Monday, May 25, 2020

EMMA. #Review


I received a free copy of the Blu-ray I reviewed in this Blog Post. The opinions I share are my own




Jane Austen’s nineteenth-century comedy on misguided matchmaking and romantic mishaps gets a refreshing update in the heartwarming and witty EMMA., available on Digital May 5, 2020 and on Blu-ray, DVD and On Demand on May 19, 2020 from Universal Pictures Home Entertainment. Hailed as “gorgeous, modern and authentic” (Stephanie Zacharek, Time), the wickedly funny film chronicles the privileged but well-meaning young Emma Woodhouse (The Witch and Thoroughbreds’ Anya Taylor-Joy). A vibrant visual treat, the Rotten Tomatoes Certified Fresh® EMMA., is “an unexpectedly timely sparkling romance” (Harriet Fitch Little, VOGUE), and features exclusive, never-before-seen bonus content including deleted scenes, gag reel, and behind-the-scene featurettes with the cast and crew whisking audiences away to the world of our mischievous heroine and the everlasting story of self discovery.
 
Jane Austen’s beloved comedy about finding your equal and earning your happy ending is reimagined in this delicious new film adaptation of EMMA.. Handsome, clever and rich, Emma Woodhouse (Taylor-Joy) is a restless “queen bee” without rivals in her sleepy little English town. In this glittering satire of social class, Emma must navigate her way through the challenges of growing up, misguided matches and romantic missteps to realize the love that has been there all along.
 
Autumn de Wilde’s feature debut EMMA. is “irresistible” (Justin Chang, NPR) and “the best adaptation yet” (Matt Goldberg, Collider), featuring a fresh and razor-sharp screenplay by Man Booker Prize winner Eleanor Catton (“The Luminaries”) that stays true to Austen’s endearing novel and brings to life the English Countryside in 1815. With an exceptional ensemble cast lead by Taylor-Joy EMMA. is rounded out by Johnny Flynn (Beast), Bill Nighy (Love Actually, The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel Series), Mia Goth (Suspiria), Josh O’ Connor (“The Crown”), Miranda Hart (Spy, “Call the Midwife”), Callum Turner (Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald, “War & Peace”), Tanya Reynolds (“Sex Education”), Connor Swindells (“Sex Education”), Rupert Graves (“Sherlock,” A Room with a View) and Gemma Whelan (“Game of Thrones”). Accompanied by a joyous and energetic score by composer Isobel Waller-Bridge (“Fleabag”) and David Schweitzer, EMMA. is a stunning new vision of the groundbreaking literary classic on love and redemption. The theatrical version of the film is currently available for early viewing on a wide variety of popular on-demand services as a premium rental offering.





MY THOUGHTS

Ok I admit I have not seen any of the other movie adaptations of the book and I have not read the book so I can't compare to see how true to the book the movie is. 

I had no expectations of this movie and I am surprised that I actually enjoy it.

This is actually entertaining, romantic and a little silly. I did have a few giggles.

I do recommend it.

I am giving this 4 out of 5.

Tuesday, May 19, 2020

The Invisible Man #Giveaway





THE INVISIBLE MAN, an intense, modern-day psychological thriller, becomes available to own for the first time on Digital May 12, 2020 and on 4K UHD, Blu-ray™ and DVD on May 26, 2020 from Universal Pictures Home Entertainment. From iconic producer Jason Blum (Halloween, Split, Get Out, Us) and director Leigh Whannell (Saw, Insidious, Upgrade), this psychological thriller modernizes Universal’s shapeshifting, classic monster against a backdrop of an empowered woman facing her tormentor. “A cutting, contemporary work of socially conscious horror” (Peter Travers, Rolling Stone), THE INVISIBLE MAN comes home with never-before-seen bonus content. 

THE INVISIBLE MAN follows a modern tale of obsession inspired by Universal’s classic monster character. Cecilia Kass (Elisabeth Moss) slowly begins to rebuild her life after the death of her abusive ex-boyfriend (Oliver Jackson-Cohen). But before long, she begins to question whether or not he is truly gone. In addition to the feature, THE INVISIBLE MAN delivers up twenty minutes of exclusive bonus content, including a chance to better get acquainted with the film’s leading actress: Elisabeth Moss, feature commentary with the writer/director and deleted scenes you won’t want to miss.

