Tuesday, May 23, 2017

Paletteful Pack May 2017 Premier Pack Review

The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.





What is Paletteful Pack?

Paletteful Packs is a monthly subscription service that sends art supplies to you no matter your age or skill level. Each month you'll receive a curated selection of art supplies ranging from pens to paint. Every box includes everything you need to create a work of art. They offer two box choices: Young Artist which is meant for children (ages 8+) and Premier Pack for adult beginners, professionals, or anyone in between.

Premier Pack (Comes with full-size art products)
    • Month to Month: $34.95
    • 3 Month PrePay: $99.95
    • 6 Month PrePay: $194.95
    • 12 Month PrePay: $349.95

  • Young Artist (Comes with art products designed for young artists)
    • Month to Month: $29.95
    • 3 Month PrePay: $84.95
    • 6 Month PrePay: $164.95
    • 12 Month PrePay: $299.95
*Free Shipping in the US Only*
*Mexico and Canada Shipping is $15*
*Worldwide Shipping is $25*



May's theme is Serpia and here what was in the Premier Pack



A bottle of Bombay Sepia India Ink


tin of limited edition Conte Sketching Crayons








 Faber – Castell  PITT Artist Pens


Derwent Inktense Pencil in Sepia




 Strathmore 80 lb. Drawing Pad



What I thought:  I really like this box. It is well curated with products I would use and it is a fantastic to build your art supply.  I do highly recommend Paletteful Pack .

Friday, May 19, 2017

Major Crimes: The Complete Fifth Season IS SET FOR RELEASE ON DVD MAY 30, 2017

SEASON FIVE OF TNT’S HIT CRIME DRAMA
MAJOR CRIMES
IS SET FOR RELEASE ON DVD
MAY 30, 2017
FROM WARNER BROS. HOME ENTERTAINMENT



Five-Disc DVD Set Will Include All 21 Season Five Episodes
Plus All-New Never Before-Seen Deleted Scenes and Gag Reel 

Major Crimes returns with more mysteries in season five, as the squad continues to work some of the most challenging murders in the City of Angels. From searching for a missing teenage girl who vanished while helping the homeless, to hunting down the killer of a potentially dirty cop and following up on a beheading in an isolated corner of Los Angeles, cable’s favorite investigators work to arrest and deal out a succession of criminals and killers.


Outside of their work, each member of the team must balance their work and personal lives. Captain Raydor strives to push her adopted son Rusty, (Graham Patrick Martin, The Closer, Two and a Half Men), through college, while figuring out where she wants to go in her ongoing romance with Andy Flynn; Julio Sanchez decides to try to adopt a child himself; Provenza develops sensitivities related to his new marriage to Patrice (Dawnn Lewis); Buzz Watson picks up the 30-year-old murder investigation of his father and uncle; Mike Tao wins an award for his work as a Hollywood consultant; and Amy Sykes confronts the idea of motherhood versus focusing on her career.

“For five seasons, Major Crimes has captivated audiences with its brilliant ensemble cast, engaging storylines and top-notch production. It’s one of the best police procedurals on television today,” said Rosemary Markson, WBHE Senior Vice President, TV Marketing. She added, “We’re thrilled to offer another season of this outstanding series to consumers.”  

Major Crimes is produced by The Shephard/Robin Company and Walking Entropy, Inc. in association with Warner Bros. Television.  The Closer’s James Duff, who also created the series, is an executive producer alongside Duppy Demetrius, Mike Berchem, Adam Belanoff, Rick Wallace, Greer Shephard and Michael M. Robin.

Major Crimes has been renewed for a sixth season on TNT.

Thursday, May 18, 2017

Design Ideas For A Vintage House

Having an old house opens the doors to a huge range of design ideas that can really highlight its best features, and accentuate the vintage character of the abode.  But, if you don't know where to start to gain inspiration, then here are a few pointers on how.

Find the features
Before you wade in with design ideas, consider what are the best features of your vintage home.  What makes it stand out?  Are there any unusual architectural assets or quirks that make it a talking point?  Ask friends and family what they think, use them as sounding boards for any ideas that you might have bubbling away.   Work out how you can make the most of any of the features, let them stand out and make them a focal point of your home.

Handle with care

If your vintage home has some old features, then treat them with the utmost respect.  Don't do them a severe injustice by trying to make them overly modern.  If something is vintage, then it deserves to stay that way.  But that's not to say that you can't add style to a dated feature.  If you have 1930s doors, for example, you can add small design touches that allow it to flirt with a modern era.  But, don't overdo it.

If you have classy oak bullnose skirting, for example, then don't replace it with tacky plastic, as it will really look out of place in a vintage home.  Make sure to keep to the vintage style throughout your home, and don't allow yourself to veer off track.

