Friday, August 18, 2017

Adagio Teas Fandom Blends Review

The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.

I don't drink tea all the time but I love to drink yummy flavoured teas on rainy or snowy days while I am relaxing and reading a book.

I recently tried Adagio Teas. I got to try some of the Fandom Signature. There are different sizes. There is the sample in, the 3oz pouch, 5 oz tin and the sampler set tin.

Here is what I chose:

I am a Doctor Who fan and the tenth Doctor is my favourite so I had to get the Doctor Who Ten Fandom Signature Blend.
 I got the 3oz. pouch . I do love this one. It has a nice taste and I love the chocolate and hint of banana flavour.  This one will be a great one to drink on cold winter days while I am reading or binge watching shows.  I think I might be purchasing this one in the future.



I love Supernatural so of course I have to try one of the Supernatural teas Adagio has.  I couldn't decide which one I wanted but I pick Castiel sample tin.  This is chocolate chai, honeybush vanilla and chamomile.  I like this one with a bit of sugar and a bit of milk.   I will be purchasing this one in the future.



I have been a fan of Gilmore Girls so when I saw they had some Gilmore Girls blends I just had to try one.  I got the sample tin of Rory. I very much like this one but it is my least favourite one in the of the ones I have tried so far. Maybe I just didn't let it steep long enough. It is so good with a bit of sugar and a bit of milk.

When you order you get points to redeem later so that is a added bonus.

Do I recommend Adagio Teas?  Yes, I do. They have so many different teas and fandom blends so there is something for every tea lovers. I know I will be purchasing more tea in the future and some teaware.

Friday, August 11, 2017

King Arthur: Legend of the Sword *Review*

Warner Bros. Home Entertainment provided me with a free copy of the DVD I reviewed in this Blog Post. The opinions I share are my own





When the child Arthur’s father is murdered, Vortigern (Jude Law), Arthur’s uncle, seizes the crown.  Robbed of his birthright and with no idea who he truly is, Arthur comes up the hard way in the back alleys of the city.  But once he pulls the sword from the stone, his life is turned upside down and he is forced to acknowledge his true legacy…whether he likes it or not.








Own King Arthur: Legend of the Sword on Blu-ray and DVD on August 15 or Own it Now on Digital HD

MY THOUGHTS

This was a movie we wanted to go see but we just didn't get the chance to so when I received my copy to review I just had to watch it on the day I received it.

Both my husband and I enjoyed this movie.  It is entertaining and has lots of action. The story is good and the visuals awesome.    

I give this 4 out of 5. 


Tuesday, July 25, 2017

LEGO® Scooby-Doo!: Blowout Beach Bash *Review*

Warner Bros. Home Entertainment provided me with a free copy of the DVD I reviewed in this Blog Post. The opinions I share are my own.


Scooby-Doo! and his pals Fred, Daphne, Velma and Shaggy are no strangers to solving spooky mysteries filled with all types of ghouls and goblins. This time is no different. As Scooby-Doo! and his friends are on their way to Blowout Beach for a real swinging beach party in the Mystery Machine, the Ghost Pirates threaten to ruin the gang’s good vibes. It is up to Scooby and the gang to get the party back on track, without missing a beat.




Own it on Digital HD Now, Blu-ray™ & DVD 7/25

MY THOUGHTS

If you have been reading my blog for a while you most likely already know that I love Scooby-Doo and I have reviewed many Scooby-Doo dvds in the past few years.

I have to say I very much enjoyed Lego Scooby-Doo!: Blowout Beach Bash .  It is very entertaining and the story is true Scooby-Doo style.

This movie is one that is wonderful for the entire family to watch and it is one I will be keeping in my collection and watch again in the future.

I give this 5 out of 5.

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Silicon Valley: The Complete Fourth Season Digital Download Code Giveaway (US ONLY)



Change is in the air in Season 4 of Silicon Valley as the Pied Piper guys pursue their video-chat app, PiperChat, but Richard (Thomas Middleditch) has a hard time letting go of his dream to put his algorithm to better use. As Dinesh (Kumail Nanjiani) flirts with notoriety while Gilfoyle (Martin Starr) looks on in amusement, Erlich (T.J. Miller) searches for his next big break, Jared (Zach Woods) attempts to pivot with the company, and Big Head (Josh Brener) enters the world of academia. Over at Hooli, Gavin (Matt Ross) finds himself threatened by Jack Barker (Stephen Tobolowsky), while Monica (Amanda Crew) struggles to bounce back at Raviga after her fallout with Laurie (Suzanne Cryer). Sharp, irreverent and hilarious, Silicon Valley continues to lambast the self-important world of tech in a season that finds the Pied Piper guys looking to leave their mark, even as they continue to fumble along the road to success.


