Saturday, December 15, 2018

MyBaskets #Review #Giveaway

The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation. 


Do you have friends or family that are hard to shop for this holiday season?  I know every year I have at least one person I can never figure out what to get them. 

Gift baskets from MyBaskets is a fantastic idea.  They have a bunch of yummy baskets for Christmas. There are a wide variety of baskets at different prices for different occasions. The company is Canadian so you don't have to pay duty or anything extra like that.


I received the Merry Christmas And Happy New Year basket and I have to say I am very impressed.  There are sweet and salty snacks in it. I haven't tried them all yet but I have put some of the treats aside for when I am craving sweets. 


This is the Merry Christmas And Happy new Year basket:




The following items are included in this festive Christmas gift basket:

FRENCH TRUFFLES: What gets better than a gourmet chocolate French truffle? This intense chocolate flavour will have your taste buds craving more and more of these little treats!
MILK CHOCOLATE BAR TRADITION: This made in Canada milk chocolate is surely the best milk chocolate that you have ever had! This milk chocolate is decadent, creamy, and it is truly such a great and rich bar of chocolate. This bar is a perfect addition to any snack table at an office party, or it makes a perfect gift as part of a gift basket for your recipient at work as well.
COOKIES: Don't let the size of these cookies fool you. These cookies might be bite-sized, but with their great oatmeal flavour and chocolate coating on its bottom, these treats are so tasty!
POPCORN: Light and airy pieces of popcorn meet sweet caramel. Spudniks caramel popcorn is such a tasty snack, you just have to try it!
CHOCOLATE ALMONDS: Caffe Latte almonds are new, award-winning, and your new favourite treat. That's right - coffee-coated almonds from Lamontagne are here!
LINDT CHOCOLATE BAR: Smooth and creamy milk chocolate bar from Lindor treat that all love to indulge in!
GHIRARDELLI: Chocolate and peppermint. A classy combination fit for everyone to enjoy during the holidays!
SAXON HOT CHOCOLATE: Make a nice hot glass of hot cocoa with this creamy mix of hot chocolate!

I have good news for you.  You can win your very own basket.  This giveaway is for Canada only


Christmas Basket from My Basket.ca

Thursday, December 13, 2018

The Nun #MovieReview

The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation. 

When a young nun at a cloistered abbey in Romania takes her own life, a priest with a haunted past and a novitiate on the threshold of her final vows are sent by the Vatican to investigate. Together they uncover the order’s unholy secret. Risking not only their lives but their faith and their very souls, they confront a malevolent force in the form of the same demonic nun that first terrorized audiences in “The Conjuring 2,” as the abbey becomes a horrific battleground between the living and the damned.




MY THOUGHTS

I do love a good horror movie and I did love The Conjuring so I was excited to see The Nun.

Unfortunately, I found this movie to be bland.  The story could have been way better and I really didn't find it scary or that creepy really.  I didn't even jump once.  

I am very disappointed with this one. 

I am giving this 2 1/2 out of 5. 

Wednesday, December 12, 2018

Westworld Season Two: The Door #Review

Warner Bros. Home Entertainment provided me with a free copy of the DVD I reviewed in this Blog Post. The opinions I share are my own.




The gravity of a limitless world continues to pull fans in for the second season of HBO’s sci-fi hit series Westworld, nominated for 21 Emmy® Awards across a range of categories including Outstanding Drama Series. Today, Warner Bros. Home Entertainment is announcing Westworld Season 2: The Door is coming to 4K Ultra HD ($64.99), Blu-ray ($54.97 SRP) and DVD ($49.99) featuring all 10 riveting episodes plus exclusive immersive bonus features on December 4, 2018. Both the Limited Edition 4K Ultra HD and standard Blu-ray release will feature a Digital Copy of the series.
Westworld Season 2: The Door will also be available to own on digital July 23, 2018. Consumers can enjoy all 10 episodes in high definition and standard definition (retail $38.99/$28.99) along with never-before-seen bonus content.

Created for television by Jonathan Nolan and Lisa Joy, and based on the film written by best-selling author Michael Crichton, Westworld is produced by Kilter Films and Bad Robot Productions in association with Warner Bros. Television. The award-winning HBO series is executive produced by Nolan, Joy, J.J. Abrams, Richard J. Lewis, Roberto Patino, Athena Wickham and Ben Stephenson.

