Thursday, June 22, 2017

Cate & Chloe July 2017 Review



Do you like jewelry? I do so I was super excited to receive July  2017's Cate & Chloe VIP Box.



Here is a little bit of info:


Each month you received jewelry that is hand picked .You get to choose between 3 boxes and then you get to choose your style.  You can get either Trend Setter, Modern Classics or Mix It Up.  Whichever you choose you  get a free gift. 

Cost: (3-month, 6-month, and 1-year options available at discounted rates for each)
  • Full VIP Status – 3 pieces of jewelry + monthly bonus item = $39.99/month
  • Double the Fun – 2 pieces of jewelry + monthly bonus item = $29.99/month
  • The Starter Package – 1 piece of jewelry + monthly bonus item = $19.99/month
Shipping: Free to Canada & US



I received the Full VIP Status Mix It Up box.  Here is what was in July's box:


There are 2 product cards in the box. One that tells you the theme for the month (July is Wanderlust) and info on the bonus item plus the product card.

This time  I noticed that a card telling you how to care for your jewelry was in this box. I like that idea.


Aimee "Hope" 18k White Gold-Plated Necklace

I forgot to take a photo of it out of the box but this necklace is so pretty. I don't think I would have picked it on my own if I saw it in store but I am so happy I got this one because it is just perfect.  I will be wearing this next month when my husband and I go out for our 3 year wedding anniversary dinner.


Emery "Brave" Bracelet

I absolutely love this bracelet. It is delicate and the center stone adds a pop of flair.  Great to wear every day.

Anya "Gracious" Drop Earrings in Silver

I am in love with these teardrop earrings. These are earrings I would pick for myself.


And the bonus item for July is a folding travel jewelry case. I am in love with this little case.  I don't travel much but I am sure I will be able to put it to good use at some point.



I very much am in love with July's box. I love that I was sent a necklace I wouldn't usually even think about getting but I do love it . These pieces of jewelry that were in my box are going to be worn often. Actually, I have already worn the earrings and the bracelet and I can't wait to wear the necklace.   


Monday, June 19, 2017

The LEGO Batman Movie *Review*

The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.


In the irreverent spirit of fun that made “The LEGO Movie” a worldwide phenomenon, the self-described leading man of that ensemble—LEGO Batman—stars in his own big-screen adventure. But there are big changes brewing in Gotham City, and if he wants to save the city from The Joker’s hostile takeover, Batman may have to drop the lone vigilante thing, try to work with others and maybe, just maybe, learn to lighten up. 





MY THOUGHTS

Both my husband and I very much enjoyed watching The Lego Batman Movie. It is cute, funny and very entertaining.

I absolutely loved this movie because it is hilarious and very much entertaining. The animation is fantastic and the voice acting is as well.

I do highly recommend The LEGO Batman Movie.

Own The LEGO Batman Movie on Ultra HD Blu-ray, 3D Blu-ray, Blu-ray and DVD on June 13 or Own it Now on Digital!

Sunday, June 18, 2017

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks *Movie Review*

The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.



Oprah Winfrey stars in the true story of a woman's search for enlightenment about her mother--whose 'immortal' cells would save millions of lives. Henrietta Lacks was an African-American woman whose cells were used to create the first immortal human cell line, known as HeLa. Told through the eyes of Lack's daughter Deborah (Winfrey) and journalist Rebecca Skloot (Rose Byrne), the film chronicles Deborah's search to learn about the mother she never knew, and to understand how the unauthorized harvesting of Lacks' cancerous cells in 1951 led to unprecedented medical breakthroughs. Co-starring Renee Elise Goldsberry, Reg E. Cathey, Courtney B. Vance, Ruben Santiago-Hudson, Leslie Uggams and Reed Birney. Directed by George C. Wolfe; screenplay by George C. Wolfe and Alexander Woo; based on the book by Rebecca Skloot.




MY THOUGHTS


This movie isn't the kind of movie I would usually watch but sometimes it is good to get out of your comfort zone and try something new because you never know, you might be surprised. 

 I think I probably would have liked the book more (which usually it the case) than the movie.  It isn't something I would watch again but I am glad I watched it because it was interesting.

This is a powerful story that will make you cry. So if this kind of tear jerker kind of movie is what you are into you might enjoy it.  

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks is a true story .

I give this 3 out of 5. 

You can purchase this movie on iTunes 

Thursday, June 15, 2017

Dole Resealable Fruit Pouches *Review*

The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.