Go hunting

You're not likely to gain vintage design inspiration from your local homes store, so widen your search for unusual finds.  Retro fabric, distressed furniture and eclectic ornaments can be unearthed at flea markets, charity shops, car boot sales and even the internet, so do a bit of detective work to get the look you're after.  Unused items, old junk and recycled art can all add to the vintage look of your home.

Feeling floral

There's something about flowers that really works well to bring out the vintage feel.  Whether you choose to keep a fresh bunch of flowers in the fireplace, some dried lavender in a vase or opt for floral curtains or tablecloth, get closer to nature to ooze out the vintage in your home.

Single pieces

Having an old house, doesn't mean to say that you have to stick to everything of a certain era.  Even just creating a centrepiece, such a vintage chandelier can really tease out the vintage character of a home, whilst allowing it to be surrounded by modern furniture.

Colour carefully

When it comes to decor, go carefully with a vintage home.  Rustic, pales, and pastels work well, but avoid bold and brassy colours that scream out at you.  Minimalist yet warm and inviting is to aim for, and work the colours around any accessories you have, such as cushions, vases, antiques or furniture.  A solid wooden mirror above the fireplace can add charm to a vintage home, as can carefully selected pictures and hangings.

About the author
Crispin works and writes for the Principal Homebuyers blog on wide range of subjects. Specialists in matching home buyers with sellers he finds great pleasure in helping customers stage their house for quick sales.

Harrison Blake Apparel May 2017 Review

The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.



Harrison Blake Apparel is a monthly subscription for the dapper gentleman. Each box will contain a necktie and 4 additional accessories (e.g. pocket squares, lapel pins,  etc.) Each of these items is exclusive only to Harrison Blake Apparel with a logo of their brand on them. 

This subscription box is $25 per month. If you purchase 6 months it is $21 per month and if you purchase a year it is $18 per month.

Right now if you use the discount code SEASON, you will get $15 off your first month's package when you become a Club subscriber.



I received April's box to review:

Harrison Blake No Show/Boat Socks ($7)


Harrison Blake baseball cap ($25)

Harrison Blake anchor necktie ($30)

Harrrison Blake plaid cotton pocket square ($20)

Harrison Blake stainless steel ring ($35)

Harrison Blake foldable water bottle (bonus item)

Total value of this month's Harrison Blake Club is $117!!! It is a great deal if you or someone you know loves ties and other men's apparel. 



I do highly recommend this.







Monday, May 1, 2017

RINGS Arrives on Blu-ray Combo Pack May 2, 2017




When a radical college professor (Johnny Galecki, "The Big Bang Theory") finds the
mysterious video rumored to kill viewers seven days after watching, he enlists his students in
a dangerous experiment to uncover the secrets behind the Samara legend. When the deadly
video goes viral, they must figure out a way to break the curse and defeat Samara before her
evil is unleashed upon the world. But, how do you stop her when she's everywhere? RINGS
also stars Matilda Anna Ingrid Lutz (Summertime), Alex Roe (The 5th Wave), Aimee Teegarden
("Friday Night Lights") and Vincent D'Onofrio ("Law & Order: Criminal Intent").
 
The film is available now on Digital HD. 

Thursday, April 27, 2017

Living Alive Granola Review

The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.



I always like to carry individual snacks in my purse or laptop bag because you never know when you or a member of your family will be hungry while you are all out and about or traveling so I was happy to review Living Alive Granola.

Living Alive Granola is a Canadian company based in St. Thomas, Ontario .
Local musician Stephanie Brown and longtime politician Joe Preston are busy in their St. Thomas kitchen baking fresh granola for all their customers every single week. How did this all come about? It’s a story about love for your kids, healthy living, supporting local farmers and the love of great tasting nutritious food!

Both my husband and I tried the Honey Almond granola first. He first added a bit to his cereal one morning and he ate the rest at work before lunch. He isn't big on granola but he said he very much enjoyed it. I had an individual snack pack right after my daily walk. I enjoyed this one. I found it sweet and chewy and it was filling enough that I didn't feel like I needed to grab something else to eat.

On another day I was out shopping and I was hungry. I didn't want to go grab anything at a fast- food restaurant but then I remembered I had a pack of the Maple Walnut granola so I eat that. Just like the honey almond granola, this was chewy, yummy and filling.

If you want to purchase Living Alive Granola, it is available in some stores. Head over to their site and you can see if a store near you carries their products or you can purchase online at their site.


Stephanie Brown and Joe Preston of Living Alive Granola are advocates for helping local mental health programs. #livingalivegranola pledges 10 cents from every bag sold. I am all for supporting mental health programs.

I highly recommend . 


Tuesday, April 25, 2017

May 2017 Cate & Chloe VIP Box Review

The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.



Do you like jewelry? I know I do so I was super excited to receive May 2017's Cate & Chloe VIP Box.