Hailed as ‘Certified Fresh’ on Rotten Tomatoes with a score of 91%, THE INVISIBLE MAN stars two-time Emmy®-winner and two-time Golden Globe®-winner Elisabeth Moss (Us, “The Handmaid’s Tale”). Accompanying Moss is SAG®-winner Aldris Hodge (“Black Mirror”, Straight Outta Compton), Oliver Jackson-Cohen (“The Haunting of Hill House”), Storm Reid (Don’t Let Go, “Euphoria”). The theatrical version of the film is currently available for early viewing on a wide variety of popular on-demand services as a premium rental offering.


BONUS FEATURES on BLU-RAYTM, 4K ULTRA HD and DVD:
  • DELETED SCENES 
  • MOSS MANIFESTED – Elisabeth Moss describes the physical and emotional challenges she faced while portraying Cecilia, a woman whose truth is constantly questioned by those around her.
  • DIRECTOR’S JOURNEY WITH LEIGH WHANNELL – Director Leigh Whannell acts as tour guide through principal photography, from day 1 to day 40.
  • THE PLAYERS – Filmmakers and cast provide an in-depth analysis of each character and how they interact with the unseen terror of THE INVISIBLE MAN.
  • TIMELESS TERROR – A behind the scenes look at how writer/director Leigh Whannell re-imagined this iconic character through the lens of modern technology and socially relatable themes.
  • FEATURE COMMENTARY WITH WRITER/DIRECTOR LEIGH WHANNELL

THE INVISIBLE MAN will be available on 4K Ultra HD, Blu-rayTM, DVD and Digital.
  • 4K Ultra HD is the ultimate movie watching experience. 4K Ultra HD features the combination of 4K resolution for four times sharper picture than HD, the color brilliance of High Dynamic Range (HDR) with immersive audio delivering a multidimensional sound experience.
  • Blu-rayTM unleashes the power of your HDTV and is the best way to watch movies at home, featuring 6X the picture resolution of DVD, exclusive extras and theater-quality surround sound.
  • Digital lets fans watch movies anywhere on their favorite devices. Users can instantly stream or download.
  • MOVIES ANYWHERE is the digital app that simplifies and enhances the digital movie collection and viewing experience by allowing consumers to access their favorite digital movies in one place when purchased or redeemed through participating digital retailers. Consumers can also redeem digital copy codes found in eligible Blu-rayTM and DVD disc packages from participating studios and stream or download them through Movies Anywhere. MOVIES ANYWHERE is only available in the United States. For more information, visit https://moviesanywhere.com.



Giveaway Time

U.S. and Canada ONLY

Sunday, May 17, 2020

Justice League Dark: Apokolips War #Review



Warner Bros. Home Entertainment provided me with a free copy of the Blu-ray I reviewed in this Blog Post. The opinions I share are my own

JUSTICE LEAGUE DARK:
APOKOLIPS WAR

COMING MAY 5, 2020 TO DIGITAL;
ARRIVING MAY 19, 2020 ON
4K ULTRA HD™ BLU-RAY COMBO PACK,
& BLU-RAY™ COMBO PACK


BURBANK, CA (March 4, 2020) – The World’s Greatest Super Heroes square off once-and-for-all against the despotic Darkseid – with the fate of all humanity hanging in the balance – in Justice League Dark: Apokolips War, the next entry in the popular series of DC Universe Movies. Produced by Warner Bros. Animation and DC, the feature-length animated film will be released by Warner Bros. Home Entertainment on Digital starting May 5, 2020, and on 4K Ultra HD Combo Pack and Blu-ray Combo Pack on May 19, 2020.

Justice League Dark: Apokolips War will be accompanied by the all-new DC Showcase animated short, Adam Strange. The thrilling tale, which offers insight into the space adventurer’s fascinating backstory, features Charlie Weber (How To Get Away with Murder) as the voice of title character.

Justice League Dark: Apokolips War will be available on 4K Ultra HD Combo Pack (USA $39.99 SRP; Canada $44.98 SRP) and Blu-ray Combo Pack (USA $24.98 SRP; Canada $29.98  SRP) as well as on Digital. The 4K Ultra HD Combo Pack features an Ultra HD Blu-ray disc in 4K with HDR, a Blu-ray disc featuring the film in hi-definition, and a digital version of the movie. The Blu-ray Combo Pack features a Blu-ray disc with the film in hi-definition, a DVD with the film in standard definition, and a digital version of the movie.