Season 4 of the Hit HBO Comedy Available for Digital Download July 31, 2017;
Coming to Blu-ray™ and DVD September 12, 2017


Tuesday, July 18, 2017

VEEP: The Complete Sixth Season Digital Copy Code Giveaway (USA ONLY)


In the sixth season of VEEPwe find President Selina Meyer (Julia Louis-Dreyfus) now out of office for the first time in years after her loss in a Senate vote to resolve an Electoral College tie last season. Forging ahead to secure her legacy and find her place in the world, while much of her staff pursues endeavors of their own, Season 6 finds Selina and her band of fellow misfits hilariously attempting to make their mark while navigating the political landscape in Washington and beyond.

VEEP was created by Armando Iannucci (Oscar® nominee for co-writing In the Loop), with David Mandel serving as an Executive Producer and Showrunner for Seasons 5 and 6. The ensemble cast includes two-time Emmy® winner Tony Hale, Emmy® nominee Anna Chlumsky, Emmy® nominee Matt Walsh, Reid Scott, Timothy Simons, Kevin Dunn, Emmy® nominee Gary Cole and Sam Richardson.

Veep is Available For  Digital Download July 24, 2017, on Blu-ray™ and DVD September 12, 2017

Professor Marston & The Wonder Women Trailer

In a superhero origin tale unlike any other, the film is the incredible true story of what inspired Harvard psychologist Dr. William Moulton Marston to create the iconic Wonder Woman character in the 1940's. While Marston's feminist superhero was criticized by censors for her 'sexual perversity', he was keeping a secret that could have destroyed him. Marston’s muses for the Wonder Woman character were his wife Elizabeth Marston and their lover Olive Byrne, two empowered women who defied convention: working with Marston on human behavior research -- while building a hidden life with him that rivaled the greatest of superhero disguises


\

Kong: Skull Island on Blu-ray Review

The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.



This compelling, original adventure tells the story of a diverse team of scientists, soldiers, and adventurers uniting to explore a mythical, uncharted island in the Pacific, as dangerous as it is beautiful. Cut off from everything they know, the team ventures into the domain of the mighty Kong, igniting the ultimate battle between man and nature. As their mission of discovery becomes one of survival, they must fight to escape a primal Eden in which humanity does not belong.






Kong: Skull Island” stars Tom Hiddleston (“The Avengers,” “Thor: The Dark World”), Oscar® nominee Samuel L. Jackson (Best Supporting Actor, “The Color Purple,” 1994, “Pulp Fiction,”), John Goodman (“Transformers: Age of Extinction,” “Argo”), Oscar winner Brie Larson (Best Actress, “Room,” 2015) and Oscar nominee John C. Reilly (Best Supporting Actor,“Chicago,”  2003).

Own Kong: Skull Island on Ultra HD Blu-ray, 3D Blu-ray, Blu-ray and DVD on July 18 or Own it Early on Digital on June 20!






MY THOUGHTS

I had missed the chance to see this movie a few months ago when it was in theater so when I was asked to review Kong: Skull Island on Blu-ray I had to accept. 

My husband and I watched this movie on Friday night and we absolutely loved it . Loved the storyline was pretty good but the visuals were awesome.  I swear at the most part the CGI monsters look real.  

The acting and the cast was great. 

I will be watching this movie again in the future.

I do recommend.

I give this 4 out of 5.

Tuesday, July 4, 2017

THE 100: THE COMPLETE FOURTH SEASON ON DVD JULY 18, 2017



In the midst of death and destruction, relationships are put to the test as the 100 fight for their very existence. These heroes enter the fourth season at the epicenter of both the Grounder world and their newly founded homebase of Arkadia. After season three’s all-out war, a far more lethal threat has risen to the surface: Clarke has learned that Earth’s remaining nuclear reactors are melting and will soon set the atmosphere on fire. ALIE, the A.I. who launched the world’s nuclear missiles causing the apocalypse, was telling the truth. With the human race doomed to face an unbeatable enemy, Clarke and her allies amongst Arkadia and the Grounders must fight for humankind and all life itself. But with hope fleeting and the end inevitable, will our heroes spend their remaining days trying to survive… or finally trying to live? The stakes have never been higher, alliances are breaking, and the world is about to collapse. Civility has no place at the end of the world, and there’s no telling what lengths the 100 will go to in order to survive.