Here is a little bit of info:

Each month you received jewelry that is hand picked based on the style quiz you fill out when you sign up and you get a free monthly gift. 





What you get and how much the box cost:

The Starter Package – $19.99 or less for longer subscriptions
  • 1 piece of jewelry
  • an extra perk
Double the Fun – $29.99 or less for longer subscriptions
  • 2 pieces of jewelry
  • an extra perk
Full VIP Status – $39.99 or less for longer subscriptions
  • 3 pieces of jewelry
  • an extra perk
If you want to subscribe to Cate & Chloe VIP box and if you use my coupon code GGRUNCONDITIONALVIP35 you get 35% off All One Month Subscriptions (The Starter Package, Double the Fun, Full VIP Status).

What I received:




Harper "Majestic Leather Choker
It is nice but not something I would wear. It came in a little black bag. 

Ava "Free" Aztec Drop Earrings
I love these earrings. I have worn them once already and I know I will be wearing them again and again in the future.

Aubrey "Fair" Gold Stacked Jewel Ring
I do love this ring but unfortunately, it doesn't fit.  Not sure if maybe I have made a mistake and putting in the wrong size when I did my style quiz. It came in a little black bag.

L'ange Hair Replenish Detangling Spray
This is this month's VIP perk.  I already used it a few times and I have to say that I have used this a few times already and I like it. 



 I really like that you get some jewelry every month but I am disappointed that I got a choker and a ring that doesn't fit my fingers but it wasn' t a total waste because I gave them to family members.  I did love the earrings and the bonus product. 




Tuesday, April 4, 2017

Harrison Blake Apparel April 2017 Review

The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.




Harrison Blake Apparel is a monthly subscription for the dapper gentleman. Each box will contain a necktie and 4 additional accessories (e.g. pocket squares, lapel pins,  etc.) Each of these items is exclusive only to Harrison Blake Apparel with a logo of their brand on them. 

This subscription box is $25 per month. If you purchase 6 months it is $21 per month and if you purchase a year it is $18 per month.

Right now if you use the discount code SEASON, you will get $15 off your first month's package when you become a Club subscriber.

I received April's box to review :


Harrison Blake stripped necktie ($30)

Harrison Blake cotton pocket square ($20)

Harrison Blake gold collar stays ($15)

Harrison Blake aviator sunglasses ($30)

Harrison Blake white rosette lapel pin ($15)

Harrison Blake air freshener (bonus item)





April's box is valued at $110 so it is a very good deal if you or someone you know who loves ties and other men's apparel.  

My husband is very impressed with Harrison Blake Apparel and I am also.  We do very much recommend this. 




Monday, March 27, 2017

March 2017 The Black Coffee Co. Review







Are you a coffee drinker? I am and I do drink at least one strong cup of coffee every morning because it wakes me up and I can go on with my day. You don't know this but most of my reviews are written in the morning right as I am drinking a nice cup of coffee or right after. I just can not concentrate on anything before I have had a cup. My morning coffee usually is with no milk or sugar because I need the caffeine jolt to wake me up so I was excited to try out Black Coffee Club.


What is Black Coffee Club? 

The Black Coffee Co. is a monthly coffee subscription box that delivers coffee from a different region of the world every month. Each month you receive a 12-ounce whole bean bag.

When you sign up you pick which roast you want. They have Deadly Dark roast, Manic Medium roast, lawless Low roast and Rousted Roulette. If you just do one-time purchase it is $19.99USD (for Canadians price will be converted at checkout) and if you subscribe you end up saving 10%.

Shipping:  Canada and U.S.



I like dark roast coffee so I picked Deadly Dark roast. The bag of coffee beans that was shipping to those who ordered that one received this Costa Rican coffee.


Both my husband and I tasted this one on the weekend and we both enjoyed it very much. You can taste a hint of honey and lemon. It tastes a bit different than what I would usually buy but I do enjoy it.


If you like black coffee and you want to try different ones from around the world, I think you will love The Black Coffee Co. I highly recommend.


Also check them out on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.



Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them Review


The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.




There are growing dangers in the wizarding world of 1926 New York. Something mysterious is leaving a path of destruction in the streets, threatening to expose the wizarding community to the No-Majs (American for Muggles), including the Second Salemers, a fanatical faction bent on eradicating them.  And the powerful, dark wizard Gellert Grindelwald, after wreaking havoc in Europe, has slipped away…and is now nowhere to be found. 

Unaware of the rising tensions, Newt Scamander arrives in the city nearing the end of a global excursion to research and rescue magical creatures, some of which are safeguarded in the magical hidden dimensions of his deceptively nondescript leather case.  But potential disaster strikes when unsuspecting No-Maj Jacob Kowalski inadvertently lets some of Newt’s beasts loose in a city already on edge—a serious breach of the Statute of Secrecy that former Auror Tina Goldstein jumps on, seeing her chance to regain her post as an investigator.  However, things take an ominous turn when Percival Graves, the enigmatic Director of Magical Security at MACUSA (Magical Congress of the United States of America), casts his suspicions on both Newt and Tina.