Culminating a six-year animated journey that began with the release of Justice League War in 2014, Justice League Dark: Apokolips War finds Earth decimated after intergalactic tyrant Darkseid has devastated the Justice League in a poorly executed war by the DC Super Heroes. Now the remaining bastions of good – the Justice League, Teen Titans, Suicide Squad and assorted others – must regroup, strategize and take the war to Darkseid in order to save the planet and its surviving inhabitants. This is truly the war to end all wars, and only the victor will live to enjoy the spoils.

Justice League Dark: Apokolips War features the largest Super Hero cast in the history of DC Universe Movies with dozens of actors/characters spotlighted in a grand ensemble of talent reprising their roles from this six-year story continuum. Matt Ryan (Legends of Tomorrow, Constantine), Jerry O’Connell (Carter, Bravo’s Play by Play, Stand by Me) and Taissa Farmiga (The Nun, The Mule, American Horror Storyanchor the cast as Constantine, Superman and Raven, respectively – the triumvirate determined to assemble the forces necessary to lead humanity’s final attack. Alongside that trio are the long-running core of Justice League voices -- Jason O’Mara (The Man in the High Castle, Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.) as Batman, Rosario Dawson (Briar Patch, Daredevil, Sin City) as Wonder Woman, Shemar Moore (S.W.A.T., Criminal Minds) as Cyborg and Christopher Gorham (Covert Affairs, Insatiable, Ugly Betty) as The Flash – as well as JL-adjacents Rebecca Romijn (X-Men, The Librarians) and Rainn Wilson (The Office, The Meg) as the voices of Lois Lane and Lex Luthor, respectively.

Tony Todd (Candyman) is the voice of the film’s key villain, Darkseid. The cast also boasts appearances by Camilla Luddington (Grey’s Anatomy) as Zatanna, Ray Chase (Justice League Dark, Final Fantasy XV videogame) as Jason Blood/Etrigan, Roger R. Cross (24, The Strain, Arrow) as John Stewart & Swamp Thing, Liam McIntyre (Spartacus: War of the Damned, The Flash) as Captain Boomerang, Hynden Walch (Teen Titans Go! Vs. Teen Titans) as Harley Quinn, Stuart Allan (Batman vs. Robin, Batman: Bad Blood) as Robin/Damian, Sachie Alessio (Batman: Hush) as Lady Shiva, and John DiMaggio (Futurama, Batman: Under the Red Hood) as King Shark.

Directors Matt Peters (LEGO DC: Batman – Family Matters) and Christina Sotta (Young Justice) helm Justice League Dark: Apokolips War from a script by Ernie Altbacker (Batman: Hush, Justice League Dark) and Mairghread Scott (Wonder Woman: Bloodlines), who is also credited with creating the story. Amy McKenna (The Death of Superman) is producer, and Jim Krieg (Batman: Gotham by Gaslight) is co-producer. Executive Producers are Sam Register and James Tucker (Reign of the Supermen, Justice League Dark).

Justice League Dark: Apokolips War is an epic story of supernatural proportions. A blockbuster, battle royale of a film filled with intense action and heartfelt emotions, serving up spotlight moments for our cast of unique characters,” said Mary Ellen Thomas, Warner Bros. Home Entertainment Senior Vice President, Originals, Animation and Family Marketing. “This incredible thrill-ride takes us to the edge of the DC universe and sets the stage for an exciting new chapter.”

Justice League Dark: Apokolips War Special Features
4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Combo Pack, Blu-ray Combo Pack and Digital

  • DC Showcase: Adam Strange (Animated Short) – On an asteroid mining colony, mysterious drifter Adam Strange is dismissed as an interplanetary derelict. But when the miners open a fissure into the home of a horde of deadly alien insects, his true identity is exposed. He is space adventurer Adam Strange, whose heroic backstory is played out in flashbacks as he struggles to save the very people who have scorned him for so long. Charlie Weber provides the voice of Adam Strange, alongside with Roger R. Cross, Kimberly Brooks, Ray Chase and Fred Tatasciore. Adam Strange is produced and directed by Butch Lukic (Batman Unlimited franchise), who also conceived the original story – which is written by J.M. DeMatteis (Constantine: City of Demons).