DOLE® Resealable Fruit Pouches are a quick and easy way to enjoy great fresh tasting fruit. Use the same way you’d use canned or fresh fruit – on top of cereals, in desserts or on-the-go straight out of the pouch! Now made in new resealable BPA free packs, there is no need to strain or transfer fruit to another container after opening. Dole Fruit Pouches can be stored in your fridge for chilled, ready-to-eat fruit, anytime
Five flavours packed in fruit juice are available, including - Fruit Cocktail with Cherries* - Mandarin Oranges - Sliced Peaches* - Sliced Pears - Tropical Gold® Pineapple Chunks

Fruit Cocktail with Cherries and Sliced Peaches are also available packed in water, for a no sugar added option

MY THOUGHTS

Dole is a brand I know but I am not a big fan of canned foods so when I heard they are resealable fruit pouches I just had to try some.

I recently tried fruit cocktail with cherries and the sliced peaches Dole Resealable Fruit Pouches and I have to say I am impressed. The fruits taste just like as if you just cut them up. They are packed in fruit juice.

I love that the packs are resealable so if my husband and I don't eat the entire pouch we don't have to put the fruits with their juice in a container.


I do highly recommend Dole Resealable Fruit Pouches. 

These are available at most grocery store.

Check out Dole's website at doledoesdolecanada.ca

Wednesday, June 14, 2017

Bambi Signature Collection Review and Giveaway (Canada Only)

The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.


A timeless classic that has been loved for generations, BAMBI now joins the Walt Disney Signature Collection. In this life-changing adventure, Bambi sets off with his best friends Thumper and Flower to explore the wonders and challenges of the woods -- and fulfill his destiny as prince of the forest. Full of humour and heart, and featuring awe-inspiring animation, BAMBI remains a family favourite, ready to delight a whole new generation.|In striving for realism, the artists heard lectures from animal experts, made field trips to the Los Angeles Zoo, watched specially filmed nature footage shot in the forests of Maine, and even studied the movements of two fawns that were donated to the Studio.

MY THOUGHTS

When I was a child I love Bambi so I just couldn't wait to add this to my Blu-Ray collection.
Watching this brought back memories of my childhood.

Bambi Signature Collection is a great movie to have in your collection and to watch with your children.

I give this 4 out of 5.



Tuesday, May 23, 2017

Paletteful Pack May 2017 Premier Pack Review

The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.





What is Paletteful Pack?

Paletteful Packs is a monthly subscription service that sends art supplies to you no matter your age or skill level. Each month you'll receive a curated selection of art supplies ranging from pens to paint. Every box includes everything you need to create a work of art. They offer two box choices: Young Artist which is meant for children (ages 8+) and Premier Pack for adult beginners, professionals, or anyone in between.

Premier Pack (Comes with full-size art products)
    • Month to Month: $34.95
    • 3 Month PrePay: $99.95
    • 6 Month PrePay: $194.95
    • 12 Month PrePay: $349.95

  • Young Artist (Comes with art products designed for young artists)
    • Month to Month: $29.95
    • 3 Month PrePay: $84.95
    • 6 Month PrePay: $164.95
    • 12 Month PrePay: $299.95
*Free Shipping in the US Only*
*Mexico and Canada Shipping is $15*
*Worldwide Shipping is $25*



May's theme is Serpia and here what was in the Premier Pack



A bottle of Bombay Sepia India Ink


tin of limited edition Conte Sketching Crayons








 Faber – Castell  PITT Artist Pens


Derwent Inktense Pencil in Sepia




 Strathmore 80 lb. Drawing Pad



What I thought:  I really like this box. It is well curated with products I would use and it is a fantastic to build your art supply.  I do highly recommend Paletteful Pack .

Friday, May 19, 2017

Major Crimes: The Complete Fifth Season IS SET FOR RELEASE ON DVD MAY 30, 2017

SEASON FIVE OF TNT’S HIT CRIME DRAMA
MAJOR CRIMES
IS SET FOR RELEASE ON DVD
MAY 30, 2017
FROM WARNER BROS. HOME ENTERTAINMENT



Five-Disc DVD Set Will Include All 21 Season Five Episodes
Plus All-New Never Before-Seen Deleted Scenes and Gag Reel 

Major Crimes returns with more mysteries in season five, as the squad continues to work some of the most challenging murders in the City of Angels. From searching for a missing teenage girl who vanished while helping the homeless, to hunting down the killer of a potentially dirty cop and following up on a beheading in an isolated corner of Los Angeles, cable’s favorite investigators work to arrest and deal out a succession of criminals and killers.


Outside of their work, each member of the team must balance their work and personal lives. Captain Raydor strives to push her adopted son Rusty, (Graham Patrick Martin, The Closer, Two and a Half Men), through college, while figuring out where she wants to go in her ongoing romance with Andy Flynn; Julio Sanchez decides to try to adopt a child himself; Provenza develops sensitivities related to his new marriage to Patrice (Dawnn Lewis); Buzz Watson picks up the 30-year-old murder investigation of his father and uncle; Mike Tao wins an award for his work as a Hollywood consultant; and Amy Sykes confronts the idea of motherhood versus focusing on her career.