Westworld: Season Two features a star-studded cast led by Golden Globe winner Ed Harris (A Beautiful Mind), Golden Globe and Emmy® nominee Evan Rachel Wood (The Wrestler), and Golden Globe nominee Thandie Newton (Crash) along with Jeffrey Wright (Boardwalk Empire), James Marsden (X-Men Days of Future Past), Tessa Thompson (Creed), Indgrid Bolsø Berdal (Chernobyl Diaries), Clifton Collins Jr. (Pacific Rim), Fares Fares (Zero Dark Thirty), Luke Hemsworth (The Reckoning), Katja Herbers (Manhattan), Louis Herthum (Longmire), Simon Quarterman (The Devil Inside), Talulah Riley (Inception), Rodrigo Santoro (300, The 33), Angela Sarafyan (American Horror Story), Gustaf Skarsgärd (Vikings) and Shannon Woodward (Raising Hope).

In Season Two, viewers are welcomed back to Westworld, where the puppet show is over and the newly liberated “hosts” are coming for humankind. Dolores (Evan Rachel Wood) takes charge, Maeve (Thandie Newton) is on a mission and the Man in Black (Ed Harris) is back. Chaos takes control in this dark odyssey about the dawn of artificial consciousness, the birth of a new form of life and the evolution of sin.


-->
The second season of Westworld has earned 21 Emmy® Nominations* including: Outstanding Drama Series, Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series (Ed Harris and Jeffrey Wright), Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series (Evan Rachel Wood), Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series (Thandie Newton) and Outstanding Guest Actor in a Drama Series (Jimmi Simpson).

Own it on 4K UltraHD and Blu-rayTM 12/4

MY THOUGHTS

I watched and reviewed season one last year and I was so very impressed that I couldn't wait to watch the next season but unfortunately, we weren't able to because we don't get the channel it plays on so when I received season two to review I just couldn't wait to watch it.

Season two is just as good as the first season and it is one of those shows we just couldn't stop watching.  Some nights we ended up watching more episodes than we had planned. 

I just can't wait for season 3 to come out because I need to find out what is going to happen next.  

I do highly recommend this show.

Sunday, December 9, 2018

Earn Free Gift Cards during the Holiday Cookies Team Challenge



I have a fun way for you to get in the Holiday spirit and earn some gift cards! Swagbucks is holding a Holiday Cookies Team Challenge and they're a lot of fun! For those of you who don't know what Swagbucks is, it's a website where you can earn cash back on everyday tasks you do online like shopping, answering surveys, discovering deals, and watching videos. You can even earn for searching the web! 

If you've never tried Swagbucks before because you didn't know where to begin, their Team Challenges are a great way to learn the ropes and earn points towards free gift cards and PayPal cash! The challenge runs from Monday, December 10th to Friday, December 14th. 

Here's how you can join the challenge and the site:  
1. Click here to join the challenge and be assigned to a team.
2. In addition to earning SB, you'll contribute to your team's total as you complete different activities on Swagbucks.
3. Check back on the page often to see the scores and what you've contributed so far.   

All members who participate and contribute at least 600 points to their team’s total will receive a SB bonus in the form of a SB Swag Up Shop Bonus on their next gift card! 
Not only that but if you sign up under me this month and earn 500 SB before January 1st, you'll get a 500 SB bonus!

Members of the 1st place team will receive a 100 SB Swag Up Rebate, members of the 2nd place team will receive a 50 SB Swag Up Rebate! Which cookie team will you be on?

Thursday, December 6, 2018

Jabra Move Wireless Headphones

The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation. 



I don't like big bulky headphones.  I use them mostly when I am walking my dog or when I have to do outdoor chores like mowing the lawn or shovelling the snow and of course, I don't want ones that are wired because the wire gets in the way.



I have recently tried the Jabra Move wireless headphones and I must say I am pretty impressed.   I mean it isn't that expensive compared to some out there.  The Jabra Move is $99 but I have seen it goes on for much cheaper at Best Buy once in a while. 




Anyway, I have recently used these a few times. Once listening to music while my husband was watching tv and a few times while taking walks with my dog.  I have to say I am pretty impressed. The sound quality is excellent, the headphones are pretty comfortable and the on-ear part doesn't hurt my ears (most on-ear ones usually hurt my ears after a little while.

It is easy to control your music, volume and calls from the headset. 

I do love that they are smaller.  Battery life is decent. I have used them for 6 hours without having to charge them and the headphones come with a regular headphone jack if you do need to plug it into your phone.

It comes in 3 colours.  Black, blue and red. 

I am so happy with the Jabra Move wireless headphones.

I am giving this 5 out of 5.  





Tuesday, November 27, 2018

ARTEMIS FOWL



Directed by Kenneth Branagh and based on the beloved book by Eoin Colfer, ARTEMIS FOWL follows 12-year-old genius Artemis Fowl, a descendant of a long line of criminal masterminds, as he finds himself in a battle of strength and cunning against a powerful, hidden race of fairies who may be behind his father’s disappearance.

