 38 years old and I had never seen this movie.  I knew about it ofcourse but I just never saw it.  

Last Friday I watched this 40th anniversary on Blu-ray.  I thought it was entertaining and silly but really I don't get the big hubbub about it and I don't really think I will ever watch it again.  I feel disappointed since everyone I know keep raving about this movie but I didn't find it as great as everyone keeps telling me .  At least now I can say I have watched the movie.  

I am giving this 3 out of 5