“For five seasons, Major Crimes has captivated audiences with its brilliant ensemble cast, engaging storylines and top-notch production. It’s one of the best police procedurals on television today,” said Rosemary Markson, WBHE Senior Vice President, TV Marketing. She added, “We’re thrilled to offer another season of this outstanding series to consumers.”  

Major Crimes is produced by The Shephard/Robin Company and Walking Entropy, Inc. in association with Warner Bros. Television.  The Closer’s James Duff, who also created the series, is an executive producer alongside Duppy Demetrius, Mike Berchem, Adam Belanoff, Rick Wallace, Greer Shephard and Michael M. Robin.

Major Crimes has been renewed for a sixth season on TNT.

Thursday, May 18, 2017

Design Ideas For A Vintage House

Having an old house opens the doors to a huge range of design ideas that can really highlight its best features, and accentuate the vintage character of the abode.  But, if you don't know where to start to gain inspiration, then here are a few pointers on how.

Find the features
Before you wade in with design ideas, consider what are the best features of your vintage home.  What makes it stand out?  Are there any unusual architectural assets or quirks that make it a talking point?  Ask friends and family what they think, use them as sounding boards for any ideas that you might have bubbling away.   Work out how you can make the most of any of the features, let them stand out and make them a focal point of your home.

Handle with care

If your vintage home has some old features, then treat them with the utmost respect.  Don't do them a severe injustice by trying to make them overly modern.  If something is vintage, then it deserves to stay that way.  But that's not to say that you can't add style to a dated feature.  If you have 1930s doors, for example, you can add small design touches that allow it to flirt with a modern era.  But, don't overdo it.

If you have classy oak bullnose skirting, for example, then don't replace it with tacky plastic, as it will really look out of place in a vintage home.  Make sure to keep to the vintage style throughout your home, and don't allow yourself to veer off track.

Go hunting

You're not likely to gain vintage design inspiration from your local homes store, so widen your search for unusual finds.  Retro fabric, distressed furniture and eclectic ornaments can be unearthed at flea markets, charity shops, car boot sales and even the internet, so do a bit of detective work to get the look you're after.  Unused items, old junk and recycled art can all add to the vintage look of your home.

Feeling floral

There's something about flowers that really works well to bring out the vintage feel.  Whether you choose to keep a fresh bunch of flowers in the fireplace, some dried lavender in a vase or opt for floral curtains or tablecloth, get closer to nature to ooze out the vintage in your home.

Single pieces

Having an old house, doesn't mean to say that you have to stick to everything of a certain era.  Even just creating a centrepiece, such a vintage chandelier can really tease out the vintage character of a home, whilst allowing it to be surrounded by modern furniture.

Colour carefully

When it comes to decor, go carefully with a vintage home.  Rustic, pales, and pastels work well, but avoid bold and brassy colours that scream out at you.  Minimalist yet warm and inviting is to aim for, and work the colours around any accessories you have, such as cushions, vases, antiques or furniture.  A solid wooden mirror above the fireplace can add charm to a vintage home, as can carefully selected pictures and hangings.

About the author
Crispin works and writes for the Principal Homebuyers blog on wide range of subjects. Specialists in matching home buyers with sellers he finds great pleasure in helping customers stage their house for quick sales.

Harrison Blake Apparel May 2017 Review

The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.



Harrison Blake Apparel is a monthly subscription for the dapper gentleman. Each box will contain a necktie and 4 additional accessories (e.g. pocket squares, lapel pins,  etc.) Each of these items is exclusive only to Harrison Blake Apparel with a logo of their brand on them. 

This subscription box is $25 per month. If you purchase 6 months it is $21 per month and if you purchase a year it is $18 per month.

Right now if you use the discount code SEASON, you will get $15 off your first month's package when you become a Club subscriber.



I received April's box to review:

Harrison Blake No Show/Boat Socks ($7)


Harrison Blake baseball cap ($25)

Harrison Blake anchor necktie ($30)

Harrrison Blake plaid cotton pocket square ($20)

Harrison Blake stainless steel ring ($35)

Harrison Blake foldable water bottle (bonus item)

Total value of this month's Harrison Blake Club is $117!!! It is a great deal if you or someone you know loves ties and other men's apparel. 



I do highly recommend this.