The film stars Ferdia Shaw, Lara McDonnell, Tamara Smart, Nonzo Anozie, with Josh Gad, and Judi Dench. Judy Hofflund and Kenneth Branagh are producing with Angus More Gordon and Matthew Jenkins serving as executive  producers. The screenplay is by Conor McPherson.    

       



Disney’s ARTEMIS FOWL releases in theatres on August 9, 2019.

Friday, November 23, 2018

Earn 500 SB from a single survey!





For those of you who don't know, Swagbucks.ca is the leading destination for users who want to make money or get free gift cards online and get cash back on purchases. You can make money by doing things you already do online anyways like searching the web, watching videos, and answering surveys. You can also get cash back for purchases made through our site or apps, such as the SB Answer App. Use my sign up link here to join Swagbucks today!

Also, some exciting news for Toronto residents! Swagbucks currently has a new special promo running in Toronto that offers 500 SB (that's equivalent to $5) from a single survey! All you have to do is visit the Eaton Centre with your Location enabled SB Answer app and complete a survey about your experience!
It's all part of a new program they've launched called Local Missions!


What are Local Missions?
Local missions are surveys based on a place you’ve visited or a purchase you’ve made at a local store.

How do I get invited or find out about a local mission?
1- Get the Swagbucks Answer app, available for iOS and Android.
2- Enable Location sharing – this feature turns on surveys when you visit a location that has a hidden mission.
3- Turn on notifications so you can get a mission alert. Let’s say you are standing in line at Tim Horton’s for your morning coffee and that is one of our local mission spots. Your phone will notify you and link you directly to the App where you can complete your survey and earn SB.

What do I earn?
Payouts vary by mission difficulty. Currently, we have missions paying upwards of $5.
Will I get disqualified?
Typically, local mission surveys don’t have restrictions other than your presence in a certain location. Some may require a purchase so you can rate your experience or the service you got. It could be about the food at a restaurant or the expertise of a salesperson helping you or just how clean and organized the store was. Every local mission has a limited number of invitations, so you can’t waste time.

Attention: Members in the Toronto Area, visit CF’s Eaton Centre for a local mission worth 500 SB.

Attention: Members nationwide, we have a new mission coming soon at a gas station near you!
Get ready and happy hunting!

Justice League: Throne Of Atlantis Commemorative Edition #Review

Warner Bros. Home Entertainment provided me with a free copy of the Blu-ray I reviewed in this Blog Post. The opinions I share are my own.






In Justice League: Throne of Atlantis Commemorative Edition, Cyborg discovers an imminent threat in the depths of the oceans so powerful that it rallies together the newly formed Justice League. Meanwhile, wandering thousands of feet above the ocean floor is drifter Arthur Curry, a man with strange powers who may be the last chance to bridge the ancient Atlantean world with our own. Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman and the rest of DC's Justice League must band together as they face off against warmongering Orm, an army of sea creatures, otherworldly weapons and perilous odds. In this all-new epic adventure from the DC Universe, mankind's only hope of escaping from the darkness lies with the guiding light of a man – Aquaman! 


The celebrity laden cast features primetime television stars Matt Lanter (Timeless, Star Wars: The Clone Wars, 90210) as Aquaman, Sam Witwer (Being Human, Smallville, Star Wars: Rebels) as Orm, Jason O'Mara (The Man in the High Castle) as Batman, Christopher Gorham (Insatiable, Two Broke Girls, Covert Affairs) as Flash, Nathan Fillion (The Rookie, Castle) as Green Lantern, Shemar Moore (S.W.A.T., Criminal Minds) as Cyborg, Rosario Dawson (Sin City, Daredevil) as Wonder Woman, Jerry O'Connell (Real Men Watch Bravo, The Death of Superman) as Superman, Sean Astin (The Lord of the Rings Trilogy) as Shazam, Sumalee Montano (Scandal, Critical Role) as Mera, Sirena Irwin (Superman: Unbound) as Queen Atlanna, and Harry Lennix (Man of Steel, The Blacklist) as Manta.




Available on Ultra HD Blu-ray, Blu-ray and Digital November 13, 2018

MY THOUGHTS

My husband and I  have been watching and collection all these DC animated movies since they first started and yes we have been enjoying them very much.

This is a re-release of the Justice League: Throne Of Atlantis movie that came out in January 2015.

Anyway,  Both my husband and I enjoyed this one.  It wasn't one of our favourites but it was entertaining and the story-line was decent enough.