Based on Kass Morgan’s bestselling young adult book of the same name, The 100: The Complete Fourth Season returns with an all-star cast including Eliza Taylor (The November Man), Paige Turco (Person of Interest), Bob Morley, Marie Avgeropoulos (50/50, Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief), Devon Bostick (Diary of a Wimpy Kid), Christopher Larkin, Lindsey Morgan, Richard Harmon (Bates Motel), and Zach McGowan (Black Sails), with Isaiah Washington (Grey’s Anatomy) and Henry Ian Cusick (Lost). 

Own Kong: Skull Island on Ultra HD Blu-ray, 3D Blu-ray,  Blu-ray and DVD on July 18 or Own it Early on Digital on June 20

Thursday, June 22, 2017

Cate & Chloe July 2017 Review



Do you like jewelry? I do so I was super excited to receive July  2017's Cate & Chloe VIP Box.



Here is a little bit of info:


Each month you received jewelry that is hand picked .You get to choose between 3 boxes and then you get to choose your style.  You can get either Trend Setter, Modern Classics or Mix It Up.  Whichever you choose you  get a free gift. 

Cost: (3-month, 6-month, and 1-year options available at discounted rates for each)
  • Full VIP Status – 3 pieces of jewelry + monthly bonus item = $39.99/month
  • Double the Fun – 2 pieces of jewelry + monthly bonus item = $29.99/month
  • The Starter Package – 1 piece of jewelry + monthly bonus item = $19.99/month
Shipping: Free to Canada & US



I received the Full VIP Status Mix It Up box.  Here is what was in July's box:


There are 2 product cards in the box. One that tells you the theme for the month (July is Wanderlust) and info on the bonus item plus the product card.

This time  I noticed that a card telling you how to care for your jewelry was in this box. I like that idea.


Aimee "Hope" 18k White Gold-Plated Necklace

I forgot to take a photo of it out of the box but this necklace is so pretty. I don't think I would have picked it on my own if I saw it in store but I am so happy I got this one because it is just perfect.  I will be wearing this next month when my husband and I go out for our 3 year wedding anniversary dinner.


Emery "Brave" Bracelet

I absolutely love this bracelet. It is delicate and the center stone adds a pop of flair.  Great to wear every day.

Anya "Gracious" Drop Earrings in Silver

I am in love with these teardrop earrings. These are earrings I would pick for myself.


And the bonus item for July is a folding travel jewelry case. I am in love with this little case.  I don't travel much but I am sure I will be able to put it to good use at some point.



I very much am in love with July's box. I love that I was sent a necklace I wouldn't usually even think about getting but I do love it . These pieces of jewelry that were in my box are going to be worn often. Actually, I have already worn the earrings and the bracelet and I can't wait to wear the necklace.   


Monday, June 19, 2017

The LEGO Batman Movie *Review*

The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.


In the irreverent spirit of fun that made “The LEGO Movie” a worldwide phenomenon, the self-described leading man of that ensemble—LEGO Batman—stars in his own big-screen adventure. But there are big changes brewing in Gotham City, and if he wants to save the city from The Joker’s hostile takeover, Batman may have to drop the lone vigilante thing, try to work with others and maybe, just maybe, learn to lighten up. 





MY THOUGHTS

Both my husband and I very much enjoyed watching The Lego Batman Movie. It is cute, funny and very entertaining.

I absolutely loved this movie because it is hilarious and very much entertaining. The animation is fantastic and the voice acting is as well.

I do highly recommend The LEGO Batman Movie.

Own The LEGO Batman Movie on Ultra HD Blu-ray, 3D Blu-ray, Blu-ray and DVD on June 13 or Own it Now on Digital!

Sunday, June 18, 2017

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks *Movie Review*

The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.



Oprah Winfrey stars in the true story of a woman's search for enlightenment about her mother--whose 'immortal' cells would save millions of lives. Henrietta Lacks was an African-American woman whose cells were used to create the first immortal human cell line, known as HeLa. Told through the eyes of Lack's daughter Deborah (Winfrey) and journalist Rebecca Skloot (Rose Byrne), the film chronicles Deborah's search to learn about the mother she never knew, and to understand how the unauthorized harvesting of Lacks' cancerous cells in 1951 led to unprecedented medical breakthroughs. Co-starring Renee Elise Goldsberry, Reg E. Cathey, Courtney B. Vance, Ruben Santiago-Hudson, Leslie Uggams and Reed Birney. Directed by George C. Wolfe; screenplay by George C. Wolfe and Alexander Woo; based on the book by Rebecca Skloot.