  • Darkseid: New God/Evil Classic (New Featurette) – This documentary explores the machinations of one of fiction¹s greatest Super Villains as we learn more about what fuels Darkseid¹s drive to becoming a galactic Atilla the Hun and the importance of Deities in our classic and modern fiction.

  • Filmmaker Audio Commentary – Observations and behind-the-scenes insight from Executive Producer James Tucker, Directors Matt Peters and Christina Sotta, and Screenwriter Ernie Altbacker.

  • Look Back: Justice League Dark (Featurette) – John Constantine leads a group of misfit characters that use magic to vanquish their opponents. This is the dark version of the Justice League taking on the malevolent forces that go beyond our plane of existence.

  • Look Back: Batman and Harley Quinn (Featurette) – Take a peek at the animated feature film, Batman and Harley Quinn, featuring the creators and talented voice cast. 

  • From the DC VaultJustice League Action, “Zombie King"

  • From the DC Vault: Justice League Action, “Abate and Switch”

  • From the DC Comics Vault: Teen Titans, “Nevermore"

  • A Sneak Peek at the next DC Universe Movie, Superman: Man of Tomorrow – An advanced look at the next animated film in the popular DC Universe Movies collection.



Justice League Dark: Apokolips War will also be available on Movies Anywhere. Using the free Movies Anywhere app and website, consumers can access all their eligible movies by connecting their Movies Anywhere account with their participating digital retailer accounts.



MY THOUGHTS

Justice League Dark: Apokolips War is a fun, entertaining and action-packed animated film that I did enjoy. 

I like the story and the animation is fantastic.

As you all know by now, my husband and I have been very big fans of these DC comics animation films.  We have watched every single one of them as soon as they have come out and will be watching all the future ones right away as well.

If you are a DC comics fan this is a must-watch.

I give this 4 out of 5.

Wednesday, May 6, 2020

A few updates

I know I haven't been updating this blog much this year but I really haven't been receiving many things to review for a few reasons.

Reason number 1 is because of Covid-19.  Not many things have been going through the Canadian border and a lot of companies are either closed or not shipping to Canada so not many physical products have been coming to my house.  Luckily enough now with technology, some of the movies I get right now to review are all streaming online so at least I have a few things that I have been able to review. 

Reason 2 is that in March we found out that we are moving. Really we should have the house on the market right now but we are told to wait so that is what we are doing.  We are supposed to be at our new location by July 13th but right now I believe that will change to later this year so because of the fact that we don't know when we will be able to move, I can't really accept many future products unless I know they will arrive at my house fairly quickly.  
Speaking of moving, I have a few ideas snd I would love to review more home products (i.e. home decor, appliances, and such). I am thinking of also doing more food-related posts.   I do have a few ideas so stay tuned to this blog for all the changes I have planned.  Not sure when they will happen but I am hoping before the end of this year.

Anyway,  I hope you are all well.




Dolittle #Review

I received a free copy of the Blu-ray I reviewed in this Blog Post. The opinions I share are my own


The adventurous tale is brought to life with an all-star cast that includes the voice talents of Academy® Award winner Emma Thompson (Last Christmas, Late Night), Academy® Award-winner Rami Malek (Bohemian Rhapsody, “Mr. Robot”), Selena Gomez (“Wizards of Waverly Place”), John Cena (“WWE”), and Tom Holland (Spider-Man: Homecoming) and more. The film is directed by Stephen Gaghan (Syriana) and produced by Robert Downey Jr. and Susan Downey.     
Robert Downey Jr. electrifies as the man who could talk to animals: DOLITTLE. After losing his wife, he hermits himself away behind the high wall of his manor but is forced to set sail on an epic adventure when the queen falls gravely ill. Helping Dolittle in search of a rare cure are his rambunctious animal friends—including Chee-Chee (Malek), an anxious, self-conscious gorilla; Dab-Dab (Octavia Spencer, The Help), an enthusiastic but bird-brained duck; the bickering duo of cynical, neurotic ostrich Plimpton (Kumail Nanjiani, The Big Sick, “Silicon Valley”) and chilly-but-chill polar bear Yoshi (Cena); as well as a headstrong parrot named Polynesia (Thompson). Catch incredible bonus content that you can only see on the 4K Ultra HD™, Blu-ray™, DVD, and Digital release showcasing the making of the film and insight to all the cast. 