I do recommend. 

I give this 4 out of 5. 


Friday, November 16, 2018

Gifts For Gamers

You have a gamer on your list this year? I do have a few suggestions for you.



PowerA Enhanced Wired Controller for Xbox One





Key Features:
  • Advanced Gaming Buttons
  • Unique White design
  • Officially licensed for Xbox One
  • Dual rumble motors
  • 3.5mm stereo headset jack
  • Removable 9.8ft (3m) USB cable
  • 2-year limited warranty

This is a good Xbox One controller that can also be used for gaming on Windows PC as well. I have not used it but my husband has been using it for a week now and he said it is a good one. It works well when he played games on Steam on his PC and it was easy to set up. The USB cable is very long which is perfect for gaming on the Xbox One.




Enhanced Wireless Controller for Nintendo Switch – Retro Mario



Key Features:
  • Bluetooth Wireless freedom
  • Features motion controls and Advanced Gaming Buttons
  • Ergonomic design with standard button layout
  • LEDs for power, button mapping, player number and low battery warning
  • Includes two AA batteries for up to 30 hours of gameplay
  • Official licensed product with 2-year limited warranty – Register at PowerA.com

I have used this one a few times in the past few days and I do actually like it. I do have small hands and it would have been nice if this controller was a bit smaller for kids with smaller hands but other than that I am liking this controller.
It was easy to set up and I love the motion controls.
There are a few designs to choose.

Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Spike Lee's BLACKkKLANSMAN on Digital 10/23 and 4K Ultra HD, Blu-ray & DVD 11/6



Based on the book Black Klansman by Ron Stallworth, BlacKkKlansman is filled with outstanding performances from an all-star cast led by John David Washington (“Ballers,” Malcolm X), Adam Driver (Star Wars: The Force AwakensLogan Lucky), Topher Grace (Interstellar, “That 70’s Show”) and Laura Harrier (Spider-Man: HomecomingThe Last Five Years) alongside an incredible roster of supporting talent including Alec Baldwin (“Saturday Night Live,” Mission Impossible – Fallout), Corey Hawkins (Straight Outta ComptonKong: Skull Island), Ryan Eggold (“The Blacklist,” “Sons of Liberty”) and Paul Walter Hauser (I, TonyaSuper Troopers 2).

From visionary filmmaker Spike Lee comes the incredible true story of an American hero. In the early 1970s Ron Stallworth (Washington) becomes the first African-American detective in the Colorado Springs Police Department. Determined to make a difference, he bravely sets out on a dangerous mission: infiltrate and expose the Ku Klux Klan. He recruits a seasoned colleague, Flip Zimmerman (Driver), into the undercover investigation. Together, they team up to take down the extremist organization aiming to garner mainstream appeal. BlacKkKlansman offers an unflinching, true-life examination of race relations in 1970s America that is just as relevant in today’s tumultuous world.

Packed with bold and provocative moments from beginning to end, BlacKkKlansman on 4K Ultra HD, Blu-ray™, DVD and Digital comes with exclusive bonus content that will take viewers deeper into this timely and moving true story.



Monday, November 5, 2018

Ornaments With Love #Review

Every year since my husband and I started living together I have been buying new Christmas ornaments. I am picky so it takes me forever to find something that both my husband and I like.  We don't want anything fancy but we both absolutely love Ornaments With Love.  

I have spent quite some time looking through their site and I had a hard time picking just one because there were many that I wanted and I know that my husband would like but after about an hour of search Ornaments With Love I finally picked one that we both loved the most.



Ornaments With Love has many ornaments for pretty much everyone and you can get your ornaments personalized at no extra cost.  

Check them out.  Those ornaments make great gifts.


Sunday, November 4, 2018

Get 500 bonus SB when you sign up for Swagbucks in November



All throughout November you can earn large bonuses when sign up as my referral on Swagbucks. Swagbucks is a rewards site where you earn points (called SB) for things you're probably doing online already, like searching the web, watching videos, shopping, discovering deals, and taking surveys. Then you take those points and exchange them for gift cards to places like Amazon, Target, or PayPal cash. 

When you sign up through me this month, you can earn a 500 SB bonus! Here's how: 

1. Sign up using this link 

2. Earn 500 SB total before December 1st, 2018. You'll get a 500 SB bonus for it!  

3. That's it. It's super easy, and Swagbucks is for real. I use it myself, and I've earned over $30 last month in Amazon Canada gift cards. 

Sunday, October 21, 2018

SIDEWAYS VOL. 1 #Review



The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer or representing PR agency for the sole purpose of product testing. Opinions expressed are my own and are NOT influenced by monetary compensation. 