MY THOUGHTS


This movie isn't the kind of movie I would usually watch but sometimes it is good to get out of your comfort zone and try something new because you never know, you might be surprised. 

 I think I probably would have liked the book more (which usually it the case) than the movie.  It isn't something I would watch again but I am glad I watched it because it was interesting.

This is a powerful story that will make you cry. So if this kind of tear jerker kind of movie is what you are into you might enjoy it.  

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks is a true story .

I give this 3 out of 5. 

You can purchase this movie on iTunes 

Thursday, June 15, 2017

Dole Resealable Fruit Pouches *Review*

The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.


DOLE® Resealable Fruit Pouches are a quick and easy way to enjoy great fresh tasting fruit. Use the same way you’d use canned or fresh fruit – on top of cereals, in desserts or on-the-go straight out of the pouch! Now made in new resealable BPA free packs, there is no need to strain or transfer fruit to another container after opening. Dole Fruit Pouches can be stored in your fridge for chilled, ready-to-eat fruit, anytime
Five flavours packed in fruit juice are available, including - Fruit Cocktail with Cherries* - Mandarin Oranges - Sliced Peaches* - Sliced Pears - Tropical Gold® Pineapple Chunks

Fruit Cocktail with Cherries and Sliced Peaches are also available packed in water, for a no sugar added option

MY THOUGHTS

Dole is a brand I know but I am not a big fan of canned foods so when I heard they are resealable fruit pouches I just had to try some.

I recently tried fruit cocktail with cherries and the sliced peaches Dole Resealable Fruit Pouches and I have to say I am impressed. The fruits taste just like as if you just cut them up. They are packed in fruit juice.

I love that the packs are resealable so if my husband and I don't eat the entire pouch we don't have to put the fruits with their juice in a container.


I do highly recommend Dole Resealable Fruit Pouches. 

These are available at most grocery store.

Check out Dole's website at doledoesdolecanada.ca

Wednesday, June 14, 2017

Bambi Signature Collection Review and Giveaway (Canada Only)

The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.


A timeless classic that has been loved for generations, BAMBI now joins the Walt Disney Signature Collection. In this life-changing adventure, Bambi sets off with his best friends Thumper and Flower to explore the wonders and challenges of the woods -- and fulfill his destiny as prince of the forest. Full of humour and heart, and featuring awe-inspiring animation, BAMBI remains a family favourite, ready to delight a whole new generation.|In striving for realism, the artists heard lectures from animal experts, made field trips to the Los Angeles Zoo, watched specially filmed nature footage shot in the forests of Maine, and even studied the movements of two fawns that were donated to the Studio.

MY THOUGHTS

When I was a child I love Bambi so I just couldn't wait to add this to my Blu-Ray collection.
Watching this brought back memories of my childhood.

Bambi Signature Collection is a great movie to have in your collection and to watch with your children.

I give this 4 out of 5.



Tuesday, May 23, 2017

Paletteful Pack May 2017 Premier Pack Review

The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.





What is Paletteful Pack?

Paletteful Packs is a monthly subscription service that sends art supplies to you no matter your age or skill level. Each month you'll receive a curated selection of art supplies ranging from pens to paint. Every box includes everything you need to create a work of art. They offer two box choices: Young Artist which is meant for children (ages 8+) and Premier Pack for adult beginners, professionals, or anyone in between.

Premier Pack (Comes with full-size art products)
    • Month to Month: $34.95
    • 3 Month PrePay: $99.95
    • 6 Month PrePay: $194.95
    • 12 Month PrePay: $349.95

  • Young Artist (Comes with art products designed for young artists)
    • Month to Month: $29.95
    • 3 Month PrePay: $84.95
    • 6 Month PrePay: $164.95
    • 12 Month PrePay: $299.95
*Free Shipping in the US Only*
*Mexico and Canada Shipping is $15*
*Worldwide Shipping is $25*



May's theme is Serpia and here what was in the Premier Pack



A bottle of Bombay Sepia India Ink


tin of limited edition Conte Sketching Crayons








 Faber – Castell  PITT Artist Pens


Derwent Inktense Pencil in Sepia




 Strathmore 80 lb. Drawing Pad



What I thought:  I really like this box. It is well curated with products I would use and it is a fantastic to build your art supply.  I do highly recommend Paletteful Pack .