My thoughts

I was so excited about this movie when I heard about it so I couldn't wait to watch it.

This movie was fun to watch.  I was entertained. Was it the best movie or best Dolittle version I have seen?  No, but it was decent enough. Unfortunately, I found the CGI to be dodgy in some parts.

I was a little disappointed but I was I entertained?  Yes, I was.  I did laugh quite a bit.

I am giving this 3 out of 5.

Tuesday, April 14, 2020

Mortal Kombat Legends: Scorpion's Revenge #Review

Warner Bros. Home Entertainment provided me with a free copy of the Blu-ray I reviewed in this Blog Post. The opinions I share are my own


One of the most popular videogame franchises in history comes to animated life in Mortal Kombat Legends: Scorpion’s Revenge, an all-new, feature-length film produced by Warner Bros. Animation in coordination with NeatherRealm Studios and Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment. The film arrives from Warner Bros. Home Entertainment on Digital starting April 12, 2020, and on 4K Ultra HD Combo Pack, Blu-ray Combo Pack and DVD on April 28, 2020.

Mortal Kombat Legends: Scorpion’s Revenge will be available on 4K Ultra HD Combo Pack (USA $39.99 SRP; Canada $44.98 SRP), Blu-ray Combo Pack (USA $24.98 SRP; Canada $29.98 SRP), and DVD (USA $19.98 SRP: Canada $24.98 SRP) as well as on Digital. The 4K Ultra HD Combo Pack features an Ultra HD Blu-ray disc in 4K with HDR, a Blu-ray disc featuring the film in hi-definition, and a digital version of the movie. The Blu-ray Combo Pack features a Blu-ray disc with the film in hi-definition, a DVD with the film in standard definition, and a digital version of the movie.

Based on the worldwide hit game created by Ed Boon & John Tobias, Mortal Kombat Legends: Scorpion’s Revenge spotlights the once-in-a-generation tournament between the champions of Outworld and Earthrealm – a competition that will ultimately determine the fate of Earth and all its citizens. Lord Raiden, protector of Earthrealm, must gather the greatest fighters of his realm to defend it from the evil Shang Tsung in the battle to end all battles - Mortal Kombat!


Joel McHale (Community, The CW’s upcoming Stargirl) and Jennifer Carpenter (Dexter, Batman: Gotham by Gaslight) lead a stellar cast as the voices of Hollywood star-turned-fighter Johnny Cage and all-business warrior Sonya Blade, respectively. The voice cast also includes Jordan Rodrigues (Lady Bird, The Fosters) as Liu Kang, Patrick Seitz (Mortal Kombat X, Agrretsuko, Naruto: Shippuden) as Scorpion & Hanzo Hasashi, Steve Blum (Cowboy Bebop, Star Wars Rebels) as Sub-Zero, Artt Butler (Her, Star Wars: The Clone Wars) as Shang Tsung, Darin De Paul (Overwatch, Fortnite) as Quan Chi, Robin Atkin Downes (The Strain, Batman: The Killing Joke) as Kano, David B. Mitchell (Mortal Kombat 11World of Warcraft franchise) as Raiden, Ike Amadi (Mass Effect 3, Mortal Kombat 11) as Jax Briggs, Kevin Michael Richardson (Family Guy, The Simpsons) as Goro, Grey Griffin (The Loud House, Young Justice, Scooby-Doo franchise) as Kitana & Satoshi Hasashi, and Fred Tatasciore (Robot Chicken, Family Guy) as Demon Torturer.

Available now digital format and will be available on 4K Ultra HD Combo Pack, Blu-ray Combo Pack and DVD on April 28, 2020

MY THOUGHTS

My husband and I watched this movie on the weekend and we both enjoyed it. 

Mortal Kombat Legends: Scorpion's Revenge is a very bloody, action packed and very much entertaining movie.  

I personally have no idea if it follows the games at all because I have not played the games but I very much enjoyed this one. 

I give this 4 out of 5 stars.