Monday, May 1, 2017

RINGS Arrives on Blu-ray Combo Pack May 2, 2017




When a radical college professor (Johnny Galecki, "The Big Bang Theory") finds the
mysterious video rumored to kill viewers seven days after watching, he enlists his students in
a dangerous experiment to uncover the secrets behind the Samara legend. When the deadly
video goes viral, they must figure out a way to break the curse and defeat Samara before her
evil is unleashed upon the world. But, how do you stop her when she's everywhere? RINGS
also stars Matilda Anna Ingrid Lutz (Summertime), Alex Roe (The 5th Wave), Aimee Teegarden
("Friday Night Lights") and Vincent D'Onofrio ("Law & Order: Criminal Intent").
 
The film is available now on Digital HD. 

Thursday, April 27, 2017

Living Alive Granola Review

The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.



I always like to carry individual snacks in my purse or laptop bag because you never know when you or a member of your family will be hungry while you are all out and about or traveling so I was happy to review Living Alive Granola.

Living Alive Granola is a Canadian company based in St. Thomas, Ontario .
Local musician Stephanie Brown and longtime politician Joe Preston are busy in their St. Thomas kitchen baking fresh granola for all their customers every single week. How did this all come about? It’s a story about love for your kids, healthy living, supporting local farmers and the love of great tasting nutritious food!

Both my husband and I tried the Honey Almond granola first. He first added a bit to his cereal one morning and he ate the rest at work before lunch. He isn't big on granola but he said he very much enjoyed it. I had an individual snack pack right after my daily walk. I enjoyed this one. I found it sweet and chewy and it was filling enough that I didn't feel like I needed to grab something else to eat.

On another day I was out shopping and I was hungry. I didn't want to go grab anything at a fast- food restaurant but then I remembered I had a pack of the Maple Walnut granola so I eat that. Just like the honey almond granola, this was chewy, yummy and filling.

If you want to purchase Living Alive Granola, it is available in some stores. Head over to their site and you can see if a store near you carries their products or you can purchase online at their site.


Stephanie Brown and Joe Preston of Living Alive Granola are advocates for helping local mental health programs. #livingalivegranola pledges 10 cents from every bag sold. I am all for supporting mental health programs.

I highly recommend . 


Tuesday, April 25, 2017

May 2017 Cate & Chloe VIP Box Review

The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.



Do you like jewelry? I know I do so I was super excited to receive May 2017's Cate & Chloe VIP Box.

Here is a little bit of info:

Each month you received jewelry that is hand picked based on the style quiz you fill out when you sign up and you get a free monthly gift. 





What you get and how much the box cost:

The Starter Package – $19.99 or less for longer subscriptions
  • 1 piece of jewelry
  • an extra perk
Double the Fun – $29.99 or less for longer subscriptions
  • 2 pieces of jewelry
  • an extra perk
Full VIP Status – $39.99 or less for longer subscriptions
  • 3 pieces of jewelry
  • an extra perk
If you want to subscribe to Cate & Chloe VIP box and if you use my coupon code GGRUNCONDITIONALVIP35 you get 35% off All One Month Subscriptions (The Starter Package, Double the Fun, Full VIP Status).

What I received:




Harper "Majestic Leather Choker
It is nice but not something I would wear. It came in a little black bag. 

Ava "Free" Aztec Drop Earrings
I love these earrings. I have worn them once already and I know I will be wearing them again and again in the future.

Aubrey "Fair" Gold Stacked Jewel Ring
I do love this ring but unfortunately, it doesn't fit.  Not sure if maybe I have made a mistake and putting in the wrong size when I did my style quiz. It came in a little black bag.

L'ange Hair Replenish Detangling Spray
This is this month's VIP perk.  I already used it a few times and I have to say that I have used this a few times already and I like it. 



 I really like that you get some jewelry every month but I am disappointed that I got a choker and a ring that doesn't fit my fingers but it wasn' t a total waste because I gave them to family members.  I did love the earrings and the bonus product. 




Tuesday, April 4, 2017

Harrison Blake Apparel April 2017 Review

The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation.




Harrison Blake Apparel is a monthly subscription for the dapper gentleman. Each box will contain a necktie and 4 additional accessories (e.g. pocket squares, lapel pins,  etc.) Each of these items is exclusive only to Harrison Blake Apparel with a logo of their brand on them. 

This subscription box is $25 per month. If you purchase 6 months it is $21 per month and if you purchase a year it is $18 per month.

Right now if you use the discount code SEASON, you will get $15 off your first month's package when you become a Club subscriber.

I received April's box to review :


Harrison Blake stripped necktie ($30)

Harrison Blake cotton pocket square ($20)

Harrison Blake gold collar stays ($15)

Harrison Blake aviator sunglasses ($30)

Harrison Blake white rosette lapel pin ($15)

Harrison Blake air freshener (bonus item)





April's box is valued at $110 so it is a very good deal if you or someone you know who loves ties and other men's apparel.  

My husband is very impressed with Harrison Blake Apparel and I am also.  We do very much recommend this.