Friday, May 19, 2017

Major Crimes: The Complete Fifth Season IS SET FOR RELEASE ON DVD MAY 30, 2017

SEASON FIVE OF TNT’S HIT CRIME DRAMA
MAJOR CRIMES
IS SET FOR RELEASE ON DVD
MAY 30, 2017
FROM WARNER BROS. HOME ENTERTAINMENT



Five-Disc DVD Set Will Include All 21 Season Five Episodes
Plus All-New Never Before-Seen Deleted Scenes and Gag Reel 

Major Crimes returns with more mysteries in season five, as the squad continues to work some of the most challenging murders in the City of Angels. From searching for a missing teenage girl who vanished while helping the homeless, to hunting down the killer of a potentially dirty cop and following up on a beheading in an isolated corner of Los Angeles, cable’s favorite investigators work to arrest and deal out a succession of criminals and killers.


Outside of their work, each member of the team must balance their work and personal lives. Captain Raydor strives to push her adopted son Rusty, (Graham Patrick Martin, The Closer, Two and a Half Men), through college, while figuring out where she wants to go in her ongoing romance with Andy Flynn; Julio Sanchez decides to try to adopt a child himself; Provenza develops sensitivities related to his new marriage to Patrice (Dawnn Lewis); Buzz Watson picks up the 30-year-old murder investigation of his father and uncle; Mike Tao wins an award for his work as a Hollywood consultant; and Amy Sykes confronts the idea of motherhood versus focusing on her career.

“For five seasons, Major Crimes has captivated audiences with its brilliant ensemble cast, engaging storylines and top-notch production. It’s one of the best police procedurals on television today,” said Rosemary Markson, WBHE Senior Vice President, TV Marketing. She added, “We’re thrilled to offer another season of this outstanding series to consumers.”  

Major Crimes is produced by The Shephard/Robin Company and Walking Entropy, Inc. in association with Warner Bros. Television.  The Closer’s James Duff, who also created the series, is an executive producer alongside Duppy Demetrius, Mike Berchem, Adam Belanoff, Rick Wallace, Greer Shephard and Michael M. Robin.

Major Crimes has been renewed for a sixth season on TNT.

Thursday, May 18, 2017

Design Ideas For A Vintage House

Having an old house opens the doors to a huge range of design ideas that can really highlight its best features, and accentuate the vintage character of the abode.  But, if you don't know where to start to gain inspiration, then here are a few pointers on how.

Find the features
Before you wade in with design ideas, consider what are the best features of your vintage home.  What makes it stand out?  Are there any unusual architectural assets or quirks that make it a talking point?  Ask friends and family what they think, use them as sounding boards for any ideas that you might have bubbling away.   Work out how you can make the most of any of the features, let them stand out and make them a focal point of your home.

Handle with care

If your vintage home has some old features, then treat them with the utmost respect.  Don't do them a severe injustice by trying to make them overly modern.  If something is vintage, then it deserves to stay that way.  But that's not to say that you can't add style to a dated feature.  If you have 1930s doors, for example, you can add small design touches that allow it to flirt with a modern era.  But, don't overdo it.

If you have classy oak bullnose skirting, for example, then don't replace it with tacky plastic, as it will really look out of place in a vintage home.  Make sure to keep to the vintage style throughout your home, and don't allow yourself to veer off track.

Go hunting

You're not likely to gain vintage design inspiration from your local homes store, so widen your search for unusual finds.  Retro fabric, distressed furniture and eclectic ornaments can be unearthed at flea markets, charity shops, car boot sales and even the internet, so do a bit of detective work to get the look you're after.  Unused items, old junk and recycled art can all add to the vintage look of your home.

Feeling floral

There's something about flowers that really works well to bring out the vintage feel.  Whether you choose to keep a fresh bunch of flowers in the fireplace, some dried lavender in a vase or opt for floral curtains or tablecloth, get closer to nature to ooze out the vintage in your home.

Single pieces

Having an old house, doesn't mean to say that you have to stick to everything of a certain era.  Even just creating a centrepiece, such a vintage chandelier can really tease out the vintage character of a home, whilst allowing it to be surrounded by modern furniture.

Colour carefully

When it comes to decor, go carefully with a vintage home.  Rustic, pales, and pastels work well, but avoid bold and brassy colours that scream out at you.  Minimalist yet warm and inviting is to aim for, and work the colours around any accessories you have, such as cushions, vases, antiques or furniture.  A solid wooden mirror above the fireplace can add charm to a vintage home, as can carefully selected pictures and hangings.

About the author
Crispin works and writes for the Principal Homebuyers blog on wide range of subjects. Specialists in matching home buyers with sellers he finds great pleasure in helping customers stage their house for quick sales.