Monday, March 30, 2020

Exciting Online Technology Giveaways




It goes without saying that technology is a necessary part of life now. Many of us are glued to our phones or computers all day long — it’s hard to believe that there was ever a time when these electronic items weren’t part of our daily lives.

As much as it’s a huge way of how we communicate, learn, and work, the fact remains that technology is expensive. However, you can find all of the technology you need without spending a cent.

Many people don’t realize that there are online contests accessible to you 24-7, including free Canadian phone giveaways and other exciting tech offers. New and incredible offers appear online every single day, giving people the opportunity to win big.

Online contests are great because all you have to do is fill out an easy form, submit it, and potentially win a rewarding prize! What do you have to lose?

Read on to discover these recent online technology giveaways.

The Atticat Insulation 2020 Review iPhone XS Contest


If you have recently finished an insulation project using Owens Corning Atticat products, you have a chance to win a brand new Apple iPhone XS 64GB in silver. Every month until the end of June n2020 a lucky winner will be chosen. All you have to do is submit a very short review on the Atticat website about your recent experience working with the product. Enter your email address to be considered for the draw, and you could win a new iPhone.

The iPhone XS is truly unlike any previous smartphone experience — there’s more power, more screen size, and stellar photography. It has a beautiful 5.8” Super Retina display and generates an HDR display that gives incredible colour accuracy and vivid contrast and brightness. Your phone will be unlocked to use on any network.

You might want to consider a small home renovation project just so you can enter this exciting contest!

The Source’s Instagram Contest: A $500 Gift Card


This might be the easiest $500 gift card ever won. The Source is everyone’s go-to for electronic gadgets. They asked people what they would do if they had an extra $500 to spend on their “ultimate start-up.”

All contestants had to do was follow their Instagram account, leave a comment on the appropriate post, tag a friend, and leave a comment outlining what they would buy for a dream start-up tech business.

The Source regularly runs exciting contests with cool technology prizes. Be sure to follow them to see what’s up next!

The Best Buy Blog


For ongoing tech contests, check out Best Buy’s blog. The electronics retailer offers great deals to online readers including the newest gadgets, games, and gift cards. It also features informative reads on the latest tech trends and reviews.

Check it out to see what they’re offering this month!

Technology is all around us, all of the time. However, most of us can’t afford the hottest and latest models because they usually cost in the thousands of dollars.

With a little help from online contests, however, you can be part of all the latest tech trends.



Monday, March 16, 2020

Superman: Red Son 4K Ultra HD Combo Pack #review

Warner Bros. Home Entertainment provided me with a free copy of the Blu-ray I reviewed in this Blog Post. The opinions I share are my own



What if the Man of Steel was raised behind the Iron Curtain? So begins DC’s acclaimed Elseworlds story, Superman: Red Son, now the next entry in the popular series of DC Universe Movies. Produced by Warner Bros. Animation and DC, the feature-length animated film arrives – along with a new DC Showcase animated short, Phantom Stranger – from Warner Bros. Home Entertainment on Digital starting February 25, 2020, and on 4K Ultra HD Combo Pack and Blu-ray Combo Pack on March 17, 2020.

Superman: Red Son will be available on 4K Ultra HD Combo Pack (USA $39.99 SRP; Canada $43.99 SRP) and Blu-ray Combo Pack (USA $24.98 SRP; Canada $34.97 SRP) as well as on Digital. The 4K Ultra HD Combo Pack features an Ultra HD Blu-ray disc in 4K with HDR, a Blu-ray disc featuring the film in hi-definition, and a digital version of the movie. The Blu-ray Combo Pack features a Blu-ray disc with the film in hi-definition, a DVD with the film in standard definition, and a digital version of the movie.

Based on DC’s famed Elseworlds tale from 2003, Superman: Red Son takes place in an alternate reality where the spaceship bearing the last survivor of Krypton crash lands – not in rural Kansas, but in Stalinist Russia. Can this Cold War-era Earth survive the coming of a Soviet Superman?




MY THOUGHTS

I very much enjoyed this movie.  I thought it was well done and very entertaining.

This isn't my favourite in animated movies but it is a good one.  Both my husband and I enjoyed it.

I give this 4 out of 5.