Now allied, Newt and Tina, together with Tina’s sister, Queenie, and their new No-Maj friend, Jacob, form a band of unlikely heroes, who must recover Newt’s missing beasts before they come to harm.  But the stakes are higher than these four outsiders—now branded fugitives—ever imagined, as their mission puts them on a collision course with dark forces that could push the wizarding and No-Maj worlds to the brink of war.




MY THOUGHTS

I wanted to see Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them when it was in theaters but I  didn't get the chance to so when I received the Blu-ray combo pack to review of course I just couldn't wait to watch the movie.

I am so glad I own Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them because I just absolutely loved it. I love the story, the acting and all the graphics.  I was entertained and I know I will be watching it again in the future.

I give this 4 out of 5.

I do recommend Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them.

Own Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them on Ultra HD Blu-ray, 3D Blu-ray, Blu-ray and DVD on March 28 or Own It Now on Digital HD!




Sunday, March 26, 2017

Miraculous™: Tales of Ladybug & Cat Noir: It’s Ladybug! On DVD #Giveaway




C’EST MAGNIFIQUE!
A NEW INSTALLMENT OF THE SENSATIONAL
HIT SERIES STARRING LADYBUG AND CAT NOIR
COMES TO DVD FROM SHOUT! KIDS

Miraculous™: Tales of Ladybug & Cat Noir: It’s Ladybug!
In Stores April 11, 2017



When Paris is threatened by super villains, two amazing heroes are our only hope: Ladybug and Cat Noir! With the help of their magical kwamis, this incredible duo team up to outwit the forces of evil… but their biggest challenge might be getting through school. In their normal lives, Marinette and Adrien are just a pair of young students, but in reality, this terrific twosome must juggle schoolwork, friends, family and growing up in a world where every day is a high-flying adventure!

A top TV show, Miraculous™ is quickly becoming a worldwide phenomenon. It’s Ladybug! is available now for pre-order on Amazon.com and Shout Kids.

Princess Fragrance
Gamer
Reflekta
The Puppeteer
Antibug
Volpina

GIVEAWAY

One winner will win a dvd copy of Miraculous™: Tales of Ladybug & Cat Noir: It’s Ladybug!  
US AND CANADA ONLY

Monday, March 13, 2017

Jetsons & WWE: Robo-Wrestlemania On DVD Review

The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.

In the midst of an exhibition match, a powerful snow storm freezes Big Show solid. One hundred years later, Big Show has finally thawed and is discovered by George Jetson. His first mission is to revive wrestling in 22nd-century Orbit City. With Big Show’s help, Elroy and George build robotic Superstars. But Big Show had big plans of his own! The wrestle-bot army manages to capture Orbit City! This leaves George and the Jetsons family one option: travel back in time to enlist WWE Superstars Alicia Fox, Roman Reigns, Seth Rollins, and Sheamus to help defeat the Big Show and his wrestle-bot army in the future.


Own it now Digital HD & DVD 3/14


MY THOUGHTS

I wasn't quite sure how this cartoon movie would work out but I did enjoy the WWE and Scooby-Doo and the WWE and The Flintstones crossovers but for some reason, I couldn't really see this one being really good.  Boy was I wrong.

I really love seeing The Jetsons again and I did very much enjoy this crossover.  It wasn't my favourite but I did enjoy it and I did find it very entertaining.

I give this 3 and a 1/2 stars out of 5.


Monday, March 6, 2017

Westworld: The Complete First Season Is Now Available On DVD

WESTWORLD: THE COMPLETE FIRST SEASON


AVAILABLE ON DIGITAL HD TODAY


Includes All 10 One-Hour Episodes and New Bonus Content!

What happens in a world free of consequences and morality? From creators Jonathan Nolan (Interstellar, The Dark Knight films) and Lisa Joy (Burn Notice, Pushing Daisies), and executive producer J.J. Abrams (Star Wars: The Force Awakens, Star Trek), Warner Bros. Home Entertainment brings one of the most viewed HBO series ever to Digital HD for the first time: Westworld: The Complete First Season. In its critically acclaimed inaugural season, Westworld averaged a gross audience of 13 million Total Viewers, boasting a higher audience than Game of Thrones and True Detective in their introductory seasons, to be HBO’s most watched freshman series ever. Westworld: The Complete First Season features a star-studded cast led by Academy Award® winner Sir Anthony Hopkins (Silence of the Lambs), Golden Globe winner Ed Harris (The Truman Show), Golden Globe and Emmy® nominee Evan Rachel Wood (The Wrestler) and Golden Globe nominee Thandie Newton (Crash).