SIDEWAYS follows the adventures of high school junior Derek James who accidentally fell through a rift into the Dark Matter dimension during the events of Dark Nights: Metal. Now, as Sideways, he can create rifts in midair to leap through dimensions at will! But with that much power comes great liability—and cracks are starting to form in the fabric of the space-time continuum. Each leap that Derek takes brings the new hero one step closer to succumbing to the allure of his new power and its dark origins. SIDEWAYS VOL. 1 collects issues #1-6 of the New Age of Heroes series.





Written by Dan Didio and Justin Jordan, SIDEWAYS VOL. 1 hits shelves on October 23rd for $16.99(USD).


MY THOUGHTS

As all of you probably already know, I do love DC Comics movies and tv shows but I do also love reading comic books/graphic novels.

When I heard about Sideways comic book I just knew I needed to get my hands on it because it sounded like something I would love and so when I finally got my hands on SIDEWAYS vol. 1 I had to read it right away .

I did enjoy the story and I thought the illustrations could have been a bit better but it wasn't the worst I have seen and it was good enough to keep me reading this graphic novel.

All in all, I enjoyed this one and I do want to continue reading more in this series and yes I do plan on purchasing volume 2 when it comes out.

I am giving this 4 out of 5.



Sunday, October 14, 2018

Constantine: City Of Demons


Warner Bros. Home Entertainment provided me with a free copy of the Blu-ray I reviewed in this Blog Post. The opinions I share are my own.



This all-new animated series from Warner Bros. Animation and Blue Ribbon Content follows DC’s popular comic book character John Constantine (voiced by the live-action series star Matt Ryan), a seasoned demon hunter and master of the occult. Armed with an arcane knowledge of the dark arts and a wicked wit, he fights the good fight. With his soul already damned to hell, he’ll do whatever it takes to protect the innocent. With the balance of good and evil on the line, Constantine uses his skills to face the supernatural terrors that threaten our world and send them back where they belong. After that, who knows…maybe there’s hope for him and his soul after all.
Executive produced by David S. Goyer (The Dark Knight trilogy, Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice, Constantine [live action series], Krypton), Greg Berlanti (The Flash, Arrow, Supergirl), and Sarah Schechter (Blindspot, Riverdale, DC’s Legends of Tomorrow), the series,which will premiere on CW Seed, is produced by Butch Lukic (Justice League Action, Batman Unlimited), written by J.M. DeMatteis (Justice League Dark, Batman vs. Robin) and directed by Doug Murphy (Justice League Action, Young Justice).
MY THOUGHTS
I don't really know Constantine's story other than from the tv show but I did like that show and yes I do like this animated movie. It is entertaining and both my husband and I liked the movie. The story was good, the voice acting was good.
This is one I know we will be watching again in the future.
I am giving this 4 out of 5 stars.

Saturday, September 29, 2018

Little Women #Movie #MarchFamily #MovieReview

Sisters—and dreams—are unique in their ability to inspire, encourage and change the
world.
For 150 years, Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women has motivated women of all ages to dream together and celebrate family. Coming to theaters for the first time, a modern retelling of LITTLE WOMEN brings a new generation together with their mothers, sisters and friends.
From girls playing in the attic to women living with purpose, the March sisters—Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy—are committed to always supporting each other. Yet, growing up
sometimes means growing apart.
An aspiring writer, Jo leaves for New York determined to publish a novel. In the wake of rejected draft upon draft, her editor challenges Jo to write about something more interesting—her family.
When tragedy brings the sisters back home, sticking together takes on new meaning. As Jo comforts her sick sister, Beth asks for one thing: a story.
Jo knows the perfect one … by heart.
Starring Lea Thompson as Marmee and featuring a talented cast, including Lucas Grabeel and Ian Bohen, LITTLE WOMEN tells the story of the same beloved sisters to a new generation. Celebrating dreams, family and unconditional love, LITTLE WOMEN opens in theaters this fall.

Little Women is now out in theaters.

SOCIAL MEDIA:
Twitter: @LittleWomenFilm https://twitter.com/LittleWomenFilm





MY THOUGHTS


I have to admit that I have not read the book so I can't really compare the book and movie but I do know that this movie is a modern retelling so of course there will some differences. 

Anyway, I admit that I very much enjoyed the movie even though this is not the kind of movie I usually watch.  It is well done and it made me happy and sad. It was entertaining and kept me watching.  

Just after watching this movie I have added the book to my long to be read pile and I made the plan to read the book very soon. 

I am giving this a 4 out of 5 .