Tuesday, January 28, 2020

ROSWELL, NEW MEXICO: THE COMPLETE FIRST SEASON #Review

Warner Bros. Home Entertainment provided me with a free copy of the Blu-ray I reviewed in this Blog Post. The opinions I share are my own



After a decade away from home, Liz Ortecho (Jeanine Mason) returns to her native Roswell to care for her ailing father. When she arrives, she reconnects with her high school crush Max Evans (Nathan Parsons) who is now a police officer. Their chemistry is electric, but Liz soon learns something shocking: Max and his sister, Isobel (Lily Cowles), and friend Michael (Michael Vlamis) are aliens who have kept their abilities secret their entire lives. As she and Max grow closer, Liz struggles to keep the truth from her best friend, Maria (Heather Hemmens), and her high school ex, Dr. Kyle Valenti (Michael Trevino). But concealing the visitors' true identities is more important than ever, as a long-standing government conspiracy and the politics of fear and hatred threaten their lives. Based on the Roswell High book series, Roswell, New Mexico is a love story, a relationship drama and the story of a small town...that happens to have aliens.

MY THOUGHTS

Ok, I admit that I had never watched the original show because I actually had never heard of the show until way after it had been cancelled.

When this new "reboot" was announced I was interested in at least checking out the show but unfortunately I had not had the chance to because I never remember when it plays on tv here and what channel.  Anyway, I was so happy to receive a copy of Roswell, New Mexico the complete first season on DVD.

I did enjoy this one. I actually watched all the episodes in a weekend because I just couldn't stop watching and now I wish I had watched the original show back in the day because I know I would have liked it.

The show is entertaining and got me hooked from the very beginning. I hope there will be  second season because I need more. 

I am giving this 5 out of 5. 

Roswell, New Mexico: The Complete First Season is now available online or in stores near you.

Monday, January 27, 2020

YOU: THE COMPLETE FIRST SEASON #Review

Warner Bros. Home Entertainment provided me with a free copy of the Blu-ray I reviewed in this Blog Post. The opinions I share are my own


A 21st-century romantic thriller centered around a relationship that gets taken too far, You explores the line between passion and obsession and asks, "What would you do for love?" When a brilliant bookstore manager (Penn Badgley) crosses paths with an aspiring writer (Elizabeth Lail), his answer becomes clear: anything. As he uses the internet and social media to gather the most intimate of details to get close to her, a charming and awkward crush quickly becomes an obsession when he quietly and strategically begins to remove every obstacle - and person - between them. You also stars Luca Padovan, Zach Cherry and Shay Mitchell, with a special guest appearance by John Stamos. From executive producers/writers Greg Berlanti and Sera Gamble, and based on Caroline Kepnes' best-selling novel.

MY THOUGHTS

I have read the book a few years ago and I admit that I actually did not finish the book.  I can't remember why I didn't finish it.  

I watched a few episodes of the tv show on Netflix a little while back and I really enjoyed it but then I ended up not continuing into the series of some reason ( I think it was because I started watching other things and this show just got forgotten).  

A few days ago I received a copy of YOU: The Completely First Season on DVD and I decided to start from the very first episode to refresh my memory of what had happened in episodes I had watched before.    

I just finished watching the last episode of season one and I can honestly say that  I LOVE this show and I  am going to continue watching it on Netflix on the weekend because I need to know what happens next because of that cliffhanger!!! I need to find out more !!

All in all, I have to say that I am actually liking the show better than the book.

I give this show 4 out of 5 stars.

You: The Complete first season is now available online and in stores near you. 

Tuesday, January 14, 2020

Maleficent: Mistress of Evil (Blu-ray Combo) Review


*I have received a copy of this movie for my honest review*




The story of Disney's most iconic villain continues in Maleficent: Mistress of Evil, starring Angelina Jolie. Maleficent and her goddaughter Aurora begin to question the tangled ties that bind them as they are pulled in different directions by impending nuptials, unexpected allies and dark new forces at play.

Maleficent: Mistress of Evil is currently available digital but it will be available physically on 4K Ultra HD, Blu-ray™ and DVD on Jan. 14, 2020.

MY THOUGHTS

If you were a fan of the first movie it is most likely you will love Maleficent: Mistress of Evil.

I thought this movie is entertaining and yes I did enjoy it. It is a little dark which is just how I like movies but it might be a little scary for some young children.

This is a must have for those who are huge Disney fans. 

I am giving this one 5 out of 5 stars.